We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Sami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sami Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Having stayed here last June and been made so welcome we were happy to return a second time and were not disappointed. On arrival we were given the choice of 2 rooms even tho we had originally been booked in the annex and had paid very little for our half board hol. We chose the big family room even tho the balcony was almost non existant (not a problem at this time of the year really), so mum and I had loads of space. The hotel is the oldest in resort and has lots character. The beds were pretty uncomfortable and the pillows rock hard, but all in all it was fine. We only had the evening meal twice as we were invited out by family and friends, but would have been happy to eat there all week. The choice was limited and mainly Turkish, (which was fine for us) and would have perhaps benefitted from more variety especially at breakfast. However, for the money we paid there was no way we could complain. The staff are lovely - polite, friendly and respectful, and would go out of their way to make sure we were looked after. Even tho it was so early in the season and very little else was open, the hotel tried hard to put on a show each evening - ok so Bingo and Karaoke isn't everyone's cup of tea but here was also a variety of dance acts to enjoy - and the drinks were really good! Many thanks to all the staff - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the pool or garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeighbOur9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here at the end of July 2011 for 5 nights, and were pleasantly suprised for the money we paid. Upon arrival we had already been allocated a room in the annex building, however the receptionist without us even asking told us he would give us a better room in the main building of the hotel.
The room we were given was small but comfortable, with air conditioning (included in the price of the room) and a tv. The furniture was slightly worn, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The balcony was very small and only really big enough for one person to sit on which was a shame, but looking at the other rooms, most seemed to be the same. We could see the sea from our balcony and the white washed building was drapped in colourful flowers growing up the walls.
We stayed half board, and for the price we paid (which was very little compared to prices in other countries) we really can't compain about the food. You will struggle if you are a fussy eater, as much of the food is turkish style or a turkish take on British dishes. Some things were hit others miss, but there was always plenty of choice. The desserts and turkish pastries and sweets were lovely.Breakfast consisted of the usual continental fare but was supplimented with omlettes and pancakes and fried eaggs on alternate days, which is again more than most hotels provide. It was also nice to site outside in the evening with the cooling breeze next to the beach while eating
As far as Gumbet is concerned, we didn't really like the resort. We have been going to Turkey for many years, and to many different resorts. This was the first time in Gumbet, and we found it to be more expensive and much tackier than other places, Bodrum seemed nicer and more upmarket. The beach in Gumbet is VERY thin and not really much to write home about, while the bar street area is very small and so busy and loud that there really is no need to actually go into any of the rammed bars as you literally can stand in the middle of the street with a drink and it's like you are inside!!!
The entertainment on the beach is much more relaxed and suitable for families, or those that aren't aiming to get paraletically drunk! The bar attached to the hotel, we found to be one of the best on the beach with organised entertainment and shows every night which was perfect for us to just sit back and relax with a cocktail and watch it all.
All in all, we liked the hotel and would go back to the hotel.....if it up'd sticks and moved to another resort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kassioppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here last year in oct for 2 weeks with my best friend.we had made friends in the may and wanted to return,was sad to see a few waiters had quit,one staff named memduh! Was dating my mate during the stay which ruined my holiday cuz i was left out,waiters and guests shouldnt get together,other than that,i loved the experience and the bar guy dropped a glass cuz of my smile aha great hotel! Also love their chicken gourcon meal:-D

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charrz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I booked this holiday as a late deal for half-term with my family. I was a bit worried by some of the reviews but need not have worried as we had a great holiday. The staff work very hard and make you feel welcome and yes it is a budget hotel but more than adequate. We booked the half-board as it was excellent value for families, nobody went hungry! The entertainment is good and although the holiday season had almost finished and with few guests they still put on a good show. The Boat trip was very good value for money although the captain a little pushy at times! We were lucky with the weather as it was still warm late October and for me it was really good that it was not busy.

Room Tip: rooms 338,337 very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed at the Sami Beach Hotel with my friend in July 2011. The first time I had stayed at this hotel but have been going to Gumbet for over 15 years so know Turkey, especially Gumbet really well! This hotel is a great location ,right on the beach, the rooms are a good size clean and basic & also AC was included(not sure what some people expect for their money!!) The beach does get very busy so best to get down there early if possible! My friend had a Turkish bath sold by Faith (Fatih!) and throughly enjoyed it! We also went on the boat trip from the hotel and had a brilliant day and the Captain of the boat was great fun! All in all had a lovely holiday! I do think some people expect 5 star hotels for 2 star prices!!!

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early just remember that the music is very loud untill about 1am in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

i haven't actually stayed here but i just really wanted to leave a review for the shocking way we were treated when having a supposedly relaxing Turkish bath here!! ... the staff are the rudest i have ever seen in turkey!! they were joking and laughing at me and my boyfriend in English and in Turkish ! they were totally degrading towards us and we actually left as soon as they left the room before the 'experience' had finished!! the actual rooms where you go in sauna and bath room etc are not good either! i have had plenty of Turkish baths and this was by far the worst!! please don't fall for it!!!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steffii26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sami Beach for 11 days at the beginning of October, we had an awesome time and couldn't believe how lovely all of the staff were. We had a turkish bath at the hotel on our first day which was really good value for money (as are most things in Turkey), we also took the boat trip from Sami Beach which we highly recommend. The guys at Sami Beach work so hard but always have a smile on their face, we will definitely be going back next year, it was perfect! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 which had a view of the beach and pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#8 of 98 in Bodrum City
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#9 of 101 in Gumbet
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#2 of 101 in Gumbet
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sami Beach Hotel

Address: Ayaz Cad No 10, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: $39 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sami Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sami Beach Gumbet
Hotel Sami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing