We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arya Aparthotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Gumbet
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yildiz Hotel(Gumbet)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Collosus(Bodrum City)
View Hotel
Serhan Hotel(Gumbet)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
41
18
16
13
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
18
16
13
19
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 107 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We pulled up at the Arya apartments and all looked good. We were greeted by a turkish george clooney and then shown to our room. This is where it all went wrong. We had to share our room with parasites, all sorts of little things crawling around. If you put your sandwich down it would walk out the room. The kitchen looked like a 1960's porn set and had limited functionality - not ideal for self catering.

Upon leaving the room we were pestered by the staff for a turkish bath. If you do not have 1 of these then you will be hated. The staff are generally ok but they do not leave you alone. They want your money but they also want to look after you. It must be a turkish thing.

We found a lovely little bar down the road called "paddys bar" and the bar man stevros looked after us well. He let us use the pool, bar and watch movies and sport on his big screen tv. We met a group of girls there and if there is 1 thing you do not do over in Gumbet is get drunk and allow yourself to be taken advantage of. A large framed gingerpottomus tried to drag me back to her love dungeon but luckily I managed to escape and man the harpoons.

There is a lovely beach that spans right the way across Gumbet and a nice guy down there that sells beach trips that goes my the name of Turkish Jack sparrow. There are a lot of nice bars down by the sea front and is where we spent most of our time.

Night times were great after we found a Karoke bar names "bloody mr frogs". After about 16 failed attempts at singing and finally realizing I was not in fact the best singer in the world, they gave me a t-shirt and allowed me to stay drunk on their premises.

The music down the strip was the same every night for 4 weeks. My ears wanted to bleed. The strip consists of several bars and restaurants and it is very difficult to get anywhere without someone asking you to buy something. Also, there are a lot of stray dogs out there so when they offer you a steak, beware.

On the 2nd week we moved hotels. We went to stay in a mountain. It was all pretty much the same thing.



Gumbet is basically a Turkish version of Skegness but without the chavs and more with the

Room Tip: Drink your way through the experience.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Speaking as 2nd home owners in Turkey on a road trip. We have stayed in Gumbet before so knew what to expect from the location. Not pre-booked, pulled up on a Sat night asking for a room. 100tl for b and b seemed o.k. Owner too busy to be courteous, notice stated receptionist and kitchen staff needed. Laughed at when I asked if we paid on exit. Reluctant to offer receipt for cash payment. Room seemed recently refurbished and much more habitable than others we'd seen that evening in Bodrum so we took it. It was overlooking the very noisy bar area. Door wouldn't shut without being slammed which must be very annoying for others. Very late so quickly changed and caught cab to Bodrum. Trying to exit hotel a man asked us 'Where do you think you are going? He looked like a pimp. We ignored him. Taxi driver helped himself to a tip from our change. On return at 1.00 a.m obviously sill music thumping so thought we'd stroll around bar street. Partner had seen some women at hotel bar who looked like prostitutes so we didn't want to hang around. Street full of very angry looking fellas, mixed nationalities, heavy police presence, we'd seen enough. Our room surprisingly did have air con (free), tv (worked), fridge (didn't use it), loo roll, 2 x soap, shampoo all provided..Double bed, firm but comfortable. Seems to be a Turkish trend to only put a pique throw over the bed instead of a sheet which are way too rough and heavy for the climate. Moldy silicon to shower but no worse than seen in many hotels around the world. Curtains see through and too short for balcony door. Balcony - absolutely filthy and door didn't lock. There was a sign stating that they would only clean and change towels every 3 days to help environment so obviously this didn't affect us. Breakfast however was the worst we have ever experienced in Turkey or anywhere. The table linen was disgusting. A young lad bore no resemblance to the 4 chefs in the publicity brochure. Stale tea in an urn was undrinkable. Asked for coffee, was given a jar of nescafe with a damp spoon in it. There was cheese, tomatoes, olives, bread, small packets of preserves and butter. Limited even for a Turkish breakfast. Others state they had eggs and salad, they were lucky. Another couple were more vocal and couldn't believe this was all that was on offer and heard them ask for milk for their tea. Again, their brochure boasts an amazing English/Turkish buffet breakfast. Extremely inaccurate. On leaving, the reception was empty, the owner arrived with soaking wet hair, still on phone to eventually take our key. Was about to leave a note for her asking her to 'please clean' as this was the worst part of our experience but she merely smiled. I think we were lucky to only stay 1 night. You may say 'You get what you pay for' but they are doing themselves a dis -service as their main issues are so easy to rectify and cost next to nothing. We can only presume that they are finding it extremely difficult to make ends meet and either can't find staff or can't keep them but having read the reviews on our return home the 'brothel' comments make more sense and add a much seedier element to the hotel. We agree its not a good place for single ladies or anyone wanting to sleep before 2 in the morning.

Room Tip: Tricky one as we only have our own room to judge the hotel by. Its not the worst in the world - if the owner states that it is the 16th best in Gumbet, I'd look for at least the 15th best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojoe490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I traveled to Gumbet with 4 friends (all of us 20) and stayed at Club Arya for two weeks in mid July.
Upon arrival we were greeted by staff who took us to our room, they took us to a ground floor apartment by the pool with one tiny bedroom with 2 uncomfortable looking sofas in the living area. Not sufficient for 5 guests to sleep comfortably. So we immediately asked to be moved, we were taken to another ground floor apartment with 2 bedrooms , 1 bedroom was a double room with a dodgy double bed, it dipped in the middle meaning that your legs were higher then the rest of your body when your were lying down on it. The other bedroom had 2 single beds in , I think the owners of the hotel were quite ambitious trying to fit two single beds and a wardrobe in this room as there was barely enough room to swing a cat. And the last bed (if u can even call it a bed) was located in the kitchen it was a sofa with bars all around it with a pillow and sheet to give it more of a bed feel. I'm not going to moan to much about the bedrooms and sleeping facilities because being on a girls clubbing holiday we wern't really overly bothered about this. All in all the apartment itself was a decent size with a nice little terrace outside , perfect for reading 50 shades on. Air Con is a must! We got air-con and it kept the room a nice temp durring the two weeks of 50 degree heat we endured. Now the shower, was a little bit of an issue, the head of the shower didn't work which resulted in you having to use it like a hose pipe for pretty much all of your showers. The temperature of the water in the shower tended to be quite tempermental aswell, the hot water in each rooms seems to only be sufficient for around an hour between 6:30/7:30pm so get in those showers quick.
The pool area had the potential to be really lovely. The pool is a lovely size and would be fantastic to cool off in, if you are brave enough to endure the murky water (you literally couldn't see your feet on the bottom of the pool) the water was murky for about 10days of our holiday then the pool man obviously decided to do the annual filter of the pool and the water was crystal clear for the last couple days of our holiday. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the pool area is a sun trap perfect for getting the most out of the sun and your sun tan.
The cleanliness of the rooms was lacking , the maid sometimes gave us sheets with what seemed to be blood on them, when we told her she seemed to take what we told her on board however to only find out later she had just turned the sheet over the other side so you couldn't see the blood. But like I said earlier we were on a girls holiday so cleanliness of the room wasn't really a top priority.
The Food at the club arya bistro was fantastic and excellent value for money, we also used to drink their before heading to bar street and found the prices and quality of the drinks to be really good and an excellent port of call before bar street . Tiger the guy working in the bistro and promoting the restaurant was delightful and really lovely to us throughout our whole holiday, he would go out of his way to advise us on where to go and which places were good. I really liked a traditional turkish brekfast that wasn't on the menu and i told tiger and he offered to make it for me and my friends everyday which was really nice. He also worked at club Pascha in the evenings and would give us discount and free shots when we came in to see him.
The entertainment at club arya.. was some what of a required taste. A snake show? are you kidding me. For me thats a prime way to drive customers a way. I made it my goal of the holiday to avoid the restaurant at all costs on a wednesday night when Esmerelda and her snake were in,much to my friends amusement.
The location of the hotel was absoloutly fantastic , literally 100m from the main clubs on bar street such as X bar and Pascha.
All in all we had a fantastic time in gumbet, and despite some of my negative comments I would probably stay at Arya again, as the issues we faced are deffinately repairable and we paid hardly anything to stay there so can't expect the world, although a warm shower would be nice.
Gumbet is fantasic and i would recommend it to anyone! The windmill restaurant is great aswell as this indian restaurant (i cant remember the name) on top the hill.
GET YOURSELVES TO GUMBET.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 214gex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have been going to Gumbet and Bodrum for 13 years now and this is the very first hotel i was not happy with, i never moan about where i stay as i think you get what you pay for, also we are going to there country so we should respect them and there way of living but this place was a nitemare. The apartment that we had was full of ants all over the bench in the hundreds, bathroom full of mosquitos (i never get bit but did in here) the fridge did not close and to top it off the sink fell off on the 3rd day and it was still off on our last day, after they were told 3 times they came to fix it with a spanner then relised they needed a new one so they said it was on order. The stairs to get in the pool were broke. I never seen the pool get cleaned once and the cleaners came in twice in a week, wherever i stay in turkey the cleaners are in every day i think this is the cause of the ants. We got wrong for taking our own water to the poolside wich i think is a disgrace as we were self catering. Also some regulars here (who seemed to drink from morning until night) broke a glass at the bar where a man cut his foot and they decided to blame my nephew assuming the staff would just believe them as they go there every year they were believed at first until other peopl spoke up and told the truth. never again would i go here but you vcannot fault the staff at all. You ask for a beer and they tell you to go to the bar and get one so the service for turkey is terrible, anywhere else and the service is nothing like it is here, it was shocking. finally the rooms are red hot and the air con is above the door as you go into the room so they do not cool the bedrooms down. I would say do not go here but if you have already booked then just use this as a base and go sit on the beach through the day or go to any other hotel to use there pool and facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slugga1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Room was tiny for 2 girls sharing. Booked a twin room and were given a double. Hotel did not move us when asked. Rooms were never cleaned. Had to ask for the waste paper bin to be emptied. Towels were meant to be changed every 3 days but were not. Had to ask all the time for new ones. Sheets were never changed. Toilet paper is not supplied yet i seen many rooms with some outside their door in the morning. Hotel is used by the locals as a knocking shop with people checking in for a few hours at a time. Harrassed by the restaurant staff everyday at the pool to eat in their restaurant. Air conditioning in hotel rooms shud be free yet we were charged £40 a week.

Ali who works at the pool bar was lovely and really helpful. The restaurants food is really nice and so is george who works in there. Pool is fine with plenty of sun loungers.

I would not recommend this hotel for a B&B stay or stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews