We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, brilliant location, minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baba Hotel
Ranked #35 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Subotica, Serbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel, brilliant location, minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in July, 2012.

Stayed at the hotel for 10 days with my girlfriend. It has different quality rooms. We got the most basic one on the first floor, the window looked on some alley that beachgoers and delivery people used. There are also rooms with poolside view. Those on the main floor, have little porches with tables and chairs, though we didn`t like those as other guests were passing by your drying clothes and towels. The best rooms are those on the first floor with view on the pool and the garden.

We had to wait a few hours until our room was ready, rented a safe next to the reception for 2euros/per day.

Our room was basic, double bed, TV (didn`t watch it at all), free AC. Had a problem with the AC, it worked but blew only warm air. I asked repeatedly to fix it. At first they gave us a spare keycard so we could run it even when we were not in the room, it didn`t help. Complained again, took them a few hours and some troubleshooting but they fixed it. Also, we got to keep the extra keycard, which was a nice bonus.

The room wasn`t exactly dirty but left much to be desired. They mopped the tiles every day but it was never spotless. The bathroom was the same, the sink and the toilet were clean, only the bathtub was dirty. As I said, the room wasn`t filthy but some extra or more detailed cleaning wouldn`t hurt.

The garden is very nice, a spot of green is a nice sight in this parched landscape.
The pool is quite big for the hotel this size, has a separate, shallow end for children. The sun shines on it the whole day so it`s warm. The water is clean, they maintain it on a daily basis.
The beach is next to the hotel restaurant. Jokingly we said that if you trip on the sidewalk, you fall into the sea. For hotel guests they give free sunbeads and shades. The water is nice and clean, with small gravel. Hotel staff deliver food and refreshments to the beach if your order some.

The food was excellent. For breakfast, eggs, omelet, beans, bacon, honey, marmalade, wide variety of salads, cold meats, cheese, tea, coffee, etc. For dinner we always had soups, at least two main dishes, with different salads and garnishing, fries, sweets, fruits, etc.

The hotel has minor issues with cleanliness but the location is unbeatable. On one side is the sea, on the other side is Bar Street. The dolmus (local bus) stops in front of the hotel. Bar Street can be noisy at nigh times but it quiets down around 2AM. Had no problems sleeping with the windows closed.

I would say, Baba hotel is a nice place to stay, good value for your money, mainly for the younger generation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Árpád L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    93
    55
    35
    29
See reviews for
71
127
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location, stones throw from the beach & a very short walk from other beach front bars & restaurants. Whilst the lunch time bar food is good we never had dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was pretty hit & miss so don't rely on that in the mornings. Some of the rooms have been refurbished & some are waiting to be done. We had a suite room as there was 4 of us & we had a lovely terrace with a great sea view but the rest of the rooms have Juliet balconies so you couldn't sit out on them. The ground floor rooms came with a small terrace area for sitting outside. If you want a peaceful night's sleep, then request a poolside room. Hotel Baba is a stones throw from Bar street with loads of outdoor clubs & bars which don't close until 4am & then the noise subsides! All the staff at the hotel are a great amenable bunch, friendly & happy to help. The hotel bar staff are also a great bunch....quick to serve whether its a daytime drink, snack, sunbed & then eve drinks, cocktails etc. the nightly karaoke was always popular, even amongst those who were not staying at the hotel. The bar is on the beach & has its own stretch which has sun beds & umbrellas. You don't pay for sunbeds etc which was great....each bar, restaurant & hotel have their own sections & the staff of each work their areas so you should never have to get up to fetch your own food & drink unless you want to! Of the restaurants we went to on our week there, I can recommend Cute Caspers across the road from the hotel. Great food from Chicken madras, tikka masala, beef stroganoff & authentic Turkish food. The owner & staff are always friendly & good fun. The other restaurant is AnnaLivia's...the steaks are to die for! Also would recommend Harry's boat trip. Harry works in the hotel bar & is there everyday. His boat trip is all day from 1030am-5.00pm & you get lunch & all the water, beer, wine, soft drinks you want & afternoon tea of tea/coffee with cake on a beautiful boat with sunbeds as well as sails! You can swim off the side too. So all in all a great week at the hotel baba....it's not the Hilton but its clean,comfortable, fantastically positioned with a lovely team working their.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank KarenCT5Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Would not go back food not for the British went for one week and ate out all the time they did not serve any potatoes the week we were their and we had chips twice the hotels menu is fab but you have to pay for the food the some of the rooms have been renovated but you have to pay extra for them the boy showed us round one and they were beautiful but most of the rooms are not to our standard we did ask for a upgrade but they told us they were none available any one going to this hotel must book one of the refurbished if you want to enjoy your holiday great location very nice staff but some of the rooms are a let down and only do B B as half board is not worth it

Room Tip: A room that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanr265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in june and can say its a good hotel. We arrived at half past two in the morning and after reading reviews we werent expecting much. When we got of the bus bar street was booming which made us smile after coning to gumbet for a number of years this was the first time back in three years.
The staff are pleasant and carried our bags to our room and checked everything was ok. Considering it was half past two we just wanted to go for a walk.
We were slightly concered about the noise but it did not bother us during the holiday the only thing that did was we had no balcony. However after speaking to our rep at the meeting we were told we could move at dinner time the next day.
They did what they could to help but in the end we didnt want to waste a day moving as we were only there a week. As we know gumbet very well and have friends over there we love the area and going as just mum and daughter we did not feel in any danger at all.
As we only got breakfast in the hotel the fruit they have was enough for my breakfast.
We wasnt planning on using the hotel much throuhtout the week but we used the pool and the beach everyday except when on the boat trip which was excellent. We booked the boat through harry who is based in the hotel and it was great, we have been on a number of different trips throughout the years.
Overall it was a great holiday with my mum and when only using the room to get changed and sleep when getting in at three in the morning.
Made some good friends in the different bars such as atlantis, aloha and others and it was great seeing old friends who work on the mistral and jacks place.
Would recommend to anyone and wish I was returning this year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Baba hotel. Had a fabulous time in Gumbet and the hotel is a really good base. If you are wanting somewhere quiet then this hotel is definiftely not for you but if you are ok with some noise then you will be fine. The staff are really good and come round the pool through the day so you can order drinks or food, also if you like a bit of karaoke, the bar is very lively and worth a visit on an evening. The room, in all honesty, could have done with an update but like i said you get what you pay for and for somewhere to just sleep and get ready it is fine. The beds are very comfortable and it is cheap to get the aircon, which i would recommend. We booked a boat trip through Harry who is the nicest bloke you would wish to meet. It was a fab day, all inclusive for only £17, which is fab. We will be booking with Harry again next year for definate, he's fab (if Harry reads this,Cara n Mike, Jack Daniels :-)
I would definitely recommend this hotel, its right in the middle of all the bars, pubs and clubs and loads of fantastic restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room if booking through the hotel, there will be less noise on an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at the Baba hotel with my partner in June 2013. I was slightly apprehensive after reading mixed reviews online, but I couldn't have been happier with the hotel and the services.

We arrived at about 2 a.m, and were greeted by friendly staff who offered us air con and a safe which was 80TL for the week.. Not too bad. We were room 208, which was on the second floor overlooking the pool and it was brilliant - very modern and clean with a comfortable double bed and a large walk in shower. The floor was mopped everyday and sheets changed regularly. The only slight disappointment was the size of the balcony... It wasn't big enough for a table and chairs so there was no way of sitting out on it in the evenings.. But the bar was a great place to be so it was okay.

We visited the hotel bar every evening after going out for a meal... And we loved it. The waiters and bar staff were so friendly and always happy.. They took time to talk to us and get to know us and did their best to make sure we were always okay. The bar has karaoke at night which was a lot of fun and there was a mix of music playing getting people up dancing... Including the waiters who taught us Turkish dancing and always included everyone. My partner and I liked to drink cocktails in the evenings which weren't too expensive 12-13L which works out to be about £4 .

During the day time we liked to stay by the pool which was always very clean.. And the bar waiters often came around to offer drinks and food throughout the day. With the hotel being right on the beach, there were free sunbeds available also which was brilliant. I would definitely recommend going on a boat trip if possible... It's such a relaxing day and going with Harry from hotel Baba for 50 TL (£17) - lunch and drinks included - is great value for money.

I'm a fussy eater and so was nervous about the food... However many of the restaurants served a mixture of english and turkish dishes. A friend had recommended us to try the 'amphora kebab' which we tried in a few restaurants but our favourite was the 'Cute Casper' restaurant which was just opposite the main entrance of the hotel. We enjoyed it so much we returned for a second night.

Overall I couldn't be happier with my holiday experience... Even though the hotel is right in the centre of town we were never kept awake or woken up by noise.. And the location was ideal. We are already planning to return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to the Baba hotel as we have stayed in Gumbet for the last 9 years and have never really been that impressed with the hotels.
The reception was efficient and polite, our room (103) was basic but had all we needed, a small TV with BBC news, air conditioning (which they try and make you pay for but just press the button under the flap) a really nicely decorated bathroom with a fantastically powerful shower and a lovely little balcony to sit on in the late afternoon.
We love Gumbet as we have made friends there over the years and usually eat in the same restaurants, try Columbia for great steaks, both the Red Dragon and China Town serve both brilliant Chinese and Indian curries, Denny's on the beach is lovely for easy food like spaghetti or pizza on an evening.
As usual our evenings consisted of eating and then drinking the night away in Sami Beach Bar, we go there as there is nightly entertainment, the Mongolian show is absolutely brilliant and the waiting staff are the best, (big shout out to Kadir and Selchuk)
If you fancy a treat go to The No Name Bar for a Caramello, a cocktail of Bailey's, Kahluha, Ice cream and vodka (to die for).
The only thing that was a let down for us was our flights, the evening we landed and got to the hotel at about 2.30am and we were picked up on the final day at 10.30pm, after leaving the room at 12 mid day we were given another room (grotty) but ok just to shower in. Why are the flights for Turkey so horrible????

Room Tip: any of the 100 numbers, ours was ground floor, next to the pool- no 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknUsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gumbet hotels
0.4 mi away
Ali Baba Hotel
Ali Baba Hotel
#17 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Resort Hotel
Queen Resort Hotel
#12 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nagi Beach Hotel
Nagi Beach Hotel
#21 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Hotel Vela & SPA - All Inclusive
1.0 mi away
Riva Bodrum Resort
Riva Bodrum Resort
#6 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baba Hotel

Property: Baba Hotel
Address: Gumbet Mah. Ayaz Cad No:8, Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Baba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing