We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel unwelcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Paloma Apartments
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stopped here from the 12th of July to 26th of July 2013. We stayed at the paloma apartments last year and it was great so we booked to stay here again this year, what a mistake! After a day of travelling we got to the apartments only to be told there was no rooms available, bearing in mind there was 25 of us that had travelled and was due to have 8 rooms, the holiday had been booked since last september! We had to spend 1 night in the paloma hotel, which isnt the nicest hotel, after moving to the hotel we later learned that a group of 20 or so scandinavians had arrived and got their rooms straight away. When questioned why they got their rooms the managers reply was they dont speak much english and they didnt want to offend them! The next day we were told our rooms would be avaiable by 12pm i was still waiting for my room at 4pm. The staff were unfriendly and made us feel unwelcome would not stop here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Oh dear where do I start?.This was a family holiday and our 3rd stay at the Club Paloma !.There must have been a change in management from last year as this year was terrible. Arrived on Friday 12th July 2013 around 21.45 after 10 hours travelling to be told they were double booked and had no rooms and would upgrade us to half board over the road in Paloma hotel ( NO WAY ) We had booked to stay in the Club Paloma in September last year (2012) After arguing for 45 mins with Manager we agreed to spend one night in the hotel. We took our bags over to hotel and returned to apartments where a bus load of Scandinavians arrived and were given rooms?.Again arguing with the manager about our rooms we was told it was there first time at paloma and they did not speak English and they did not want to offend them ?.(But it is ok to offend the English?) Very racist indeed. The following day we moved back over to the apartments and were given the room I had requested from last year. The bar staff and workers were then very hostile towards our family party for the entire duration of our holiday 2 weeks. They have a credit card system in place this year for your room, and when you use the bar or shop they take your room number give you a receipt to sign and its put onto your card ( no money )then you can settle the bill at reception whenever you chose daily weekly etc. Our party had numerous discrepancies on our room bills, charged for drinks and food when we were all on a boat trip or when we were out in the evenings? Some were signed Elvis Presley. We later found out that most of the English who arrive late are placed over the road until rooms are available sometimes 3-4 days hoping they will stay over in the hotel. After talking to the rep apparently the Europeans pay more for their holidays than the English so they tend to look after them ( again very racist )Last year we spent a lot of money at the bar, ect over £1500.This year because of the way we were being treated we decided to boycott the bar. These people need to realise that the Europeans do not speed any money behind bar ect, and they had 4 bar staff standing round doing nothing, so next year when three of them have no jobs they just might think back and remember that it's the British that keep them in jobs and maybe need to treat us a lot better than they did. Overall Gumbet is still a very nice place to holiday. Price wise it's now on par with English prices. Average exchange rate was 285tl .Sorry Club Paloma but you have had our money for the last time, we will never stay here again all 33 of us feel the same YOUR LOSS.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

absolutely charming. we loved every day of our stay. very very nice and friendly staff. and the pool is amazing.breakfast is varied and of good quality. would definately consider going back

Aini and Michael room 202 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our second trip to Gumbet - having stayed at Queen Resort in 2011 we decided to return to Gumbet but choose another hotel just to get variation. We had been happy with Queen resort and therefore were a bit hesitant to change, but decided to give Club Paloma apt a chance to impress and they did manage to a exceed our expectations.
We arrived at midnight, and were quickly escorted to the second pool apt no 608 (upstairs). At arrival we were kind of dissappointed having to be by the smaller pool, but it quickly proved to be excellent choise as the smaller pool was more quiet, evenly deep at 140 cm (so that I could stand on the bottom as I cannot swim properly), easy to access and overall more our style.
Apt 608 is in a corner, with a palm tree just next to the balcony. That has its advantages while the palm was giving much needed shadow in the afternoon but as it was blooming, it also dropped its flowers directly to our balcony and oh boy did those seeds hurt when you stepped on one. We purchased a broom and cleaned the balcony two-three times a day.
Apartment was spacious, with 4 beds for the 3 of us, shower, toilet, small kitchen with also 2 sofas to give extra seats. There was no wardrobe or closet, but there was a hanging rod on the wall with lots of hangers and few shelves to store our clothes. we watched BBC morning news but most other channels were turkish. Two airconditioning units cost extra 5 euros per day, but in July/August heat that wast a must and well spent money. Safety boxes can be rented in the reception for 2 euros a day.
wifi was working quite well at the poolside and as our balcony was facing the pool, it was actually ok at our apt as well. During the 2 weeks I recall having experienced 2 or 3 days when the wifi was out of order, but the reception sorted it out quicly after we had noted them.
As this was self catering for us, we did not try restaurant food. Turkish night was offered on Tuesdays, for 30 YTL plus drinks as well as Sunday fish night for the same price. Bottle of Efes was 8 YTL and diet cola 4 YTL. There is also a small minimarket, which they even opened for us at arrival night. Prices at the market were higher than in nearby shops (like SOK food store about 200 m walk to the main road) except that the icecream was just the same as elsewhere.
Location wise this is excellent place: quiet but still very short walk to the restaurants, shops and mainroad. Our apartment was at the back of the property, and there is a strongly barking guard dog next door, which woke us up with his barking a couple of mornings, but other than that, no noise. The main pool area, however, might be different story as the pool bar was open until late some nights.
There was an incident with a young child pooping into the children pool (which water is in connection to the larger pool), and his parents did not pay any attention to this. Or at least, they did not bother to inform others or staff either. The "accident" was noticed by some other adults, who quickly reported it to the staff who rapidly emptied the pool, washed and desinfected it and I think it did not cause any problems - at least we were okay and seemed that sampe people were returning the next day so nobody got sick, luckily.
.I just read some UK people complaining about their stay and it seemed that they were indeed treated badly as I would not have accepted change to the Paloma hotel from these premises as an upgrade. However, I cannot tell if it was racist against british. I am a Finn, and there were also lot of Swedish and Danish guests. We had no trouble whatsoever, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Our hotel bill was also accurate to the point. Overall we had very good stay, would happily return again.

Room Tip: I would choose room by the second pool with either balcony or patio facing the pool. Especially blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mari6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Paloma apartments and pool were clean and tidy however staff and management appalling.

Looking forward to a family holiday back to Paloma apartments Gumbet, a party of 23 booked in October 2012 to stay at the Paloma for 2 weeks in July 2013. 8 apartments in total. On arrival to the apartments (Friday 12th July 2013) we were greeted by management and then told to speak to them in private. We were told there were NO rooms. We were offered an upgrade (downgrade) to the sister hotel with half board for 2 weeks however, after staying there last year, we did not want to return. We paid for an apartment 8 months in advance, not good enough. We also seen a large group of scandanavians arrive after us and were given rooms on arrival.

We had to stay at the sister hotel for the night and was told to return by 12 the next day for rooms. We eventually got the rooms and unpacked, not a great start. One party also requested joining ground floor rooms due to having a small child in a pushchair and a disabled mum and was given 1 ground floor apt and first floor apt at different ends of the hotel. We stayed in room 607 and was seen by the house keeping manager who we informed the shower door did not close properly and the lock on the front door kept jamming. This was never sorted.

The room card that they provide you with is a system that does not work. No swiping of the card, just inform the bar staff/shop worker of your number and sign a receipt. One family member had receipts signed 'elvis presley' when he wasn't even on site at time of receipt, and was demanded to pay the bill before departure.

The staff were unfriendly towards the group for the remaining 2 weeks and couldn't do enough for the non uk arrivals. We also seen another british family sent to the sister hotel for 3 nights due to no rooms.

If you are booking a holiday to Turkey, I would NOT recommend Paloma to stay at. Try Sami beach or Jasmin.

Staff are racist towards the British and want non uk holiday makers there. The exchange rate is better than GBP in other countries and therefore will bend over backwards for them to get them rooms and good service.

Gumbet is great for restaurants and bars, will definitely book again but will NOT be returning to Paloma.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Me and my family of 32 stayed here last year and it was one of the best holidays I've been on. So we thought it would be the same this year - obviously not. We got there on the 12th July 2013 and after a day of travelling we got told there was no rooms available so we had to stay in the hotel across the road and as we were walking there 2 coaches of non English people turned up at our hotel and were given their rooms straight away and the manager said 'their not English we don't want to upset them' discrimination to English people. On the second day we went back to club paloma to get our rooms we paid for and we waited and waited and finally got them, throughout the holiday we were ignored by the bar staff, I definitely wouldn't stay here again as club paloma simply doesn't like the English. So if you're English don't even waste your time booking to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On July the 12th 2013 we arrived at the club paloma there was 25 of us. We should of had 8 rooms but they didn't have any available. They told us we had to stay at the paloma hotel. July 2012 we had people stay in there and I was horrible you couldn't move it's jus so close together and feels like your in a box!. So we stayed there for one night. We went back to the club paloma the next day. They told us the rooms will be ready at 12:00 we was still waiting at 5:00 for some of are rooms. A couple of the staff was nice but the rest of them were a waste of space. They made us feel unwelcome, and they didn't want us there. On are last day we had members of staff ask us if it was are last day we replied yes, there response was GOOD. If you want a good British holiday in turkey, I advisor you never to stay at the paloma because its just full of Swedish, Dutch, and overs. And horrible staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.5 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#10 of 101 in Gumbet
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Paloma Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Paloma Apartments

Address: Albay Kemal Topal Cad. No:13, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gumbet
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gumbet
#9 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: $24 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Paloma Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Paloma Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Paloma Apartments Hotel Gumbet
Hotel Paloma Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing