We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still great”
Review of Agar Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agar Apartments
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

just got home from our third stay at the Agar and would advise anybody to stay here it is so friendly all the staff are great everybody you talk to have been here before which speaks for its self.If you don,t like cooking the food in the hotel is great try the mince beef and onion pie.

Room Tip: all room are around the pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChigwellDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 435 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked the Agar apartments based on the reviews that we had read about it, and we were delighted to find that they were all spot on! These apartments, although basic were very clean, and everyone from Alvin and Mary, (the proprietors), to Mehmet and Kennan who ran the bar and kitchen, to the 2 maids who came in every day were always friendly and eager to help , and nothing was too much trouble. Luke, our rep was great too and helped us to sort out a hire car whilst we were there. We ate breakfast at the restaurant every morning and also ate there a few times too - the food was all freshly made and of fantastic quality, as well as being great value for money. The Turkish night was great fun, (made even more enjoyable by being sat with the lovely lasses from Hull) and there was always a great atmosphere around the complex. The apartments are also just a 10 minute walk from the resort and only a few km from Bodrum. A great place to eat in Gumbet is the Parrot which we would definitely recommend. On the whole, we had a fantastic week in Gumbet, mainly due to Alvin, Mary and everyone at the Agar apartments, and it will definitely be our first choice to stay again when we return to Turkey!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Perfect setting set approximately 10 minutes from bar street and the beach.

Staff were excellent, both friendly a helpful at all times.

We met some really lovely people including Ted & Gloria from Plymouth and the crowd from Romford, who advised us were to eat, which definitely helped us when we arrived.

Thank you to everyone at the Agar and our rep Luke who made my 50th birthday something that I/we will never forget.

Our only slight dissappointment would be the boat trip that you can book through the Agar. It cost only £20 which covers 3 meals at the Agar, transfer to and from the boat, plus the boat trip, however the boat charges an additional 15 - 20 turkish lira for refreshments during the trip. Unfortunately the price seem to vary per week, plus which refreshment you can have. Three of our group of 9 wanted to pay, the boat took their money initially before returning the money as the Captain felt our friends would share their drinks with us. Therefore we would suggest the Agar adding £5 to the total cost, which would enable everyone to be all inclusive from start and save on all the confusion?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slick1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from our stay in the Agar apartments. We had a great time, the rooms are clean and everything is changed very frequently, bedding, towels etc. the staff are all really friendly and are extremely helpful. The apts are just far enough out of town not to be disturbed by noise. There are some great places to eat, Colombia, and the windmill to name a couple. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

just back from a 2 week stay at the agar apts ... great staff mary is a lady nothing was a prob for her always smiling .. always there when u need her for advise or just a chat ... the staff are so helpfull always joking about .. i cant fault these apts in any way ... hope to back to them next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzyg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very nice apartments, very helpful staff. We were next to the bar so a bit noisey till 2am. 5am the local cockerill started crowing.6am the local mosque started wailing. We don't consider a 2 ring hotplate & a kettle adequate for self-catering, a microwave or a toaster would of helped. The location was just a little to far from the beach & Bar Street for us. For eating out the Parrot on Bar Street or The Windy Bay on the beach were exellent value for money.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in blocks B & C these blocks are next to the bar and have rooms facing a dese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Its our second visit to the Agar apartments and we had such a great time. Never saw a cloud for 10 days. Mary and Alvin were so welcoming and it was nice to see Kennan who made every effort to ensure we didn't want for anything. The apartments are secure, clean and very well presented. We decided not to opt for the aircon option as we were advised the rooms were quite cool enough of a night, but after a couple of sleepless nights air-conditioning became a must.
the complex itself is well maintained and not a day goes by when you don't see the cleaners busy at work. We met some wonderful people young and old. We all got on so well that on one particular night following a boat trip around coast, we all arrived back to the hotel and after dinner, one by one everybody, fully clothed I hasten to add, jumped into the pool. I don't have enough typing space to do it justice. Being familiar with Gumbet, we found it much more relaxing this time and decided to venture out a bit more and explore neighbouring towns particularly Betiz and Turgutries. superb holiday. Room 402 Guess who?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HENWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
Green House Apart Hotel
#1 of 101 in Gumbet
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#10 of 101 in Gumbet
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Club Paloma Apartments
Club Paloma Apartments
#18 of 101 in Gumbet
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agar Apartments

Address: Cevat Sakir Mah. Nergiz Sok. Bodrum Merkez, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Gumbet
Price Range: $26 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Agar Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Agar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agar Apartments Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing