We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring your own toilet roll :S”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Paloma Apartments
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here for a week in July 2010. when we asked for more toilet roll we were told ("no, we give you first one free, then you buy your own in OUR supermarket!") I was left speechless. there was also 3 adults on this holiday with only 1 double bed and a sofa bed, so for the trip 2 of the adults had to share a bed (thankfully we were family that doesnt mind) the air con didnt work, (43degrees outside) and they said they wouldnt fix it cause it was too hot out.
rooms are beyond basic, our balcony looked down into the unroofed galley kitchen, awkward!!
the staff were lovely except for the manager, who when i asked for a sheet agreed twice, but never bothered, third time i asked he sent up a soaking wet sheet after midnight.

there was a constant smell of sewage over one side of the pool too. the nearby beach is minging!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

We would recommend the Club Paloma Apartments to families, young couples (all types of people really). The pool is quite big but is deep all over even though it says 1.5m deep. The kids pool is quite big (bigger than any other I have seen). The rooms are large but basic. Everything you need is there but nothing more. The bathroom is small though and may get water on the floor when you use the shower. We thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartments are about a 2 min walk from the start of all the bars/restaurants. We would recommend Uncle Festers which is at the bottom of the street for food and drinks. Also Sue's Fish and Chip shop (real chips). All in all the apartments are in a good location and cater for the basic things you need. We would go back. The apartments were getting a bit of a face lift as we were leaving so that's promising.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faye_from_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We've been to Gumbet 9 times now (we obviously love it) and stay at different hotels/apartments every year. We had never heard of Club Paloma before so didn't know what to expect but were more than happy with the whole Complex. We were self catering but the complex was for B&B or Half Board either. Our apartments were very clean and spacious with a great sized terrace straight onto the poolside. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Bar Manager Eddie who'd stay open chatting into the early hours with you but was also very respectful to sleeping guests (no loud music). We ate in the restaurant a few times and had lovely steaks and also the staff/boys delivered a meal to our terrace for us one evening! The pool is beautiful and massive with an oversized toddler pool which was great as some are only the size of a paddling pool. Sunbeds, parasols and cushions are in abundance so no need to fight for them. A 10 min walk from centre and all attractions and beach. Overall would really recommend and will be going there again! Can't 'Big Up' this hotel enough! Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay there! No steps to the place or hills so fine for people with walking difficulties. We requested a poolside room due to the children and were given one no problems! Whilst in Gumbet visit Smileys and Chicos Bars for a fun family night and also grab a cab to Bitez Beach (10mins away, about a fiver) - beautiful beach and restaurants!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in October. The pool area was lovely and the apartments were spacious but the lighting in them was very poor to the point of being depressing, they were also tired looking and could do with being refurbed. The shower area could have been better.

Although these apartments are situated on a dirt road which look as if it is in the middle of nowhere it is in fact very close to the centre and a short walk to the beach. Try Uncle Festers bar for good food and lovely home cooked chips.

Overall it was clean but basic and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

was a bit worried about going to club paloma as i have been to gumbet a few times and not heard of this one, its about a 5 min walk to the bar bit of town and 10mins (if that) to bar street. arrived during the afternoon and the guy on reception was helpful, the apartment we got had a shared balcony but we didnt sit out there much plus the neighbours we had seemed nice. rooms were big , a room with two single beds in , toilet and kitchen/living room bit where there were 2 sofas which could eb pulled out into beds. the maid came everyday with fresh linen and towels and was the nicest friendlist woman ever!! :) bar was ok ish priced some of the bar ppl were a bit weird?!? we ate there twice and wouldnt recommend it but there are so many restaurants in the centre which were cheaper than eating in the hotel anyway. all in all everything was good for what we paid for it, would recommend it!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lu1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Seeing as though this was booked through a budget travel company I was very pleased with the paloma apartments.
I arrived at about 3am, and was at first annoyed to discover that the balcony was shared with next door. which was a pain as i was there with my boyfriend so it would have been nice to have had some privicy, but this didnt turn out to be a problem as we were out and about most of the time, plus the people next door were really nice to often shared a drink on the balcony with them. I was also a bit peeved by the fact that the bathroom light wouldnt come on, but when we returned to out room the following day after being at the beach it had already been fixed....i didnt have to remind anyone.
the apartments are 3 rooms, a large kitchen diner, bathroom and bedroom, and all quite a good size. we didnt use the kitchen, excpet for the fridge, but it had a kettle and electric hob if you fancied cooking, plus loads of cupbaord space and all cuttlery, crockery and bottle openers etc.
The pool area was very well maintained and sunbeds were always available, i think they have a no towels to save sunbeds rule which was fair.
We didnt eat here as we preferred to go in to the town, except for one day when we ordered a salad which was okish. The one time I ordered a cocktail i was a bit gutted. I love mojitos and these didnt taste as I hoped.
we paid extra for a safe and air con which i think was about £7 a day for the two, but worth it as it gets very hot.
the apartments were very clean and towels were changed regularly. the only thing that really annoyed me was that the cleaners would come round at about half 6pm. which is when we (and i guess most people) would have returned from the beach and were having a shower and getting dressed, having some downtime, so we had to turn the cleaner away beacuse i didnt like the idea of someone cleaning in front of me when i've got a towel wrapped round me.
anyway all in all a good place to stay. it does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCityGirl_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Club Paloma Apartments which was good overall but not without a few little problems.

Good bits: The Apartments are just outside the centre of Gumbet, so do not suffer from too much noise. (5 mins from bars, 10 from beach) The pool area is great, very nice gardens, no lack of sunbeds even though we were there in high season, and the area was cleaned daily. The apartments are a decent size, with good balconies, most of them overlook the pretty pool area. Cleaning was carried out daily to both of our apartments. The buffet breakfast is worth including in your booking. It cost us £11 each for the week and is very 'turkish' ; bread, honey, jam, watermelon, eggs, cheese, meat, olives, tea, coffee etc. Definitely a better option than the full english available everywhere for about 4 quid. Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly (one receptionist has a real bad attitude!). We had a long time between checkout and pick up, so were given a room for free for half an hour to change/shower in.

Bad Bits: Some of these are a bit minor but worth noting.
The apartments are basic and built to turkish standards..... Don't expect hot water all of the time and the very small bathroom will flood when you use the shower. The sofa beds are not comfortable. We asked for adjacent rooms, giving them 4 months notice, apparently this could not be achieved.... poor.
Aircon will cost you 10 lira/day. Pool table and internet use are expensive compared to the bars which are usually free.
You will only get one roll of toilet paper, if you need any more you will have to buy it. Unbelievable!
Communication is sometimes difficult; most customers are Dutch or Turkish and some reception staff speak little or no English. There was no entertainment at all during our week, even though it was advertised. The hotel a la carte and evening buffet were not very good - eat elsewhere.

Would we go back? No really. Not because of the apartments, more because of Gumbet. A bit 'scruffy'. Very very 'touristy' and English, lots of very loud bars, shops full of garbage gifts. You will get used to being hassled as you pass every restaurant/bar/shop, smile and say 'No Thank you'!
Bodrum has more to offer but Gumbet is a good base.
Had some decent meals out (Uncle Festers, Golden Knife) and some good nights at the LMT.
Turkey is not as cheap as it was for Shopping/Eating/Drinking.
Book locally for trips out, go to the boats directly so you know what you are getting, Aquapark worth a visit, Local markets are interesting. And its HOT!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Notash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#11 of 101 in Gumbet
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Paloma Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Paloma Apartments

Address: Albay Kemal Topal Cad. No:13, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#9 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: $24 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Paloma Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Paloma Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Paloma Apartments Hotel Gumbet
Hotel Paloma Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing