We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright if on a budget”
Review of Eken Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eken Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Gumbet
wales
1 review
“Alright if on a budget”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed in Eken Resort Hotel for a week from 23rd September. When we first arrived we were given a key to a room in the Family suite which is a seperate building to the main hotel. We walked in and it was a nightmare room. It was dark, damp, and the bathroom was full of mould. Also there was a door when opened, opened onto the main corridor of the building. I got my room changed straight away to the main hotel. If you are put into the family suite, change your room straight away.

I cannot grumble about our room that we had for the whole week, it was cleaned everyday, fresh bedding and towels.

The staff are very friendly, especially Eddy who works around the pool trying to get you to have a Turkish Bath, which I would recommend aswell.

The food is rather boring, it's mainly chicken and rice every day. The snacks are ok, the best one was the chicken kebabs on Friday.

The hotel has no nightly entertainment, only a belly dancer which was on the Sunday. The bar manager in the evening plays the same cd every night, and I think it is on repeat aswell, so we went out everynight to Gumbet, as the cd became rather annoying. And it wasn't easy listening music either.

The hotel is not on the beach like some reviews state, it is about 200m, and I would not recommend going in the sea as it was filthy, bottles and ciggarette ends every where.

If you are looking for a proper 4* then this isn't it! I would say this is a 2* possibly 3*. If you are on a budget then this is ideal as it is close to Bodrum and near enough in the centre of Gumbet to go out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdougWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    83
    48
    34
    21
See reviews for
77
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid - Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The first and most important thing you must have in mind when you are booking your hotel in Turkey is that the star system of their hotels has (most of the times) nothing to do with the international one. And that is pretty easy to guess by seeing the abysmal difference in prices for the same level hotel in the same location. There are few really high standard 4 and 5 star hotels that could compete with any high quality international chain but most are just OK and nothing exceptional. The service though is almost invariably excellent. So you must set your expectations to the reality in order to avoid premature disappointments.

I stayed at Eken Resort for a week at the end of last August with my mother and sister. It was not my first trip to Turkey so I knew what to expect. That said, the hotel is nice, clean and very well located close to Bodrum and the centre of Gümbet where you can find bars, night clubs, cafes and restaurants. It offers good service and the staff is helpful and kind although their English is on the poor side. The services and amenities provided are quite good with free sauna and Turkish bath (the massages and other services are charged). As far as I could see, all the rooms have balconies or small terraces (the ones on the ground floor) and the hotel keeps small but charming garden on the side of the road.

The food is a bit monotonous as in most All Inclusive hotels, but you can always find something to eat. The (quasi) vegetarians will be happy in this hotel since the variety of salads and non-meet dishes is overwhelming; that means though that if you are a big meat fan you may struggle to find varied enough meals especially if you are staying for a week or longer. There is plenty of food and beverages available at all time so there is no chance that you would get hungry while in Eken but shall you fancy some change, there are plenty of good restaurants in Gümbet, just 5 min walk from Eken.

The pool is big enough for the size of the hotel although some days you may have to drop your towel on the sun bed before going to eat your breakfast in order to ensure you have got one. The beach is very disappointing, not only because it’s small and there are no services provided there (there is no bar free or otherwise), but moreover because it’s located in the rocky and less clean part of the bay. I would very much recommend walking the beach street towards the opposite side of the bay and stopping at any of the beach cafes in the central part of the bay/beach where the sea is shallow, the beach is less rocky and the water is clean. The sun beds and umbrellas on the beach are free of charge and you would only need to order a drink.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for an unpretentious holiday and, given a chance, would definitively stay at Eken Resort again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

hello everyone!
this hotel is definitely the worst of all hotels i have ever been in. Rooms are not clean at all, dust all over the room. Stuff is to bussy with entertainment english and german guests, the rest is not exsist...
food is only think that is ok. See is dirty, so you will have to spend your time in pool, and you will listen the same music 50 times a day.
Conclusion: DISASTER!!!!!!! Not recommened at all...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milannnserbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
edinburgh, scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Ok if this really is ranked the 19th best hotel in gumbet dont bother going here.

The hotel is basic but is not bad for money pool is small and sun lounger area is small

food is actually quite good

The staff are sleazy weird and genrally unpleasant

Location is ok as in the centre of gumbet but gumbet is not the nicest resort however the beaches are amazing.

my advise find somewhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip_duggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Excellent hotel, for value, friendliness and food. We were treated very well and the receptionist who we got to know very well (Asli) became like a friend and nothing was too much trouble for her. She even took time off to confirm our transfers to airport as we had trouble getting the confirmation. She took over and sorted it all out for us. We will go back definitely.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJerrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from Eken Resort Hotel in Gumbet, after spending two weeks there. We booked this holiday in January, and thought that at £800 total for the two of us, this was a bargain.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning, and were greeted by the hotel staff. Check in was painless and we were quickly shown to our room. The room was very clean but basic - special praise to the maid, who cleaned thoroughly every day, with a smile on her face.
The food in the restaurant downstairs was very repetitive. This was fine if you like tomato soup and pasta - but overall, most of the food was cold and tasteless. The terrace bar did also serve burgers & chips, paninnis, kebabs and pizzas - on alternating days, so we filled up on these, as they were the tastiest food there.
There was constant hassle from the hotel staff who were trying to sell you a haircut, turkish bath, etc, but I feel that these staff were on a commission only wage. All of the staff were very young, even the doctor would wander around the pool area each day with his stethoscope dangling around his neck, as if he were touting for business.
On the plus side, the drinks - which were part of your all inclusive package - were fine. The coke was real coke, and you could have unlimited quanities of iced tea, which was very nice. the alcoholic drinks were watered down slightly, but I think this is common practice when on an all inclusive holiday.
the swimming pool is fabulous, the temperature of the water was around 32 degrees and it was a pleasure to swim in.
The beach was a let down, there was only enough sand for two rows of sunbeds, and the sea was quite dirty around the hotel.
be careful if you book a boat trip. We were told that the boat we were booked on held no more than 30 people, and this turned out that the boat we were on held 200 people. Also the tour guide on the boat did not tell you anything about the places you were visiting.
Eken Resort Hotel is definately the place to stay if you are in need of sleep deprivation. We did not have one night's sleep whilst there. This was due to people coming back from the bars in town in the early hours, and running up and down the corridors banging on room doors and shouting etc - all worse for wear through alcohol. The security on the night shift did nothing about the noise, and many people were complaining about the behaviour of the drunken louts. The lack of the work of the security guards really spoilt the holiday for lots of guests, who were unable to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossieboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

this hotel is excellent , the people and the staff go out of their way to make your holiday and stay enjoyable. i had 3 rooms booked as i travelled with my 2 sons and there girlfriends the rooms where cleaned everyday and fresh towels and sheets on the bed .The food is what you expect on all inclusive ie salads and chicken / meatballs but this food had taste and it was hot. overall me and my family will return to this hotel wish it was sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chocolatehips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Nova Suites Hotel -All Inclusive
1.3 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#8 of 100 in Gumbet
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayaz Aqua
Ayaz Aqua
#11 of 100 in Gumbet
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Flora
Club Hotel Flora
#32 of 100 in Gumbet
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
#24 of 100 in Gumbet
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 100 in Gumbet
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eken Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eken Resort Hotel

Property: Eken Resort Hotel
Address: Osman Nuri Bilgin Cad.1510. Sok. No: 8, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eken Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eken Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eken Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing