We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, brilliant location, great value”
Review of Magnific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnific Hotel
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, brilliant location, great value”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Me and my girlfriend travelled here in June 2011. We booked the hotel online after being advised on the location by the travel agents. I must advise people to shop online for the best deals as when we went to the travel agents, the hotels they were trying to sell us for a similar price were rather horrible after seeing them first hand. Also, a good read of this website is a must before you consider booking anything.

So upon arrival, we had a private car journey to our hotel which didn't take too long and it is a fairly nice journey. It also gave us an insight as to what to expect from Turkey. Nearly every shop sells abercrombie clothes and every football shirt imaginable which is quite a funny sight to arrive to.

Arriving at the hotel and it looks modern from the front and the reception is very clean and almost 'ikea' like. After a quick check in we were escorted to our room by one of the friendly staff. Upon entering our room, it wasn't quite what we expected. By looking at their brochure, our room didn't quite live up to the same standards but was still relatively nice. After arriving in our room, I did ask to be moved to one of the more modern rooms and maybe be cheeky and ask for an upgrade because if you don't ask, you don't get! However, they were having none of it and seemed quite ignorant to the fact that I was a little annoyed at the standard of our room. When returning to our room, a fellow resident stopped me and noticed what I had been saying in the reception. She said they had a similar problem, although they were in a modern room to begin with. The story with this hotel is (please correct me if I'm wrong but I'm just going on what I have been told) that the newest rooms are situated on the front of the hotel by the main road. The lady I was speaking to was in one of these rooms to begin with and said that the noise from the main street was unbearable! Being on a busy road didn't help and the shops literally never close and are constantly playing music. This probably wouldn't be a problem if you were staying here with a view to go out on the booze every night, but if you actually want some sleep then you are better off staying in one of the other rooms located nearer the pool area. Our room was located near the pool but facing out towards a pathway so we didn't get the noise from the pool either which was on almost all night as well. So the location on your room can make or break what you think of this hotel.

The pool is great and I noticed someone saying it was too cold?! Bit of a strange aspect to mark the hotel down on considering it was nearly 40 degrees every day we were there so if anything it was a godsend! Lovely big pool with islands in the middle with some tortoises which were a pleasant addition!

The bar and food area were nice and clean as well. We went half board so got breakfast and evening meal. The food which was served for breakfast and dinner was relatively nice. It wasn't amazing but of a relatively good standard and for the money we paid, we couldn't complain. Because of this, we managed to eat out a fair few times and the hotel has another restaurant called the kebab house. We ate here once right on the sea front which was really pleasant. This food isn't included in stay at the hotel but the food is very nice and never massively expensive.

The beach is nice and is just a few meters from the bar. The bars and local hotels play music which is nice when lying on the beach and there are water sports available nearby.

The hotel is in a perfect location for the bars and shops which are open almost all the time. Expect to get hassled from nearly everyone you walk past. Don't be afraid as they are all friendly and you get used to them after a few hours of walking round. Arranging day trips was easy as there are plenty of companies making them available. We went on an all day boat trip which in total cost us £10 each and it was wonderful. It included all the drinks we wanted and a lunch which wasn't fantastic but edible and brining snack along as well helped fill the gap. I definitely recommend going on a boat trip on one of the smaller boats. Ours had around 20 people on which was a nice amount and meant you could chat to some of the other people. However, some of the trips available you are on the boat with maybe 100 people. We stopped at several locations, including camel beach where we got to ride a camel and have a photo taken. The ride was only probably about 10 minutes but you can't not do it! We also had a Turkish bath and were then tempted into having a lot of other treatments done. It wasn't massively expensive and it was lovely and relaxing. Definitely a must for everyone! There are plenty of other places to go and other day trips to markets and other nearby towns.

Overall, The hotel was brilliant for what we wanted. It was kept clean, the food was good and the service was as well. Exactly what we wanted and for the money we paid, we couldn't complain. I'd definitely recommend going in June if possible as it wasn't too busy and cramped. Turkey is a must for anyone who wants a fairly cheap holiday out of the euro zone, nice hot weather and some entertaining locals!

Room Tip: I don't really know how to explain it but try to get one not facing the pool or the main road. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    343
    157
    95
    94
See reviews for
327
387
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

What an awesome hotel!!
We visited in May 2011 and had no idea it was going to be so nice and well positioned.
The hotel is on the beach front with freeform pool and exotic plants all around. Its only a two storey hotel and the apartments were dotted around the grounds. The pool bar was also great at night too as they did modern music and drinks.
Our rooms were very modern with clean lines and lighting.
The possitioning of the hotel was close enought to walk to the lively street of bars but far enough away that you did have your sleep disturbed!
By far one of the best hotels i have been to and fantastic value for money :-)

Room Tip: I did see rooms on the road side...not a great view!! If this bothers you ask for a room that isnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acemanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July 2010. We stayed half board and wished we didnt bother. The food was terrible, cold and not much choice. What a waste of money paying for half board then having to pay to eat out every night because the food served in the package was in-edible. Surprisingly, the food served at the bar for lunch time (which you had to pay for) was much nicer!- pizzas, baguettes, chips, burgers ect.
Drinks were okay but not great, tasted like they had been watered down!

We didn't read any reviews before booking through Thomas Cook, now wished we did!
When we arrived all looked okay, nice grounds and better than some of the hotels we had seen along the way while dropping off other holiday-makers.
We were helped to our room by a member of staff who offered to carry our bags. This is where the positivity of my review ends.

We had booked a double room on the first floor only to arrive to a twin room on the ground floor. We asked to be moved which they did after finally understanding us as they didnt speak great English.

The rooms are small with paper thin walls. rock hard beds and not particularly clean- although the cleaners come in every day to change towels and have a quick wipe around. We later discovered what the cleaners were really doing, but I'll come to that later.

The pool area seemed pleasent, the pool was nice, although very cold. The usual people putting out towels in the morning then going back to bed for a few hours was annoying as the beds became full very quickly. Music is played all day by the pool, a bit annoying if your there for a relaxing time with a book. This music then continues late into the night, so if your room is pool view your in for a late night-every night wheather you want one or not!

The beach was a big disappointment! We were told by a member of staff that it is a man made beach, not at all very wide with sharp sand-flip flops recommended! Rubbish all over the beach with sun loungers squashed close to eachother to try to fill the small space. Be prepared to be hassled by staff asking you to buy drinks or book into the spa in the hotel.

We booked an excersion through Thomas Cook to go to the turkish bath. On arrival it was lovely, we booked for the turkish bath and then a massage to follow. The experience was very strange and something I wouldn't want to repeat. Being dragged around by Turkish men and women while you go through the various stages of the turkish bath. The massage was far too rough for me as I am only small. My boyfriend however said it was a good massage. We were then given a complementary glass of orange juice and all was okay until it came to paying. We were told before having the treatment that we would pay in Lira (price was agreed) as this was the only currency we brought with us to Turkey. We then went to pay to discover they only take Euros and the price we were told was wrong. Having already had the treatment we felt forced to pay a much more expensive price which we wouldnt have done if we were told this before. We felt very ripped off!

We also took a bus ride to Camel Beach which was a waste of time as when we got there there were only two camels who looked very tired, the camel ride went around in a short circle, -a waste of time and money.

WARNING!:
Keep a close eye on your money should you still decide to go to Magnific!
We were so disappointed to discover that the cleaning staff at the hotel had been stealing our money from our room! The majority of our money had been shut away inside the lining of our empty suitcase, which would have taken a lot of snooping around to find!
We first noticed towards the end of our stay when we went to check how much we had left for the rest of the week only to discover that my English money was missing. We then counted our Lira to find that there was much more missing than the amount we had spent. We figured they must have been taking money each day in smaller amounts to avoid us noticing at the time. We reported this to our Thomas Cook rep who informed the hotel management. The management responded by saying this had happened a few times in the last few months and they would look into it. We didnt hear any more of the situation.

It was then the morning to leave and I felt unwell. Having eaten at the hotel restaurant the night before (no money left to eat elsewhere as it had been stolen!) I was feeling sick. The Thomas Cook rep saw me looking unwell, when I told her I thought I had eaten something bad the night before she replied asking if there was a chance I could be pregnant!! I was much offended and couldn't believe that after all that had happened during our stay she was still trying to stick up for this disgrace of a hotel!

Its easy to say we were pleased to be going home. Will never be returning to Magnific again nor will we be booking through Thomas Cook.

Please avoid disappointment and DO NOT stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank LauraEllenOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here in July 2010 with 4 of my friends.
We stayed half board however the food was not too good and the restaurant could of had a more relaxing atmosphere.
Apart from that the rooms were lovely and modern. The pool area was definitely the main feature in the hotel with really comfy sunbeds.
The music by the pool was definitely to our taste.
The short walk into bar street was brilliant and felt very safe.
Bar street was amazing and not too big which we liked.
Must advise a trip to bodrum market for shopping a good experience!
Ideal for people who love the beach as it is just across the path to the hotel.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for younger people wanting to party and relax through the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theyoungcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

One of the best ... We went like 3 persons and it was amazing. Food is gr8 and loction is wonderful

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Did not read any reviews prior to going on holiday so did not have any preconceptions about what the hotel would be like. My mother and I went end of season so we guessed it would be pretty quiet.

First impressions the hotel was in lovely grounds, clean but small room and tiny bathroom / patio. The walls very thin so could hear next door very clearly - sounded like they were actually in our room sometimes which isn't very good at 3/4 in the morning when trying to get to sleep!

Food extremely disappointing and cold most of the time. We had to ask for the soup to be warmed up. Choice was very limited. Breakfast was partcularly bad and struggled to find something appetising to eat. We even asked the manager if we could have some cereal and fruit but our request went unheard. Appreciated the fact that it was the end of season but it would not have taken much to buy a box of cornflakes and some fresh fruit from the local shop.

Staff friendly and mostly very helpful. They work long hours and do a very good job. However we were upset with one member of staff in particular who was very rude...things like tutting loudly at us when we once didn't shut the door of the restaurant and refusing to take euro when we wanted to buy a beer, accepting only lira even though we were paying with euro all week. Once he brought us the wrong drink and when we took it back he seemed quite angry with us! We ended up finding a different bar to drink in as we felt very uncomfortable when he was around.

All in all a poor holiday. It was the end of season but no excuse for extremely poor food and rude staff. After all we paid full for this holiday and expected better. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

arrived 3am shown to our room music till 4 in morning
in morning 8 30 up for breakfast opened curtains and patio doors
solid brick wall complained got moved
sunday thunder storm we left resturaunt to go back to room
walking through raw sewage smell awful we both have not been
well since we came home will not be back cats in resturant
thomas cook take a good look

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williamd222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.2 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#7 of 101 in Gumbet
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#17 of 101 in Gumbet
878 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnific Hotel

Property: Magnific Hotel
Address: Zengin Huseyin Sokak, No 9, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#15 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnific Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnific All-Inclusive is set among landscaped gardens which lead down to the pool, bar and restaurant area, and from here you are just steps away from Gumbet’s beach. Be sure to take advantage of the complimentary sunbeds and umbrellas for hotel guests. The rooms are contemporary in style, and the All Inclusive package offers a visit to one of the a la carte restaurants during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnific Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing