We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropicana fantastic hotel fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is my third time to Turkey the second to Gumbet and hopefully this year will be my second time to the Tropicana. The hotel a fantastic position has its own bit of the beach were you get waited on hand and foot. Whatever time of day you go down you will always get a subbed we went August and always got 6 together.
This is a family hotel where there are kids that's why we like it. For those people who go to a family hotel and don't want to be round kids there is a very quiet pool upstairs were there aren't any kids.
A special thanks to Yunis who had previously looked after my daughter and boyfriend when they was there a month earlier when they needed help. But after getting to know Yunis it was another day for him a very helpful man who always took the time out to talk to all his guests and always had a smile on his face. All the staff were the same always happy always helpful never pestered you but we're always there incredible job by all the hours the heat thanks to you all.
Yes you go out you get pestered to eat in all the restraunts but that happens everywhere in Turkey. Don't like the hassle take 10 mins out sit down on the beach and let RICO sing a song for you.
We met some lovely people there Jan and her family look forward to seeing you this year. You can order your boat trips etc from reception and your other trips and just take a 2 min walk to the boat.
All in all what else do you want on the beach a big pool lovely people lovely place perfect staff

Thank you to everyone at the Tropicana.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 773 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at the Tropicana for our third visit only to br given one of the downstairs room,was not happy atall it was too small, had aword with Yunis the next day and was given a balcony room that aftnoon yunis is very helpful as are all the staff, back again in Sept for 2weeks can't wait, no faults with this hotel whatsoever

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank butchNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks at the end of June last year - been meaning to write a review since getting back! The hotel is in a lovely position just outside of the resort centre but not too far away so you get the best of both worlds. We found all of the staff to be lovely from the day and night receptionists and the cleaners to all of the bar staff who go out of their way to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one. Would recommend this hotel to anyone yea its not 5* but I would rather have somewhere clean and hospitable every time. Well done keep up the good work

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NikkiB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here just the once but would definately stay again ! Went with my girlfriends and wouldn't really recommend it for Familys as the bar round the pool is sometmes open until the early hours of the morning.
Had a lovely room overlooking the pool and the flowering plants everywhere just made it seem gorgeous in the blazing sunshine.A short walk to everywhere, this hotel has a great location and with the choice of beach or pool (the beach is right infront of the hotel) it is a fantastic choice, for single male/female groups and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 15Roc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived at 1am thanks to a delay at the airport with our bags. We had read on trip advisor that not to worry the hotel will ring for a pizza for you if you are hungry when you arrive. No such luck, the guy on reception took our passports and pointed towards town along a blocked paved pathway that runs around the bay. We walked almost to the end and all the kitchens were closed. So we turned around and 40 minutes later we bought an over priced snickers and made a coffee and went to bed. We were down in the dungeon, we knew that, but we didn't expect the sheets to have holes in them. The following morning I moved the little table in the room so we could get the chair in and there were long ginger hairs on the floor. Well if this is the top rated hotel in Gumbet the rest of it must be right hovels.
I ordered air conditioning at a stupid amount of Lira per week. The air con was brilliant we could sleep but then we woke up cold so I dragged another blanket out of the wardrobe the following night only to find it had been folded up full of vomit on the inside. The maid changed it but I am sure she thought we had done it. The kitchen area had a fridge, a kettle and a 2 ringed hob but they had it governed so only 1 ring would work at any one time. If you tried to boil and egg and cook anything else it blew the electric. So a 2 ringed hob is actually a one ringed hob. Our kettle didn't work so my hubby took it reception to get it changed they wanted us to wait until the following day for a kettle but when we said no they took one from another room which had been red leaded inside. Something that wouldn't be done here anymore.

We had a walk into town the beach is raked everyday all the rubbished is cleared as far as the top near the paved walkway and left! The placed is full of dogs! They are friendly i suppose they have learned if they are endearing the tourists will feed them.

The pool is nice although if you look closely there is black and green mold in the grout around the edge and could do with a brushing. The pool side wasn't cleaned on a regular basis, there were far too many sun loungers packed around the shallow end of the pool so we moved over to the other side of the pool where we were pestered with some idiot teenage boys who took pleasure in dive bombing us while the parents were sunbathing in peace. They were also leaning over the kitchen and pinching food from customers plates. We later found out the reason the chef said nothing to them is he was "seeing" one of the boys mums so he was aloud to run riot around the hotel. After this we ate out every night, we used the recommendations of Trip Advisor, big mistake. What is the top rated restaurant in Gumbet is at best medioca. How they get these ratings I have no idea unless it is friends and family put them on, which is why I no longer trust what this says. In fact the best food we found was at a place called Negris Pide which was a way out of town ad 10 Lira in a taxi but well worth not having to run the gauntlet of the leaflet distributors and the come into my restaurant every 10 steps which is ok the first week but in your second week it becomes tiresome. We get dragged into a place called Smileys bar for just one drink! we stayed for 4 hours the entertainment there was fantastic.

We had what we wanted, a quiet relaxing holiday, but it could have been a bit cleaner but you get what you pay for I guess. All in all we were not impressed with Gumbet at all and it is the only holiday I was glad to come home from.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel, if you choose a one bedroomed apartment you can't sleep until maybe 3am if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bagpuss01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I visited this hotel with a group of friends and we had a great time. Everyone was really friendly, holiday makers and staff alike! We arrived at 6am and we were not happy with our room, we only had to wait until midday for them to change our room. Not much in the way of entertainment but Bar Street is not far away in the town which is very busy! We booked our trips with exen travel and they were very good value for money

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat19542006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a week at the Tropicana Beach Hotel. Having read the reviews previously, we were so happy to see that they were all completely true!!

We arrived at the Tropicana at about 4.30am - right away we were warmly greeted by two members of staff who helped us up to our room with our bags. The room itself (303) was beautiful. The furniture and layout was great, there were two massive wardrobes and a flat screen television.The kitchen area was well equipped, the bathroom a good size, and the view - wow. We had a view right over the pool, pool bar and bay and it was stunning. The balcony was surrounded by gorgeous flowers/plants, as was a lot of the hotel. Our room was cleaned daily, and the maids were all so friendly and rushed to help when I was struggling to get in the room one day.

The pool area was great - the one little downfall was the depth of the pool, at a couple of points in the pool, there were two big steps to ease yourself in, but once you're in - I was unable to find anywhere where I could touch the bottom, and im 5ft 5. The pool bar is normally open 24 hours in high season, but due to the fact the season was coming to the end, it closed at 3am - which is still more than enough!

The staff couldn't do enough for the guests. They were always friendly and polite, always making conversation and constantly ensuring the pool area was kept clean, collecting glasses at every opportunity. They were brilliant with the children, knowing all their names and playing games with them. We ate in the hotel every morning and once at night, the food was lovely and the service efficient. We left the hotel at about 10pm at night, as soon as the coach arrived, the staff came out from behind the bar, ran to reception to get our cases, and took them to the coach for us. They all shook our hands, kissed me and wished us both a safe journey, which I thought was a really nice personal touch.

The hotel itself was in a great location. It was a few steps away from its own section of the beach and was far enough away from the noise, but close enough to stroll to, if you wanted.

We ate at 'Mistral Bay' a few times which was amazing. 24 TL (about £11/12) for a three course meal with steak as your main, and a large beer or bottle of wine - such good value and the food was stunning! If you walked along the bay, there were more than enough places to eat/drink, but if you took one of the side roads - you would come to the main area of Gumbet with bar street and a few more restaurants. We ate at the 'Red Dragon' on the last night and I can't compliment it enough, the food was absolutely gorgeous and the staff brilliant, the wind was a bit chilly one night and before I could even rub my arm, a staff member rushed out with a shawl for me!

I can't recommend this hotel and Turkey enough - beautiful country, friendly people and great value for money, we only spent about 400 between the two of us, and we ate out every morning and night and had many drinks in between :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeni161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.6 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#4 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green House Apart Hotel
Green House Apart Hotel
#1 of 101 in Gumbet
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
938 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 101 in Gumbet
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Beach Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mah. Dolgu Mevki Dayilar Sok, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#2 Family Hotel in Gumbet
#9 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: $21 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Beach Gumbet
Hotel Tropicana Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing