We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveler rating
221
204
117
68
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
204
117
68
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripbar streetturkish bathentertainment every nightbit datedwell worth the moneyhotel is greatrooms are basiccleaned dailyevery eveningbelly dancerbars and restaurantsfood was lovelygreat funred dragonbodrumholiday
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 677 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Got back about 2 week ago.. first impressions impressed, hotel nice and clean decent sized room large balcony, right on the beach and staff friendly. rooms cleaned everyday which was needed after we trapsed in from the beach. breakfast was okay first couple of days but after that it was poor, same for the evening meal, nice at first but then came repetiative with the same things in each dishes i also soon realised that hardly any of it was fresh they just put it out everyday till it was gone. unless you want salad an chips every night dont have an evening meal..breakfast consist of salad, cheese, fresh bread and continental meat which was fine for me but there was a hot section that consisted of 4-5 covered hot plates that you would get round to, to discover that in them was just 4 different types of bread - COP OUT...and if it wasnt that it was chips and i saw boiled eggs once in the 2 weeks i was there. so if your not bothered about toast, ham & cheese everyday then stick to bed & breakfast as you will NOT like the evening meals and thats coming from a person thats easily pleased. The only other annoying thing is the Captain who will mither the hell out of you to buy the boat trip which i dont even think hes ever been on himself. the boat trip they do is the sami hotels boat, and truthfully it was a nice day they take you to loads of beauty spots, let u explore and serve you a nice meal onboard along with unlimited soft an alchoholic drinks - the boat trip was about 4o-50 lira each which was well more than what you can pay on the street for them but i thought it was a very good day out.
Good Points -
directly on the beach - where you can do all kinds of brilliant watersports, couple of minutes walk to the strip where you can find a good mix of lively bars which you are still partyin after 4am - the sami beach is however far enuff away so you dont get the noise. strip is on the left of the hotel a few mins walk up, you can find some gorgeous restaurants up there..ones to consider are.. china town and the windmill. the right side of the hotel..you can walk down and find lots of shops, restaurants and bars which at night are a bit more low key than the strip but still fun and entertaining. this end will probably appeal more to families where as the strip is more club 18-30s - anyone between the age of 17-30 looking for a bit of clubbing holiday should definetly book with club 18-30. we did all there events including silent disco, bar crawl and sunset cruise all werre fab great atmosphere, cheape drinks brilliant reps. overall great holiday just the bad points on the food at the hotel which was awful. you can do self catering there though. i would stay again self catering but no rush to go back.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room let them no soon as and they will try and find you a better room, this didnt apply to us but a few ppl we spoke to did and was happy with that. Hotel drinks in the evening are expensive, go some where else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Partykid20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

As 2 couples in our 20-somethings Sami Beach was absolutely perfect for us!
The hotel itself is slightly dated, but the rooms have great air-con, comfy beds and they are cleaned daily and for me this was the most important thing.
The pool area is good, but we mainly spent our days on the beach. The beach is right on the hotel doorstep with free sunbeds.

We went half board, but when i go back i'll only be choosing bed & breakfast as i didnt think the evening meal was great. The food was to a decent standard but not a great variety.

The BEST thing about this hotel is its location, its amazing, really couldnt ask for better. One side of the hotel is bar/club street and the other side is quieter with smallers bars & restaurants.

The only negative i have to say about this hotel is Captain Sami or Stephan or what he decides to call himself. The man is a complete pest, he really lets the hotel down in a big way. But i would urge you not to let this put you off booking the boat trip, its actually a really good trip and well worth the money, just a shame they have an idiot selling it. He will torture you, but in the end we had to be very 'assertive' and told him to leave us alone - it worked!

All in all i was very impressed with Sami Beach Hotel and will definitely be back next year :) :) :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shabba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have just returned from the Sami Beach hotel after spending two weeks there with Thomas Cook. The staff are brilliant especially the Thomas Cook rep Josh. He is brilliant (and fit), he gave us so much advice and I booked all my excursions with him. Although a bit more pricey, you know what you're getting. Trips that are sold on the beach are cheap but over crowded and the staff are rude. The food is great and the area is good. Stay away from the Turkish men, they are creeps and won't leave you alone. Apart from that the holiday was 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hi came home form gumbet with my family (15 of us) on the 19th August 2012, and we all had a brilliant time my daughters were upset cos they diden't want to come home. picked up at bodrum airport by a large coach it takes you to the edge of gumbet then you are transfered to a smaller bus without interuptions, this is because the bigger coaches can't get through the narrow streets in gumbet. Arrived at the sami beach hotel at 06.00 and was welcomed by reception, got our rooms if your not happy with your room they will change it for you. dont except the anex though cos it's further down from the main hotel and across a busy road.rooms are basic but clean they are cleaned every day with clean towels and sheets changed twice a week. A/C is 1st class cos you need it with shower hair dryer and a little fridge to keep your water cold, Sami is the oldest hotel in gumbet and is ready for an upgrade to all inclusive, you get what you pay for nice swimming pool area with free sun lounges and bar sevice. all staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome all the time food is good with a variety buffet style plenty to choose (but you can't please everyone) the night time entertaiment is very good with different shows every night if you want to stay at the hotel, and bingo if you like that sort of thing my wife won 90 tkl one night and a sapphire in the raffle wich was nice. outside the hotel is the beach wich i found nice plenty of free sun beds and lots of bean bags and cushions. you dont need to walk far in gumbet cos everything is on your door step plenty of bars and restaurents to choose from. to many to reccomend so go online for reviews, food fantastic in restaurents and most times little kids are free. a pint of EFES local brew is between 4-7 tkl depending were you go lots of bars all playing loud music and waiters dancing around all good fun. 1st day we all had a turkish bath (it's a must) we had a great time and they take photos of you while bieng bathed, it consist's of a sauna, a bath, a massage with oils, and a face scrub. all takes about 1 and half hours but you feel real good afterwards ready for a great sun tan. get the bronze oil they make up(chocolate lemon, and orange) it's £11.00 0r 30 tkl well worth it you get a great sun tan with it using your regular sun oils of course. The boat trips are brilliant out all day you vist a few bays so you can swim in the sea and you go to camel island and take aride on the camels 10 tkl food and drink is included in the price (beer water soft drinks)you can book all this outside the hotel if you want much cheaper about £11.00 or 30 tkl a head. then there is Deidmans water park 15 mins outside gumbet pick and collection and entrance fee is included in the price about £8.00 per head, but if you book in a vender lots of them you get a good deal even free turkish baths.plenty to do at the water park with lots of crazy slides and free sun beds, food a little pricey in there but not tobad. overall never had any hassle from the locals, they just want your custom waiters bar staff and claeners work hard 15 hrs a day every day for little money thats why turkey has a tipping culture, but 1-2 tkl would'nt go a miss in a little tip more so at the restaurets where the food is quality (they never ask for tips) The bars are open till 2-2.30 in the morning and theres bar street the younger ones will like more open till 5.30 in the morning, there is plenty of shops that sell very good copy merchandise, oh and out side the sami is a burger king 6tkl for family meal.Overall an excellent holiday and would return next year the sun is Hot Hot Hot so lots of sun tan lotions and bottled water cheap over the road little shops sell everything you need. have fun and Happy holidays.

Room Tip: rooms vary in the sami so it's what your given but you can change if you ask some rooms bigger and better noise level no bad were we where room 119 rooms between 210-320 are very nice and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gollith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I didn't stay at the Sami Beach hotel but did have breakfast there from very pushy staff and after being hounded from ''Captain Stephan'' who has probably never stepped foot on a boat in his life went on the boat trip......DISASTER!!!!!!!!! All was Ok until we went to Camel Beach whilst getting off the boat we were told we would be there for one hour by two different staff members...so my son had a ride on the camel and we had a quick drink and after 25 mins decided to go back to the boat only to find they had left without us!! So after a major panic on my part myself, husband and son managed to get a lift on another fantastic boat!! Once back we went to complain to Stephan and sat there was our bag, they hadn't even noticed they were missing three people for five hours and just thought someone had left their bag!!! We did get half of our money back with no argument but as we paid all inclusive on the boat and then had to pay for drinks on the other this only covered what extra we had spent out. Their excuse was it was windy and they thought everything was back so after shouting is everyone here they left early! NO HEAD COUNT even though we were at the back of the boat with only one other Turkish family so our corner with our towels and bag on would have been completly empty for five hours! SO DON'T BOTHER!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews