We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gundem Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Well...the hotel was supposed to be 4 star but i really couldnt see where...okay....maybe the prices there were 4 star...anyway let´s give it a brief review:
Pros:
- very nice location, buildings are situated in the garden
- at the seaside, private beach plus molo with a beach club, very comfortable place
- cool swimming pool, few nice sitting and relaxing areas around the resort
- mostly friendly and helpful staff
- good connection to the center of gumbet

Cons:
- older, used hotel, our room didnt look like 4 star, phone didnt work (they didnt repair it for all our stay), bathroom was old, tap was broken but beds were great, very comfortable
- main curses of dinners were a bit poor
- the hotel is surrounded by very noisy other hotels

It looked like a luxurious hotel at the first sight (and in the pics) but then everything looked in decay and dirty in reality, the hotel was not worth of 4 star rating, next time i would choose another hotel in this price range for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank buffalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2007

Just returned from this hotel and would not recommend it particularly.

It is nothing like the pictures posted on the internet, it is very old, shabby and quite dirty. In our room the fridge was disgusting and did not work, we asked for it to be cleaned and the maid came straight away, gave it a quick wipe over and left it just as dirty. I bought bleach and even that didn't get it clean. Likewise the bathroom. In need of a compete refurb, the rooms are drab, small and depressing.

They don't wast any food (as mentioned on another review on this site) and everything is re-used and then re-re-used - I didn't know there were so many things you could do with a sausage!!

The hotel is completely full of Russian visitors who treat the hotel staff like dirt. There is certainly not much smiling going on in this hotel.

The pool area is lovely, as is the restaurant and the views of Gumbet bay are lovely, but that's about it. The staff speak very little English but you have to give credit to the young boys who are the restaurant and bar staff, they do go out of their way to be polite and friendly.

There was no entertainment save for one Turkish night, and then we got ripped off buying 'raffle' tickets which turned out to be a scam to get you to visit a local 'gold centre' in the middle of nowhere. Don't buy them!! In fact, dont go here.

Gumbet it'self is tacky , hilly and full of shops selling dreadful copies of designer gear and nothing else. The bar prices are expensive and the Turks bother you non-stop to come into their bars and shops. When you say a polite 'no thanks' most of them just shout insults in turkish.

I much prefered Olu Deniz and Icemelar and would certainly not go back to tacky Gumbet or the Gundem ([--]!) Hotel. Please spend you money more wisely somewhere else.

2  Thank JanH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Very nice hotel! Great view, fresh food, friendly stuff! If I were to go again to Turkey, I'd choose again Gundem Resort. One of the best, considering that the other are very low!

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank gabitataru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ozgur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir les chambres qui donnent sur jardin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iceberg1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hümeyra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.2 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Asarlik Beach
Royal Asarlik Beach
#5 of 101 in Gumbet
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rexene Resort Hotel
Rexene Resort Hotel
#17 of 101 in Gumbet
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#6 of 101 in Gumbet
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gundem Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gundem Resort Hotel

Address: Asarlik Mevki Adnan Menderes Cad, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range: $75 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gundem Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gundem Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gundem Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing