We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveler rating
221
204
117
68
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
204
117
68
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripbar streetturkish bathentertainment every nightbit datedwell worth the moneyhotel is greatrooms are basiccleaned dailyevery eveningbelly dancerbars and restaurantsfood was lovelygreat funred dragonbodrumholiday
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 677 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Myself and my Partner (38 & 42) have just returned from a week in the Sami Beach Hotel,We booked a last minute deal and paid €220 each B&B. I read the reviews and was very wary about the hotel but everyone said that it was clean so that was good enough for us.
We had a nightmare flight 20 minutes into the flight we had to turn back to Dublin then 6 hours later we took off. 3 hours into the flight two guys decided to beat the crap out of each other on the flight.....very scary and a lot of kids on the flight. Two men seperated the trouble makers and kept them at different ends of the plain til we landed.

Anyway, we arrived at the Sami beach at 10.30 a.m 8 hours later than expected they had kept the Breakfast on for us and this was really appreciated. we were in room 117 opposite the Turkish bath a bit noisy and room a bit small and needed updating but spotless clean and the maids came in everyday and on our last day they folded the sheets and towels like swans and sprinkled pettles on the bed which was lovely.

The location is perfect,leave by the front door and you are 3 minute walk from bar street and leave by the back and you are directly on the beach and on the beach promenade with all bars and restaurants.
The food in Sami Beach is lovely the Breakfast is a TURKISH Breakfast but you are in TURKEY if you were in England you would have an english breakfast and if in Ireland an Irish Breakfast and in Turkey a Turkish breakfast.There is cereal,Toast, Boiled eggs and some mornings pancakes,baked beans and even omelettes.
We had a meal in the Parrot Restaurant.....EXCELLENT and great value and a Chinese in Red Dragon.....Not the best and a bit of a rip off. Dennys on the Beach do lovely toasted sambo's. PAPA New Guinea on bar street does lovely late night food pizza and kebabs good prices.
Brothers bar is fun but the prices in Bar strett are a rip off. The nightly entertainment in Sami is good they try!!!! The bar staff are great they work long hours They are all really nice lads be nice to them and they will look after you. We done the Turkish bath in the Sami. Turkish Bath and full body message and mud face mask....."Turkish Botox" cost us €30 each and we done the both trip on the Sami Beach Boat booked with the captain....can't miss him or should I say he wont miss you, but it was excellent €20 for a full day all drinks you want beer local spirits etc and lunch really really enjoyed it.

We met lovely people all loved the Sami and we had a fab week, not sure what some people expect if you want 4 or 5 star standard pay 4 or 5 star prices. this is really good value for money, we are hoping to go back in Sept for a week.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DundalkDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have been to Turkey 3 times and again we were not disapointed, The hotel was wright in the middle of things and wright on the beach as well, The rooms are a bit basic but you get what you pay for,The rooms are cleaned every day and the towels are changed daily as well,you have clean bedding every other day.
The staff at hotel sami were all great from the cleaners to the waiters and the bar staff,
they were all very friendly,The night time entertainment is ok if you like Belly dancing and it is weekly so if you are going for two weeks you may see it all again.

Room Tip: To get a good room always ask
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank friend35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Just got back from a week at sami beach with friends and have to say it was great, if you want peace and quiet then ask for a room at the rear of the hotel or chose a hotel further away from the night life, but for us it was perfect. Every thing on your door step, bars, beach, restraunts and shops. All the staff were really helpful and as for staff hassling you on beach etc, being waited on hand and foot i call it!! Food was great too, every type of salad you could wish for and at least 4/5 choices of hot food each eve, all very good even for my fussy tastes. Food at the beach bar exelent also, Would def recomend for anyone from families to groups of mates, i was a bit nervous of going to Turkey for the first time and to such a reasonable hotel but i wouldn't hesitate to book this one again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlm_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

When we arrived the reception staff were rude and unhelpful,we waited an hour before our room was ready.Room wasnt too bad and the balcony was nice,downside was we were near the speakers that were blaring out music ALL DAY!
We had the half board option and the breakfast spread was very good,although the dinner time food was not so good!The leftovers seemed to be served again the following evening.
The beach was lovely,although one day i was showing some children an octopus in the sea and all of a sudden waiters ran out from the bar to grab the octopus and slam it on a beach lounger in front of the children and everyone that was on the beach.After much shouting and tears from the kids, the waiters threw it back in the sea and it swam off.
I understand that it is a food,but to do what they did in front of young children,i thought was unacceptable.The manager was uninterested when i told him.Infact most of the staff were rude and unhelpful.
The only decent thing about this hotel was a lovely waiter who was very friendly and helpful.THIS HOTEL IS CHEAP FOR A REASON!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife and me stayed at Sami Beach end of May,start of June for 10 nights. Having read some of the negative reviews, i was a bit concerned. I need not have worried!!

For the price we paid, i was not expecting the Ritz. It seems some people want to pay next to nothing and receive 5 star service and property? Life is not like that i am afraid.
On checking in at 6am, we found the reception staff most helpful and friendly. The room (350) was looking a bit dated, and could do with new furniture etc. But it was a good size and very clean. Lovely view over the palm trees of the sea at rear of hotel. The maid was in every day with clean towels etc and kept the place spotless. Air conditioning worked perfectly well, and was not charged as an extra, unlike a lot of Turkish hotels.
Some reviewers have complained about the noise. Well, i am afraid if you book a hotel so close to the busy bar street, then some noise will be inevitable. We found any noise to be coming from the bars outside the hotel, and not from the hotels bar area, which 1 reviewer claims. Dont know what it will be like peak season right enough? But certainly did not spoil our sleep.

We went half board. Which is not something we usually do in Turkey, but the deal we got only cost a few pounds more than just breakfast. Now very pleased we did.As the prices in Turkey have rocketed in my opinion. Eating and drinking were always cheap. I am afraid you cant say that any more. I had heard Gunmbet was a lot moe expensive than Our usual resort, Altinkum. And this proved correct. Although i am told it is getting pricey all over? 7TL for a bottle of Efes, and on average 25TL per person for a decent meal !!! Turkey's attracton has always been the weather and cheap eating and drinking. Afraid the cheap eating and drinking is no longer the case.
The food in the hotel is more than adequate. Always something you could eat from the buffet at dinner time. Perhaps not for children i suppose who dont go for the Turkish food on offer. But if you want extensive choice etc, then you only get what you pay for i suppose? Always 4 different types of main meal choice. Plus soup every night. And all the usual types of rice, veg etc. And different types of sweets.

The staff at the hotel we found to be very friendly and not in your face as some have said. Yes, when you are lying on the beach through the day. Sexy Pepsi will wander along and ask if you require a drink? But does not hassle or pester you until you buy. The Captain will ask if you want to buy a boat trip from him. But does not pester yu all the time as some have said! And in fact, it is a very good boat trip, and i would advise going.
The entertainment in the hotel's bar area at night is in fact quite good on most nights. Althogh once you have seen these types of shows before, they get a bit repetitive. But they are ok.

All in all, the hotel, the staff, the food and entertainment are very good for the price you pay here. Very clean. The beach being 5 seconds from the back door is a bonus. And not at all dirty as stated by someone previously. The boys do a good job of trying to keep it clean. Perhaps if holiday makers who use the beach were to use he ashtrays and buckets for rubbish, then it could stay even cleaner. We were on the beach from 9 - 5 every day, and did not have any issues with the cleanliness.

We did find the shopkeepers and bar owners etc a lot more "Hassle" minded than other parts of Turkey, in trying to get you into their places. But perhaps this was felt because it is start of season and not overly busy yet? But definiley felt they were a bit over the top.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews