We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking, would never go here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Kemal Apart Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Gumbet
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Upon arrival at 3am we were greeted by Lee who was clearly off his face (alcohol or drugs, who knows) in the reception area by the pool. We were sat down and told the hotel rules followed by Lee asking us all for £40 each as a deposit! There was no mention of this in the small booklet from First Choice and it was not what we wanted at 3am.
We were then taken to our room B101 which was ground floor, centre block, in front of the main gate by the restaurant. The room was appalling! Starting at the living room/kitchen/dining room there were two sofas that had seen better days, wires exposed and hanging out of the walls, mould all over the kitchen units and an extractor unit that wasnt even plumbed in properly. The dining table was a plastic outdoor table and chairs!

The corridor was covered in damp/mould and the shower was the same. The shower rail was held to the ceiling with a black neck tie (yes the type you put around your neck!!). There was a used soap waiting for us with complimentary pubic hairs still in place and a toothbrush holder that had a mouldy piece of tissue squashed into the bottom. The window was also held in place by a cable tie!

The bedroom was kitted out with two single beds that appeared to be 'homemade'. Mine was clearly made by the apprentice carpenter who neglected to secure the support for the matress as i went straight through the bed! The legs were also cracked and the bed was a serious health risk. There were also hairs etc on the floor under the bed and the bedding and towels were dirty.
Having arrived at 3am we just got our heads down and slept.

In the morning we were greeted by James the 2wentys rep (the hotel was also not advertised as 2wentys when we booked). He asked if everything was ok so we complained about the room. He then had us moved immediately to B303 which was in the same block but the 3rd floor. The difference in standards was extraordinary as the new room was spotless with new furniture throughout.

Staff
The majority of staff were friendly but this soon changed when they notice that you dont eat every meal in their restaurant. Although we had breakfast there every single morning it was still frowned upon when we left to explore Gumbet at night, we were constantly pestered to stay there and asked why we wouldnt. They were more pre-occupied with looking after the group of young girls and it was often difficult to get the bill when trying to leave the restaurant.

Deposits
Beware with your deposit. The majority of guests were hit with 'fines' for things like make-up on towels etc. I have never stayed in a hotel where you were told in advance that you would be fined for getting marks on towels. The linen and towels were clearly several years old, faded and had been washed so many times that they were rough and frayed. On our last day dirty towels with lipstick marks were placed into our room. My partner did not wear make-up all week in the fear that they would just refuse to give us our £80 back. We even resorted to washing their dirty towels to make sure that this was not the case!
There was a £20 fine for swimming in the pool after 8pm (and before 8am).
Several people were fined their whole deposit and more for going in the pool and dirtying towels - and this is supposed to be a 2wentys hotel?

Food and Drink
The breakfasts were very cheap and weren't too bad. The Red Dragon just down the road was better for both breakfast and evening meals though and was very reasonably priced. Drinks were quite expensive unless you were drinking Efes (local lager) which was quite good for the price.

Location
The hotel is at the end of the main strip so not too noisy but also quite close to bars and restaurants. There is a huge selection of restaurants and you will be pestered almost every night which can get frustrating. We ate at the following:
Dennys Steakhouse - Excellent steaks and nice location on the beach. We ate there for my partners birthday and had a table literally 5 feet from the sea. Fillet Steak and the Mixed grill were very, very good. Very cheap for the quality but service wasnt the greatest (not terrible though).
Red Dragon - Mix of English, Indian, Chinese and some Turkish. We had a chinese set meal there which was very nice and again very reasonably priced. The breakfast was also quite large for around £2!
Divers Restaurant - This is located at the very far end of the strip and is situated down a little side-street. We were walking one evening and we were stopped by the most polite man i have ever met. He asked us if he could stop us for a second and talked about his menu and the location of the restaurant. He was so polite that he talked us into going there and the restaurant is also highly recommended on trip advisor. All i can say is the food was AMAZING. It was by far the nicest meal i have ever eaten and it was so cheap (90 Lira = £35-£40). My partner has a fillet steak that was cooked to perfection and i had the mixed grill which was perfect. We paid the same for a meal in the Captain kemal restaurant.... there was no competition.

Hotel Good Points
Pool was spotless and had plenty of sunbeds
Ice creams at pool bar were buy 1 get 1 free
Efes was cheap
Location was quite good.

Room Tip: Never accept a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan_James_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alihaydar, Sahibi at Captain Kemal Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that your holiday was not up to your expectations.
Yes, we do have a policy of asking for a deposit, and the accommodation rates do not include the air-conditioning usage. However, your travel agency, Thomson/First Choice, should and must have informed you about our policy. If their brochure did not mention this, you must verbalize the issue with them as they are aware of our policy.
On the matter of our staff member who was “off his face” at 3:00AM, no one can be an energizer bunny for 24/7. We all get tired, especially in such late hours. Perhaps as you were tired as well, you were looking for a smiling face as it is your right rather than a grouchy one, but to suggest that he was on drugs does not sound fair.
From the hygienic condition of the room to the conduct of the staff members, when guest are dissatisfied, we would like to know, so that we can offer solutions as fast as possible. In such case, you might have moved into the SPOTLESS room the night you had checked in instead of the following morning. Regardless, I am happy that you were accommodated in a SPOTLESS room.

Regards,

Captain Kemal Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have just returned from a week’s holiday staying in theCaptain Kemal Apartments. To say that I wasdisappointed was an understatement!! Over all the holiday was brilliant but that was no thanks to the staff of CaptainKemal. When we first arrived everyone was very friendly very talkative and welcoming –little did we know it wouldn’t last very long. We were met at reception by a young man, it was early hours of the morning, when he started explaining the rules and reasons for deposit, he started to get confused and didn’t really seem to know what he was talking about himself, and it was like he was drunk. He advised that we needed to give money for safety deposit box but did not explain that we would not get it back… we didn’t use it as it was down by the swimming pool so we kept everything with us instead of running up and down every time we needed something.We also gave money for air conditioning 25 Lira each, we didn’t mind because we know we would need it, only to find that the air con was only in the bedroom – two of us were sleeping on the sofa beds in the main living area (no air con). Total cost of deposit was 150 Lira each; by the end we received back 38 Lira because of fines for towels, air-con and safety deposit boxes. We ate in the restaurantthe first night, the food was ok, but when i'm on holiday I like to experience different things and try different places. This is obviously was offensive to the staff of Captain Kemal as when we tried the restaurants across the road they stood staring over at us while we ate, which made it quite uncomfortable, speaking to the staff of the other restaurants it was clear that this was common and they advised us to that they may become rude and ignorant towards us. This was true, on more than one occasion, we were ignored and when we would walk past they would be laughing and speaking in Turkish while looking in our direction, they kept locking the main gate of the hotel around meal times and also around the time we went out at night, forcing us to walk through the restaurant/bar where the staff would be hovering around staring at us and asking us where we were going (it was a self catering apartment - we could go where we wanted). Also every night was likeGroundhog Day – as the same song was sung by the same members of staff at the same time every night it was boring!!! We had an apartment which was directly behind the bar/restaurant so could hear everything!! On the third night we were invited to a pool party, no-one really new what price it was as on one notice board it said £10 and another it said £30 but we were charged 70 lira which is £25, there was no pool party it was a meal in therestaurant which consisted of a couple of different meats and chips and entertainment., not to mention the disgusting cats which were running about under the tables and chairs, very very poor. Our rep was James, we did not attend the rep meeting as we decided we just wanted to do our own thing, one of the mornings there was a knock to the door early in the morning, it was James who came up to introduce himself, asking if we wanted to go on a boat trip he needed to know there and then as the boat trip was the next day. We thought it would be great so decided to go for it, he asked for 110 Lira, he stayed for 5 minutes took our money and left. When we came back from the boat trip we were asked by staff members ofrestaurants and pubs if we had been on a boat trip, when we said yes through our rep, they shook their heads and advised that all the other places in the area done boat trips for between 15 and 35 Lira. We were very angry that someone who was meant to be there to help us had just completely ripped us off. We are a group of girls aged between 23 and 27 they honestly saw us coming. I loved Gumbet and I loved the staff of the restaurants and the pubs and clubs but I hated every minute I had to spend in Captain Kemal. as the staff are just rude and unfriendly, if I had the money I would have moved apartments, I would love to go back and meet all the lovely people we met but under no circumstances will I be going near the Captain Kemal Apartments, and would advise everyone to stay away from it unless they want to spend the whole holiday in the Captain Kemal Apartments with the staff and the cats as that is the only way you will feel welcome.

Room Tip: Dont pick a room near the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itsmesoitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alihaydar, Sahibi at Captain Kemal Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We regret that your holiday was not up to your expectations.
Yes, we do have a policy of asking for a deposit, and the accommodation rates do not include the air-conditioning usage. However, your travel agency, Thomson/First Choice, should and must have informed you about our policy. If their brochure did not mention this, you must verbalize the issue with them as they are aware of our policy.
In regards to our staff member who welcomed you in the early hours of the morning, it wouldn’t be reasonable to expect him to be like an energizer bunny. We all get tired, especially in such late hours. Perhaps as you were tired as well, you were looking for a smiling face as it is your right rather than a grouchy one, but to suggest that he was drunk does not sound fair.
Guests are not obliged to eat at our restaurant, and furthermore we do not expect that guests will eat at our restaurant throughout their stay. In fact, we do hope, before they go back to their country, they will have tried a variety of eateries so that they would have a diverse understand of the local cuisine.
Thompson/First Choice representatives often sell tours to their guests. Our hotel is not involved in any tour sales. However, it is a known fact that through street vendors you can sometimes find less costly tours, but sometimes more. However the value and the quality of the tours you purchase through the street vendors versus your representative will be different, but as you say our staff members had told you about the case. Yet you call them unhelpful and rude. Isn’t that a contradiction?

Regards,

Captain Kemal Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I dont even know where to begin about this place, we arrived in the middle of the night and was welcomed by Lee who was in reception....took 150 from myself and 3 of my friends who said we would get it all back by the end of our stay..the deposit is for the air con (which was only in the bedroom) and for the safety box (which we didnt use) and just incase of any damages we made which I think we couldn't possibly have done as the room was a tip anyway by the end of our stay we got 32lira back because they wont give money back for air con and the safety box and also charged us for towels that had a pink dye stain on it which was already THERE when we got it...they will do anything to take your money from you. also there is a staff member called dave who will offer you sex to other staff members...basically if your going to eat in the restaurant and drink there they will absolutely LOVE u.... if not like myself and friends they will be so rude and ignorant to u, if they see u in any other restaurant across the road from theirs they will give dirty looks and just stare at u. kaptan kemal restaurant is disgusting, food is minging, cats are running around by your feet its horrible. there are two restaurants across the road which are named "uncle festers" and "casablanca" absolutely gorgeous! i actually was expecting the state of the rooms to be the way they are for the price but wasnt expecting the staff to be so disgusting. they hated us as we never spent our money there....the two cleaning women are lovely tho...but the rest are just bi-polar because one minute they would speak to us and the next they would ignore us and talk about us in their own language.
also staff member Dave had said to use about their "BBQ and pool party" for the wednesday night at the cost of 30 lira so we agreed and thought this might be fun. but there was no pool party and the BBQ was up in the restaurant being cooked like normal in the kitchen...it was the funniest BBQ ive seen in my life....chips and a piece of meat on the plate ...disgusting. once he seen us eating it he came over and said it was 75 lira. also on that day if you have a holiday rep which we did and goes by the name of james for (2twentys) he took us on a boat trip which was nice...but it cost 110 lira which is ridiculous because after we came back alot of our friends we made in the bars and pubs do boat trips for 15lira and they knew that james had taken us on this boat trip as alot of people have complained about him and he puts the extra money in his pocket. so if your going on a boat trip go to any bar or restaurant and ask them can you go on their boat trips.
overall gumbet itself is nice....met some lovely people in casablanca and uncle festers and memories bar but kaptan kemal...HORRIBLE!never again!!! i would defo not go back to that place esp when the rooms are disgusting and the staff are disgusting, theyll do anything to get money off you and esp the staff if your 23 plus they will try it on with you.......also they lock the main gate so you have to walk through the restaurant past them so they can see where you're going.....so uncomfortable!!!

Room Tip: my room was the first floor facing out towards the restaurant..the first room by the gate. i was sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank y0urMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alihaydar, Sahibi at Captain Kemal Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that your holiday was not up to your expectations.
Yes, we do have a policy of asking for a deposit, and the accommodation rates do not include the air-conditioning usage. However, your travel agency, Thomson/First Choice, should and must have informed you about our policy. If their brochure did not mention this, you must verbalize the issue with them as they are aware of our policy.
Guests are not obliged to eat at our restaurant, and furthermore we do not expect that guests will eat at our restaurant throughout their stay. In fact, we do hope, before they go back to their country, they will have tried a variety of eateries so that they would have a diverse understand of the local cuisine.
Thompson/First Choice representatives often sell tours to their guests. Our hotel is not involved in any tour sales through Thompson or others. But, it is a known fact that through street vendors you can sometimes find less costly tours, but sometimes more. However the value and the quality of the tours you purchase through the street vendors versus your representative will be different, but as you say our staff members had told you about the case.

Regards,

Captain Kemal Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Have just returned home from a 2 week stay at Captain Kemal and if im going to be really honest then I'd have to say that I would not book to stay here again in a hurry!
Myself and my other half booked here as our previous holiday with Holidays4u fell out of bed when the company went bust and we'd often walked past Captain Kemal and thought it seemed ok!
Arrived at silly O.Clock in the morning and were greeted by a friendly young fella who made No attempt to help us down the stairs with our cases, this was left to the lovely Rambo who took us down to the pool area while the young fella made a bee line for a group of young ladies!
Had to pay a deposit of £120 before we even got the keys to our room, for the safety deposit box and for any damages to the room or it's contents!
Our room was in the basement and it wasn't until the following morning that we could really check out our home for the next 2 weeks as it was so dark!
The bathroom was full of damp and the ceiling was so mouldy Im actually suprised it didn't cave in, the shower curtains were about as much use as a chocolate teapot and the shower leaked all over the floor everytime we used it and we then had to spend ages using a mop to try and dry the floor so we didn't fall over and break a limb or 2!
Cleaners were very good so the room was always tidy
I did find the pretty colourful Plastic Beakers amusing, I know this place is aimed more towards the younger genreation but plastic beakers was a bit to much!
Didn't find the staff very helpful at all, infact they were often blatantly very rude to me and the other half and that was down to the fact that we didn't eat and drink in the resturant every night.
We were told that the Pool Party they were holding was being attended by all the other holiday makers and we had to attend or we'd be letting everyone else down!
I do Not like being pushed into anything and was glad we'd made plans to meet some friends for dinner and the response we got was to find the main gate locked so we had to walk through the resturant to go out and even then they were still adamant we had to join them!
If I was to sum this place up I'd say if your Young and are looking for a really good loud full on time then this is the place for you But if your like me and the other half who might be slightly older and are looking for a last minute trip then I'd give this place a swerve!

Room Tip: Do Not get palmed off with a basement room! Was ok for me and the other half as we are a little old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highburylady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

spent 10 days here of which we lost 24hrs due to cancelled flight through thomson arrived at appt to find no room allocated for us a shocking £40 deposit per person not per room!! this would be taken for any makeup on already dirty sheets and towels! continually threatened to take deposit from us for not using hotel restautant of which was over priced and poor quality food compared to other places! although pool was very clean the bar played out of date music in the evenings wasnt allowed to bring our own food to appartment!!!!!!!! so why is it a self catering hotel???? prices were constantly changing depending on the mood of staff and who you were! fish bowls were overpriced with very little alcohol! although for he money we didnt expect much we were all very disappointed with the general attitude of the hotel and staff, speaking to everybody else staying at kaptan kemal they all shared the same opinion! defo would not recommend this hotel and would never fly with thomson again, as communication and remorse was not shown at all!!!

Room Tip: top floor with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lott22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alihaydar, Sahibi at Captain Kemal Apart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We regret that your holiday was not up to your expectations.
Yes, we do have a policy of asking for a deposit, and the accommodation rates do not include the air-conditioning usage. However, your travel agency, Thomson/First Choice, should and must have informed you about our policy. If their brochure did not mention this, you must verbalize the issue with them as they are aware of our policy.
Guests are not obliged to eat at our restaurant, and furthermore we do not expect that guests will eat at our restaurant throughout their stay. In fact, we do hope, before they go back to their country, they will have tried a variety of eateries so that they would have a diverse understand of the local cuisine. Yet, you are right when you say that you weren’t allowed to bring in food to your room from the outside. This is a general guideline not only in our hotel but also in other hotels.
Thank you for pointing out that we have a very CLEAN pool.
Regards,
Captain Kemal Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Brill staff nice hotel rooms not to clean though!!!! Sheets were stained as were towels room falling apart but ya get what you pay for i guess!!! Then there's the fines 4 girls were nearly charged 100 for getting make up on 5 towels stupidity!!!!! Yeah fine enough fine people for breakages but make up on already stained towels day light robbery!!!!!! Would go back Gumbet just not to this hotel to many rules take the fun out of a 20's hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank markandjemma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

First of all, fantastic staff, the nicest place to eat as well, rooms very very basic, towels and sheets clean, but stained, bed frames not clean, hairdryer broken, shower cubicle tiny, didnt work very well at all, it needed a new shower head, air con in the bedroom only, pool area good, but music was on 24/7 and very loud even the 20 somethings complained they wanted some quiet, everything was fixed and changed in the appt after one day, loved Gumbet would go back again, lovely people, but at my age would like a room less basic, because of intial problems we got a free roomto leave our cases, and shower etc as we were not leaving till late evening, and 30% off our last meal at Kaptan Kemal,

Room Tip: take your own towels and a sheet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.0 mi away
WOW Bodrum Resort
WOW Bodrum Resort
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
2,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
938 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
0.0 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 101 in Gumbet
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Kemal Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Kemal Apart Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mah. Lale Sk. No:4, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Gumbet
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain Kemal Apart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Great location, secure, peaceful holiday, looking forward to coming back" you can be one of our thousand guests that we hear those words! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Kemal Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing