We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenery and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Newport Hotel
Ranked #59 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous! And the food was always different, and it was'nt just breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they had tea time, and soup. The front desk was very friendly and the DJs were very involved with the guests. My husband, friend and I got massages the last day, and they were phenomenal, I highly recommend the package deals, the Turkish foam bath is definitely something to experience. All in all, we are going back, and staying at the same hotel, always something to do there. A great hotel!

Room Tip: We did not get a sea side view, but next time we have to, best rooms by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 342 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I recently stayed at Grand Newport in July of this year. First of all, the hotel's presentation looks much better in pictures than it does in person. However, the view is absolutely amazing. It took a while for us to check in and receive our rooms, but this was due to us arriving a fair bit early at the hotel. The food served at breakfast, lunch and dinner was average. Edible, but average, I've seen better. The range of foods served was quite limited. The hotel only has a decking area with sunbeds, the private beach is accessible either by foot or by a bus service that occurs three times a day, an hour apart. The guy in charge of entertainment, Erman, made the stay much more enjoyable than it otherwise would have been. He was really helpful with organising everything for when the guests wanted to hit the Bodrum clubs. A word of warning - the bouncers at Bodrum venues are absolute scum, be wary of them as if you're a male with a group of female friends they'll insist that "you're not with them" and will either deny you entry or kick you out once you're inside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Can E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a one week stay at The Grand Newport hotel and want to say a big thank you to all the lovely staff who made it such a fantastic holiday. We had booked a 'land view' room which was actually a view of stairs, but the reception team did their best to change it (at a small cost of about £25) for a sea view as soon as they could, and the 'sea view' is spectacular. I would definitely recommend booking a sea view room if you can. Also, be aware that there are a lot of steps up to the main pool/restaurant area, so you may want to request a room higher up if you have any leg issues.

The food was delicious authentic Turkish cuisine hence it attracts a lot more Turkish guests than any other nationality (which is always a good sign in my opinion). The hard working staff always had a smile for the guests, and the entertainment team kept the fun going around the pool all day and night. The hotel itself is spotless with beautiful views over Gumbet Bay.
You will need to bring your own beach towel as they are not provided, but thanks to the great entertainment, I we didn't need our MP3 players at all.

All in all, a lovely hotel with excellent staff. Thank you Grand Newport! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a 'Sea View' room if you can as the land view rooms have no balcony and no view at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed in Grand new port with my parents (57 and 67 years old) for 5 nights in June. We had a great time. We liked the food, it was different every day consisted of beef, fish, and chicken and a lot of different fresh vegetables which was great for my parents.

The rooms were clean, personally and the you get how many towels you need. the staff were polite and friendly. They were always ready to help. I found few friends in the hotel which we were dancing together every night by the pool. The DJ was nice enough to put the music we liked. The location of the hotel is great near to Gumbat city (20 min walk) and the sea (10 min walk). Its a pity that we only knew on the last day that there was another nearby beach (15-20 minutes walking) that had a lot of bars and beach activities (there is also a free shuttle from hotel to this beach). But we enjoyed the private beach of the hotel almost every day. In general I think for the price we payed it was really worthwhile to stay here.

and one more thing: I searched a lot before I go so I read all the reviews written in tripadvisor. I am glad I was not influenced by the negative comments and choose to go this hotel.

Room Tip: we were in room 222 which was fine (about 20-30 steps to the pool). but if you get lower level the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My group (approximately 30 people to include families and singles) arrived at 3pm on a Saturday, starving and exhausted. We were quickly given rooms, but 4 of the families had to be moved on more than one occasion because the room they were given wasn't the right number of beds, or AC didn't work, or a sewage smell backed up into the room. When we inquired on something small to eat, a piece of fruit or bread, because we hadn't eaten, we were told there would be nothing provided to us until the 7pm dinner time, but we were welcome to walk down the street and buy our own snacks. The food was sub-par. The following day our group agreed to a boat trip from 1030-1700, we were told we had to pay $40 a person for the trip. We all stated that this price was high, but were assured that this was the cheapest group price available. When we got on the boat we met some British tourists that had only paid 30 Lira which equates to about $22 dollars. That night we were heading to the clubs on bar street at 2310 I went to the bar requesting one of the horrible/cheap, yet free mixed drinks. I was told that the "all inclusive drinks" stopped at 2300 and that if I wanted a drink I had to pay approximately $12 for a drink. I was furious!!! Most all inclusive resorts have snacks available and drinks don't have a stopping time. The resort is situated in a nice location, but the service/food were horrible. I want to point that we are Americans that live in Turkey, we are VERY versed in fair prices in this country. I would not go back to this resort, EVER!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xuxu47, Sahibi at Grand Newport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2015
Google Translation

merhaba ben işletme sahibiyim.gerçekten bizim otelimizde konakladığınızdan şüpheliyim.Rezervasyona bakmak için adınızı ve soyadınızı alabilir miyim.Böyle düşünmemin sebebi sizinle aynı periyotta konaklayan misafirlerimizin hepsinin olumlu yorum yapmış olması.Saygılarımla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went here in 2011 for a cheap and cheerful bit of sun! The hotel was around 450 all inclusive for a week, fantastic value, but of course we wern't expecting anything amazing.

The food was reasonable, but did get boring after a while. Not great for fussy eaters I'd guess as there wasn't much choice but we found the selection fine (although we did eat elsewhere twice, once of a daytrip and once for lunch on the last day by the jetty).

The room was just completely average, air con wasn't quite right as it was either freezing or sweltering but it was suitable for purpose and reasonably clean with a comfy bed.

The pool was nice, sun was shining and a surprising bonus and something I found very unique was a wooden jetty that was a small walk away (you had to go all the way down the steps to the bottom of the hotel then down a large hill) and there were beautiful coloured cushions, perfect for sunbathing and reading a book by the ocean (I've included a pic). The hotel is actually fantastic for pictures, some beautiful locations (including the front and the bridge by the pool).

Overall, a great relaxing holiday and we got what we paid for! Good location (Bodrum a bus ride away), good nightlife, great atmosphere and reasonable food and rooms). If you want a bargain this is a safe option.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've just come back from a 2 week trip with my parents to the Grand Newport Hotel.
As soon as we arrived (although it was the middle of the night), we received our rooms and had somebody to help us with our bags. The hotel looks stunning at first sight and just gets better as you discover more.

Our rooms were pleasant - basic but nicer than many other hotels. The shower/bathroom was all fine.There were some mini bottles of shampoo/conditioner, some soap, free water bottles and 2 glasses in the room. A safe and fridge were provided (there was a charge for the safe but we didn't use it). Towels and bed-linen were changed daily and the rooms were always cleaned then as well (floors mopped too).

The staff were really friendly and polite. Although when we arrived the season was coming to a close so there were not many people in the hotel, and fewer as our stay went on, we were always made to feel welcome. There was one member of animation staff, Jiji, who always went around talking to the guests and making them comfortable. Although it was the end of the season so the entertainment was mostly limited to music playing, he did - just because my mum requested it- do aqua aerobics for us in the morning for a couple of days. The bar staff / waiters were really lovely and were always happy to help, especially the manager Zeki whose grasp of English was absolutely briliant. The other bar staff spoke little bits of English but it was enough to get by. The reception staff spoke English too. The chefs were very accomodating too. We are all vegetarian and my mum is a vegan but there was a large range of salads and veg as well as meals like rice, pasta, graten bakes, mushrooms and aubergines etc. For meat eaters the choice was even better. There was also bread and soup available as well as cereals and jams/spreads in the morning. Water, tea, coffee and fruit juices were available and the waiters would bring you beer/soft drinks/wine if you requested them (we were all-inclusive but otherwise there'd be a charge for these extras).

The bar, as mentioned in other reviews, is right next to the lobby. It has a lovely indoor area and also an outdoor balcony area with plenty of seating available and gorgeous views which are visible indoors from the lobby as well. Some nights we had a DJ and dancing. One night there was a bingo game and another night there was an action movie shown in the 'meeting room' just off the balcony. Next to the bar is a small 'business cafe' with 3 computers in it (and webcams) that anybody can use. The cost is 6 TL for an hour, I think, but because it was nearing the end of the season computer usage turned out to be free. Wifi is available all over the upper floor and I think in the restaurant. I didn't bother using it as I was trying to totally relax on holiday.

The reception, if you ask a day in advance, will sort out a packed breakfast/lunch combo for you for any day trips (free if you're on the all-inclusive plan). We did a 2 day trip to the ruins at Ephesus and the calcium terraces at Pammukale, as well as a one day boat trip to the Greek island of Kos for which you'll need your passports. DO NOT buy any trips from your travel company reps who will probably come to the hotel to visit you. Instead take the bus (every 5 minutes, cost is 3TL all around Bodrum/Gumbet) down into Gumbet and find a travel agent. There are plenty and they all offer different deals. The travel company reps will try and pressure you into buying from them and spout rubbish about being the only ones with insurance but they're just trying to get you to buy their ridiculously expensive trips before you realise you've been duped. We went with a travel agent called Margaret's, in Gumbet, but as I said there are many to choose from.

Hotel mealtimes were great. Plenty of food choice and you had around 2 hours at least for every meal so there was no rushing. It was buffet-style for the meals indoors as well as an outdoor pool-bar area where you could order extras such as omlettes, chips etc. There was outdoor seating available too if you wanted to enjoy the amazing views. The pool was great - shallow end, deep end and a small railed-off kids' pool too. Stunning hotel and location; I'll upload some photos.

They had a huge tv just next to the lobby with couches and comfy armchairs in which you could relax. They also had a mini-library with a small selection of books in various languages which you could borrow during your stay. If you take any books with you and don't need/want them, you could leave them there for future travellers. There were toilets upstairs near the lobby & bar as well as downstairs near the restaurant/gym/spa area.

There was a spa/Turkish bath area in the hotel, down two sets of stairs from the lobby. It looked nice and my parents used it one day as it was free for all-inclusive plans. The only thing that cost extra was the oil massages. Also there was a little booth where you could get black henna tattoos done (many of these in Gumbet as well).

The gym had a few different types of equipment (I admit I didn't pay too much attention there) which were all clean and worked well. I saw people using the treadmill/rowing machine etc. There was also a ping-pong table and pool table in that area. Just beside the gym was a little booth called the 'Photo Shop' where you could purchase professional prints from your holiday.

Most of the rooms were down some stairs - you had to cross the pool area to get to these stairs but there is a gorgeous bridge leading over the pool so this wasn't a problem. There was also plenty of space to walk around the pool, next to the numerous sunbeds and umbrellas there for guests to use. Extra towels for sunbeds were provided at reception if you wanted them.

There was a mobility chair attached to both the steps down from the lobby to the restaurant as well as another from the poolside area to the rooms so if you have real trouble walking it shouldn't be too bad a problem.

The hotel has a little platform by the sea which you can use as a makeshift beach and from which you can enter into the sea. They also have a free shuttle bus to the nice Bitez beach. You could easily walk 10 minutes down to the main stretch of beach in Gumbet or take the bus for 3TL.

Right next to the hotel is a little shop which sells all the essentials (toiletries, snack foods etc.) and down the road are 2 more shops, fairly close by, which sell the essentials plus a wider range of food and some beach toys, swimming costumes etc.

We'd already been to Bodrum 4 years ago and stayed in a hotel which was very basic but this was a completely different world - it looked really posh and chic plus all the staff were wonderful. We all absolutely loved our stay at the Grand Newport Hotel and would go back in a heartbeat. Before we'd been we were a little concerned about some of the bad reviews here but I think that either things must have drastically improved since then or that those people were a little deluded/expecting too much (having said that though I don't think you could expect too much with this hotel). We really enjoyed all our time here and all the other guests we spoke to felt the same. The only complaint from one room was that the shower smelled a little and had some mould but because it was nearing the end of the season and probably hadn't been used in a while, it's not such a bad thing - and the hotel were really quick to make that better.

So all in all if you're thinking about visiting this hotel I'd urge you to go. We heard complaints about plenty of other hotels and that made us feel even more lucky to be staying at a nice place. It might not be the place for you if you literally want to be on the beachfront but the views, staff, food and decor all make up for that (plus the buses are so frequent). I'd highly reccommend this hotel and plan to go back at some point!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room number if you can (less stairs). The stairs aren't a huge problem though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
#22 of 101 in Gumbet
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
#64 of 101 in Gumbet
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 101 in Gumbet
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Best Life Hotel
The Best Life Hotel
#25 of 101 in Gumbet
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
Green House Apart Hotel
#1 of 101 in Gumbet
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Newport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Newport Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Cad No:83 Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Newport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Newport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Newport Gumbet
Grand Newport Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing