We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #77 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my boyfriend both aged 19 stayed here for 1week. The hotel is great value for money as we only paid £725 for both of us including flights. The rooms are basic with bed, wardrobe, tv, phone, bathroom, fridge and hair dryer. There is no safe in the room they are behind reception where you pay€3 per day. The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels and bin emptied. Nothing was stolen from our room. Breakfast was very basic with fruits,bread,cheese,meat,cereal, pancakes, sauces such as jam,cherry, chocolate, honey, bolied eggs, fried eggs, and some hot food. The lunch and dinner were similar chicken in a sauce, chicken in breadcrumbs,potatoes all kinds, sausages, beef in sauce, salad, different pastas, and a wide variety of cakes and fruit for desert. For breakfast they only serve water, orange juice, apple juice, Turkish tea, tea, coffee and iced tea. From 10am till 11pm they serve coke, fanta, water, iced tea, effes beer, white wine, red wine and vodka. You have to pay for cocktails. The pool serves food from 10am until 5pm, you get burgers, hot dogs, chips, sandwiches and paninis. the food is not english it is based on turkish type food so dont go expecting english food. the hotel will also do you a packed lunch free of charge if your going out for the day. the entertainment team do different activities from 10am until 11pm, they do acerobics, darts, pool games, water polo, bingo, games and shows. There is also a spa within the hotel for a turkish bath it was €15 or 40 turkish lira each. after this we got half price massage which then cost us €22.5 each or 50 lira. i would recommened the turkish bath as it was a good experiance. There is lots of trips to do when you get there... Don't book with your holiday rep they are charging 100 Turkish lira, deniz who works for the entertainment team will charge 60 lira for the same boat trip. It is a lot cheaper on the beach 25lira. Gumbet beach is 10 minute walk, if you get the bus it will cost 3 Turkish lira each or €1.5 each way. Bodrums main beach is just a 10 minute bus journey which will cost you the same. There is lovely restaurants and bars just 2 minutes walk away.
Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our holiday, we had no problems with anything. Everybody was friendly at the hotel and outside the hotel. It is great value for money at about £20 per night including all drinks and food and a place to sleep. You would pay 50 per night in London and this would not be a luxury hotel and food and drinks would not be included. I have gave the rating on how much we paid and we had a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    161
    130
    111
    216
See reviews for
277
181
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

hello, i read all the reviews before we went on our holiday on the 23/6/2013 this june for one week, i like most of you, looked at all the reviews and thought well some people are a bit over the top on what they have to say about this hotel, and i will judge it when i get their,we was late getting to the hotel around 10.30pm,we thought it was great when they said go to the bar and get a drink while we sort your room out,we found all the staff their great. but was a little disapointed that we had asked before going, if we could have all our three rooms together, but when we got their found out that we wasn't, one was upstairs and two down but not next to each other, when we asked if we could be put all together in a line they said NO, as our reasons for wanting my 66 year old mother near us, and not have her going up a long slope to get to her room, was not a good reason to be moved,so we all made do, and tried to enjoy our holiday, breakfast wasn't great but lunch and dinner was ok even the burgers and chips round the pool was ok, we ended up eating breakfast at this lovely resturant it's name was the ROYAL RESTURANT fantastic breakfast for only £2.00 english..our last two days of our holiday was ruined by my daughter and her partners room (121) near the green slop, being broken into while they was out and they lost £180.00 pound in english and her engagement ring that she had only had for three weeks, they couldn't use their safe as it wasn't secure to the wall and the door was broken on the safe.when they got back their door had been locked with the clip thats on the inside of the door, they couldn't used their key to open it so called security they tried to get in and then noticed the side window was open wide, so security went through the window, and opened the door my daughter was told not to touch anything and if they knew if anything was missing, police came and said that my daughter and partner needed to go to the police station and make a statement but was told not to go that night go the next day, so the hotel offered them a lovely room to stay in that they felt safe in. and said they could stay their the rest off their holiday, they was also told that when they go to their new room, their would be security outside room 121 as it was not secure and the window was still open and all their stuff was still inside, but when they went to their new room the security left 2 miniutes after my daughter and her partner did, so me and my husband stayed up all night watching their room.so nothing else went missing, the next day they went to reception and asked when the hotel was taking them to the police station, and got told that they had to make their own way their and they also asked for the new room key back as the hotel was getting full and they needed to give the new room to someone else so they would have to stay in the room that had been broken into for their last night of our holiday.we had a nightmare at the police staion,they said they thought it could be staff,we spent all day their and even had to pay them £40.00 engish for them to sign it and stamp it for our insurance. on the last day of our holiday while round the pool we notice that the police officers that took our statement was swimming in the pool they said hello and said they live near by and used the hotel all the time, which shocked us. i am writting this to let you know how bad the hotel treated my daughter and partner by saying it was their fault they got robbed, also if you are going their and are in a wheel chair be carefull a lovely family who's daughter was in a wheel chair had a room where she had to leave her chair at the top of fifteen steps and be carried to her room as the hotel wouldn't give her a room with no steps and their was loads of rooms with no steps that she could and should of had.so please when booking this hotel you don't stay in room 121, they told us their had been only five break-in's,in five years which was a lie as speaking to others found out that two years ago their was eight breakin's in one week and two weeks before we went out their, their was another breakin near the bottom of the hotel where it is really quite dark.
hope this helps anyone reading these reviews

Room Tip: book rooms at the front of the hotel less noise from the clubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaofford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gumbet hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for it's price and were pleasantly surprised with what we got. The rooms it must be said weren't perfect but they had comfy beds and air conditioning. This really was where the complaints stopped. The facilities were great and there was always a variety of food and drink in the restaurant and bars around the hotel, even the quality was good from the beer to the salads.

What we really enjoyed though was the staff, everyone was so friendly and the animation team really made every day fun. If you want to do trips out we found that it was best to ask the staff and avoid the reps as they rip you off a little. All in all it was definitely worth the money for a great week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahorne414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked this all inclusive for 6 days with my husband and daugher aged 3. Had read some of the reviews which were good and some fairly bad but as it was only for 6 days I thought I would take a chance. The staff on the reception were pleasant and well spoken. The room was basic but adaquate for your needs. This was listed as 4 stars but it is not that I would say 3. The room had fresh towels and the bin emptied every day but no cleaning of the floor so by the end of the holiday it was a bit dirty. The pool was a great area with plenty going on and if you wish a bit of peace and quite there is another pool which is very quiet. I went to see the Kids Club and what this had to offer my little girl but having seen that none of the girls understood much English and that there was no much there for them to do I decided that I had brought better stuff in my little girls case then they had for her to do and therefore anyone who decides to leave there children there are a little foolish to me. The mini disco at nights was a great success for her as you dont need much understanding to be able to dance and follow the actions of a song and dance. The food I thought had alot of choice but you had to get there at the right time or alot of the dishes were empty and whatever you do dont leave your drinks on the table to go and get your food because we made the mistake of doing this and when we came back they were gone and someone else was sitting at the table. Most of the waiters were pleasant which is more than can be said for the barman in the restaurant who needs a good less on manners and how to treat members of the public he was quite rude and to be frank needed a good slap!

So the moral of this hotel is if you want something reasonable in price and with a good pool this is it. If you want something more 4 star don't bother coming here and try something else.

Room Tip: Be nice to the lady on reception when you go to check in. She decided at the last minute to give us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEMIR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Palm Garden Hotel with two other girls.

Firstly, whilst researching holiday destinations it is quite clear that Gumbet is becoming more of a party location and with the hotel being so close to Bar Street, it is inevitable that you will be able to hear the clubs, especially as the hotel is on an elevated position which is typical of the area.

We arrived at around 10pm to a power cut but didn't let this dishearten us as most of the town experienced this. They did their best to make sure we felt welcome by escorting us straight to the restaurant using their phones as torches to make sure we could see.

We were also quite lucky with our rooms, very nice and modern, with the cleaners coming every day. We had a family room, with 4 beds rather than 3, however, other guests mentioned that when they had a shortage of beds it was sorted out quickly. Our aircon worked perfectly too and nothing was stolen from our room.

For what we paid (around £360 for a week all inclusive) we received good value for money. There was a large selection of food at all meal times, yes it got a little bit repetitive, but it all seemed to be fresh with the chefs cooking certain things in front of you. If you do get bored of the food eating out in the local area is very cheap (Shanghai Restaurant was very nice which is just outside and you can get discount as they come around the pool).

Entertainment was good, the animation team involved everyone, if you wanted to get involved it was easy. Deniz made sure EVERYONE was having a good time, not just girls which has been previously mentioned. Turkish people are just very friendly which some English people do not understand and so see it in a bad light. Sometimes it was a little bit loud (music played all day) around the family pool but there is also a quieter pool.

There's also a 24 hour shop which was really handy to buy bottles of water and snacks.

All in all, you get what you pay for, we had a really good holiday and would definitely go back considering the price. Would recommend it for young families or groups of friends as it is becoming a party destination.

Room Tip: Some rooms are further away from the pool with lots of steps, the higher up the stairs you are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warwickgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were two adults and a 10 year old child.

1. On arrival at the hotel at 3am we were advised that we couldn't get food or drink after our long journey.
2. We waited 20 mins for a porter to be available to show us to our room.
3. There were many outside lights not working and being on a hill many broken concrete steps to negotiate our way down in the pitch dark with our cases.
4. The room had just two single beds. Hardly a 'family' room. The porter phoned reception and we were told that there were no other rooms available as the hotel was full, so i had to sleep on a dirty, rickety camp bed. I tried phoning bookable holidays but there was no one there.
5. The toilet did not flush, there was no handle on the bathroom door and the door to the apartment did not lock. During the night the air conditioner cover fell off.
6. Someone knocked on our door at 9am the next morning presumably to fix things but by the time we had got up and moved the wardrobe away from the front door they had gone!
7. At 11am the rep arrived so i told him all our problems. He arranged for a room up grade.
Unfortunately a room wasn't ready until 1 so we re packed and had to hang around waiting.
Not a very good start to the holiday.

We met many other English people who had similar experiences on their first night, (especially the lack of beds problem) and then paid the hotel to upgrade. Seems like a bit of a scam by the hotel. Put people in appalling rooms so that they pay to move rooms quickly.

Nothing in the mini bar, plus it didn't work anyway.

The food is not child friendly in the evening, only if you are happy for your child to eat chips every evening.
The snack bar offers only burger and chips no variation. My child ate burger and chips or just chips for the whole holiday.
We got to the restaurant at 7.30 when it opened in an effort to get hot food, but even on the hot plates it was just luke warm. People need to be warned when they are sold this holiday that the food served is predominantly Turkish at this hotel.

The discos outside the hotel carry on until 4am. They are really loud and we could hear it constantly whilst trying to sleep.

The whole place has a run down, shabby feel. Around the pool area, loads of the tiles are cracked, the concrete balustrade along the stairs has come away. The decking must be really old as everyone was getting splinters in their feet, and there were planks missing or broken in the decking stairs. There would also be the sound of drilling quite often near the pool.

The poolside bar was not open in the evening, so if children were being entertained at the amphitheatre (next to the pool) if they needed a drink they either had to be left alone or taken away to walk right the way up two levels and across the other side of the hotel to get a drink. This became even more annoying when at 10pm when you were only allowed to get one drink for yourself and had to bring everyone else physically to the bar.
The bar was always running out of something, whilst we were there it ran out of beer, white wine, vodka and ice constantly. (The ice is important as you have to walk so far, else the drink is warm when you eventually get back to the amphitheatre)
The tea making facilities:
Kept running out of Liptons normal tea and milk and cups.

When you only have one holiday a year and really look forward to it, its so disappointing for all these things to be going wrong. A holiday is supposed to be a relaxed, stress free time. Instead everyone was moaning and upset!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolineJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

well I always check the reviews before booking a holiday, and from what I read of this hotel seemed ok...........

however we arrived quite late in the evening with the nightlife obviously in full swing and we were put in a room right on the road with the music from the bars so load you couldn't hear yourself think, the room was dank and dirty and didn't look like it had been cleaned for weeks and walking around with bare feet, your feet were black. (the room was nothing like the 'official pictures')

we went straight back to the reception to request a quieter room, but was told we couldn't change as there was no manager there.

so we endured the room the first night and went back to reception the next morrning to be told we still couldnt change rooms until the following day

when we finally moved rooms there were quite a number of empty rooms in the quieter area (think they thought we would just put up with it!!) - I will also add the second room was NO cleaner either

twice more I had to go to reception to complain as when the cleaners did come in the rooms, they basically just made the bed and took all the towels and never left any clean ones.....

right the FOOD - where to start, just GROSS, I would say its the worse food i've ever had the 'not so pleasure' in eating. we ended up eating out 5 nights of the 7 we were there, so unfortunatly we were unable to do much else as we had to spend all our 'going out/shopping money' on food

*The Alcohol was also watered down.*

I would advise that to watch your belonging as we had items stolen also.

There was alway lots of staff, and the kitchen/bar staff were always nice and freindly, however the Animations team (well one guy in partucular) was very rude to me and my sister when we declined to do things, we had to tell him to get lost and to not bother us in the end as he was that offensive.

The hotel has got the potential to be a 4* but at the moment I would say it just about scraps a 2*
cleanless, food and damage/broken things unfortunaly let the hotel down really badly.


This has to be the first time ever I really want some money back.......................

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingj200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.7 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shark Club
Shark Club
#5 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
Club Hotel Vela & SPA
#32 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#6 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: Oramiral Kemal Kayacan Cad. No:27, Gumbet 48252, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palm Garden
Palm Garden Gumbet
Iskandil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing