We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A honest, value for money, hotel”
Review of Gumbet Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gumbet Cove Hotel
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Denmead
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A honest, value for money, hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My wife and I have spent a very enjoyable ten nights at the Gumbet Cove Hotel in late June. Like just about everyone else on this forum, I was searching the reviews before making the booking to ensure it was what we truly wanted.
I can now fully understand the number of positive reviews this small family run hotel has received. I booked the room through [------] and paid £208 for ten nights half board.
I reckoned at that price if the food wasn’t up to much, then we could always eat out.
In fact the food wasn’t bad! The buffet breakfast had the usual offering of tomato, cucumber, yellow cheese, a salty sheep cheese, olives (which were not very good) and slices of a Turkish processed salami style sausage. There were also cereal, plenty of fresh bread, butter and jam. A coffee machine dispensed coffee with or without milk. Turkish black tea was also available.
The fresh orange juice dispenser turned out to be merely orange squash, which was a bit of a shame really! But I’m not complaining, given the price I paid.
The meals in the evening were tasty, and during the ten nights we were there, never had the same meal twice. My wife and I agreed, the best dinner we had was the chicken with potato and carrot poached in a stock. But the highlight of each evening was the selection of Meze dishes. These were a true touch of authentic Turkey, especially the Okra Meze. A soup was also available each evening but always needed a great deal of seasoning.
The hotel is small, just 38 rooms in all, and that is partly why I booked it. I wanted to sample the cosy intimate ambience of a family run establishment, instead of the much larger hotels nearby.
The owner family dined in the large open-air restaurant every night and whilst we acknowledged each other, the dialogue was a bit limited. Just how many times can you say hello, how are you, good evening, in Turkish and generate a conversation?
The room we were in was the basic standard room, which consisted of two single beds and a shower room. It was clean, but the toilet could have done with a good bleaching, if you get my drift! There was always plenty of hot water for showers whilst the towels were changed every three days, along with the bed sheets. There are superior rooms and self-catering apartments on site and if we were to return would certainly consider upgrading to one of these.
The weather during the first couple days was hot, peaking at 42°C, which made the pool even more inviting. Both the pool and beach bar were very pleasant places to be. The personal and attentive service of the two head waiters, Norman and Idris, was second to none. Both enjoyed practising their English whilst helping me get my Turkish pronunciations right.
One of the highlights of our holiday was the boat trips on “Ozz Life”. This small Gulet can be booked through “For Get Me Not” agency, in a side street not far from the beach. A fantastic day out and worth every penny! So good, went out a second time!
As we were in Gumbet whilst England were struggling to find form at the World Cup, we needed to find a bar to watch and cheer on our team. There were plenty to choose from, but our favourite, which also had the lowest priced beer in town, 2.5TL a pint, was Mandarin Garden. Hasan and his team are great characters and always ready for a bit of banter! Thanks Hasan for a great holiday! Also worth a mention is the Bacardi Beach Bar. Just walk through the hotel gardens to the beach, turn right, past the boat yard, and the BBB is on your left. Bobby the barman is another of life’s great treasures!
So, how do I rate the Gumbet Cove Hotel? If you’re seeking a low cost budget hotel which is honest to itself and delivers more than it’s two star accreditaion, then this is the place for you. If you’re expecting the standards of a five star hotel, then best forget it.
Proof of the pudding – would I come back? Honestly, yes!
One final tip. Bring sterling and just a little Turkish Lira with you. The exchange rate in Turkey is far better than in the UK and you can exchange money just about everywhere, bars, restaurants and money exchange offices.
I hope this has helped and have a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forestofbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
whitehaven
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

hi just got back from this hotel last week 25/6/10,we were on h/b do not do this you get one choice of meal if you dont like it thats tough and no choice at all for chidren.The hotel was ok nice beach bar but very basic also dont let any one tell you turkey is cheap,small plate of chips £3.00 local vodka/coke £6.00 local beer £2.80.meal were expensipe and gumbet in places looks like war zone,if it was uk no one would go or live there. hotel....6 food.....3 room.......4 resort......5 out of 10 have been to turkey 7 times over the last 12 year and all they do now is try to rip you off thanks billy

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill17Whitehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

You could not get nearer the sea, great views, close to all ameneties, water sports, shops, dolmus. Far enough away from nightlife that it never disturbs. Though it's only a 5 minute walk along the beach. Very quiet hotel which we prefer. Nice pool for all ages.
We love it, and it suits our low budget. Fatih and all the staff are very helpful.
Rooms are basic with balcony, clean, hot water etc. all we need.
There's no evening bar, which I think would be a popular attraction.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFF088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antalya
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just arrived back from gumbet cove. One week was not long enough,hotel basic stiuated on the beach-only left the hotel twice, staff brillant (Specially Reception clerk Fatih ), friendly, helpful and entertaining, food basic but eatable,but could eat of another menu (chips/burgers/pizzas)some night entertainment but overall a quite hotel,booking to go back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassaAntalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

LOCATION: The location was ideal for us, we picked it because we heard it was away from the noisy bars and we could get a good nights sleep. It was as quiet as we hoped but a quick 5/10 min. walk to the restaurants and bars - best of both worlds. Furthermore it is situated on the beach front so there is no walk to reach to sea. There are three main areas for sunbathing - 1) the pool area, 2) a lawn which overlooks the sea and the beach and 3) a strip of beach at the end of this complex is very narrow - you are literally dipping your toes from the sun lounger into the sea. Good if you want to sun bath with a breeze.
ROOM: Clean and modern, it was sea facing. The safe was about 35 lire/ 5 lire a day. It was hot enough for air con. but as we were on a budget we didn't pay for it. Having the window open worked well - make sure you have lots of mosqitoe cream though.
FOOD: We were self catering so ate out, brought things from the local shop and occasionally ate at the hotel. When we arrived we had no plates, cutlery etc and the fridge was not working but as soon as we requested it from the reception it was provided. There was no cooker but fortunately we were not planning on cooking hot food. The resort of Gumbet is really commercial and geared towards the English - it's difficult to find traditional cuisine. We had lunch at the hotel a few times and it was really fresh and tasty.
HOTEL STAFF:
The receptionist was brilliant - very professional and helpful.
The restaurant/bar staff were a pest!!! always coming over to us when we were sun bathing to ask if we wanted to eat there and showing us the evening menu. This at times made me not want to sun bath at the hotel because it put me on edge.
This is however a trait of all local bar staff - as Gumbet is only open during the holiday season for tourists they want to make as much money as they can in that time frame.
COST: It was far more expensive than i imagined. Turkey is no longer a 'cheap' break. All prices were the same as the UK - London. The cheapest local beer costs £3 and there are lots of others wanting to rip you off and overcharge you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couple83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Having stayed here last June and had a lovely holiday we booked 2 weeks again arriving on 24th May. We booked a superior room again and had a large double bed, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, bathroom with shower and a small fridge.

The hotel is a small family hotel and you can either have self catering 1 bedroom apartments, double rooms or superior rooms. I booked through Sunshine.co.uk who themselves have never let us down, although the transfer from Bodrum Airport with Holiday Taxis (a very small bus) to Gumbet was a joke. It took 3 hours as the driver had no idea where he was going and it was apparent he couldn't speak English or Turkish. I wouldn't hesitate booking through Sunshine.co.uk again but would happily pay the extra and choose the taxi transfer there and back. Having said that our return transfer was first class and very efficient.

Anyway back to the hotel. The receptionist is extremely helpful, the waiters are just lovely and the maids who clean the rooms were the same ones as last year. The security guard is also the same one as last year and such a nice person. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and we seemed to get our towels changed more often than last year or perhaps we didn't get them as dirty!

The swimming pool has a deep and shallow end and there is a small childrens pool. Plenty of sunbeds with padded cushions for everyone and no-one gets up at the crack of dawn to reserve one, that's a bonus! They have handyman who cleans and tidies round the pool area every night and he seems to be up at the crack of dawn again cleaning and tidying about. The back of this hotel is right on the beach and the beach bar has very large cushions which are great to flop down on. This bar doesn't open until the beginning of June but when it's opened you can drink there to the wee small hours if you want to. Sunbeds on the beach again with padded cushions. Waiter service on the beach as well.

A buffet is laid out for breakfast with the usual hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, cold meats, cheese, olives, bread and butter and plenty of coffee. At night you can either choose the buffet or pick from a menu. The mezes are fab at the buffet but I found the main courses to be a bit bland so when we ate in the hotel we picked from the menu. We found a fab restaurant not far from the hotel, Saray Restaurant, turkish bread, main course and bottle of wine between 40 and 60 ytl. A dolmus stops neat this hotel which takes you to Bodrum which is well worth a visit.

As we weren't being picked up till 11:00pm we asked if we could keep our room on. Unfortunately we couldn't as guests were arriving but they said they would give us a room to have a shower etc. The room they gave us was a 1 bedroom apartment! It was lovely, 2 single beds in the bedroom and the living area had two settees which could be used for beds as they had a proper covered mattress, table and chairs, breakfast bar, microwave, cooker and plenty of utensils. I'm thinking of booking a 1 bedroom apartment if we stay there again next year.

We didn't need air conditioning for the first week of our holiday but one day the temperature shot to 40 degrees so air conditioning was purchased. 10 ytl per day but it's worth it.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as it's away from the madness of Bar Street but within strolling distance from everything.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artemisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed in Gumbet Cove for a week in june 2010. the location is excellent 5 minutes walk tot the centre of Gumbet en 10 minutes by Dolmus to Bodrum. The hotel is right at the beach from the street first the reception then the rooms and apartements in small buildings max 2 floors. behind it the nice pool and restaurant and then stairs down to the beach bar. the layout and the beachbar are the most attractive. Big pillows to relax on in the shade with a view on gumbet beach. The rooms well, ok for a 2 star. Not very very clean but also not dirty. Beds were ok. Nice balcony. Shower ok if the warm water runs. But everything that is not working is fixed very fast. Remember you have to pay at 5 euro per day and 2.5 euro per day for airco and safe (if you want that). The receptionist gave us a late checkout 6 pm for 25 euro. (felt like a ripp off but we were happy it was possible) All in all nice if you are not to difficult about the hotel room. Fantastic turkish restaurant is Zetas (take the lower road to centre Gumbet and it is on the right side). Also Lotus restaurant in centre Gumbet next to Burger King is good. The best thing to do in Bodrum/Gumbet are the boat trips. Shop around you can get them for 10 euro pp and they are basically all the same.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kulevliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.3 mi away
Gundem Resort Hotel
Gundem Resort Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Hotel Flora
Club Hotel Flora
#32 of 101 in Gumbet
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#7 of 101 in Gumbet
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbet Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbet Cove Hotel

Property: Gumbet Cove Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Cad. M.Kasif Ertekin Sk. No 4, Gumbet, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gumbet Cove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gumbet Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing