We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasti holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Asarlik Beach
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantasti holiday”
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We have just come back from a fantastic two weeks.
The hotel is loveley, the staff are wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, our 11 and 15 year old girls had a brillient time.
The food was lovely, plenty to choose from covering (I would think) all tastes. To mention but a few - salads, soups, pasta dishes, the most lovely chicken / turkey soup type dishes ( I wish I'd asked for the recipe), kebaps, Chinese food, and for thoses who have simple testes - good old burger and chips!!!
The rooms were clean and tidy, we loved the towel 'figures' left on the beds.
Most of the staff spoke excelent english and were more than happy to help with our own attempts to speak Turkish to them, as were we to help them with their english.
I have to say it again - I'm sorry - but we had a fantastic two weeks, thankyou.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy, well looked after
  • Disliked — Sound proofing was not at its best in the room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinatortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    394
    251
    112
    100
See reviews for
539
622
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed at the Royal Asarlik for 9 days in October 2006. Overall, we would recommend the hotel. I would reiterate other comments that the foyer to the hotel is stunning and on a par with most 5 star hotels. The room we received was very modern, extremely clean and was on the fifth floor with wonderful views across the bay. The only gripe, as mentioned in other reviews, was that the shower did leak through the glass doors. However, this did run into a drain in the floor and cleared fairly quickly. Generally, I can not agree with comments that the hotel was not cleaned properly.

With respect to food and drink, we have travelled all over the world and have always found that a small tip greatly increases the quality of service no matter where you go! Also, a few words such as hello, please, one, two, thank you etc in a waiters own language do likewise. Many criticisms of Turkey and other countries seem to focus on the fact that the local staff do not speak English, serve chips, English breakfast etc. If you want this, go to Blackpool!

The food can be a litle boring after a week or so, but this is to expected at all-inclusive resorts. However, there were generally at least 6 main courses for dinner with multiple salads, soup and desserts. A similar lunch was served betwen 12.30 and 2.00 pm with burgers, spagetti, kebabs and other snacks served between 11.00 am and 6.00 pm at the beach bar. The food was of a good quality with some beautiful native Turkish dishes. Wine provided was in bottles, not bulk casks like some all inclusive resorts. It has to be mentioned that all inclusive guests are allowed to use the facilities of the adjoining Asarlik Hotel, which has a nicer pool.

There is a beautiful spa with Turkish bath, indoor pool and well equipped gym.

The hotel is in a quiet area of Gumbet which is a bit of a party town, and lacks the sophistication of its' neighbour, Bodrum. However, you are just a five minute walk from bar street if that is your thing. All in all, at £48 per double per night all inclusive, it is good value for money.

  • Liked — Modern features, sea views
  • Disliked — Leaky shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for fifth floor room with sea view
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank hmcgireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2006

we arrived at the royal asarlik beach hotel for our two week annual holiday on september 18th, from the moment we arrived to the day we left we had excellent service. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the hotel was imaculate, there was always someone cleaning. the food was great plenty to choose from, you would never go hungry. the al-lacarte night was great, i would highly recommend this. the animation team worked hard, they certainly kept you entertained, and they would not pester you during the day, they left you alone to enjoy the lovely hot sunshine and the relaxing sun loungers. you had the best of both worlds really as you could use their sister hotel and their facilities, these too were great. i can honestly say that this was the best holiday so far, and i would certainly recommend it toanyone, i will also be going back there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Day trip to Mud baths & Dalyan is a must
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ap&lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Having read a number of very positive reviews prior to our holiday, we were anticipating a genuinely good 4* hotel - what a disappointment we had!

Admittedly, our initial impressions were favourable, the hotel foyer had been designed to create a wow factor - lots of glass and steel – and this it achieved. However the rest of the refurbishment left much to be desired. The carpets in the main corridors had initially been cream but the wear of several hundred holiday makers had taken their toll, leaving them dirty and grubby.

The room my husband and I were allocated was probably one of the smallest in the hotel and although it was pleasantly furnished in a modern style, it was cramped, especially the bathroom. Power showers had been included in the bathroom fitments which was wonderful, except for the fact that the shower door attached to the bath did little to prevent the bathroom floor being regularly deluged with water. The air conditioning gave out a horrific smell of sewerage and when our friends in the adjacent room complained of the same fault, they were offered an alternative room but with no guarantee that it would be any better!!

The dining facilities were undoubtedly the worst I have encountered at any hotel and this has included a number of 3*, 4* and 5* hotels!! The management clearly expect the majority of holiday makers to eat outside on the rooftop, (I dread to think how unbearable this would be in the heat of the summer as there was no shade to be had), and the small inside seating area would not have been out of place in a transport cafe. The food itself looked particularly unappetising, was of extremely poor quality and was incredibly repetitive.

The new swimming pool was utilitarian at best, whilst the beach (an amazingly small stretch of sand) was horribly overcrowded. Although I appreciate the hotel was closing for the season, this really was no excuse for running out of certain drinks and failing to replenish them. Likewise we found it strange that the free pedalloes which were a part of our all inclusive package had been put away for the winter, yet the pedalloes that cost 20 lire were still available for hire!! On a positive note, we did stumble upon an attractive garden with swimming pool which presumably belonged to the older part of the hotel, I say presumably as there was no information in the room to explain what facilities the hotel offered or more importantly where they were situated! I could go on, but suffice it to say that unfortunately all four of us left the Royal Asarlik Beach with a strong sense of disappointment – the hotel has potential but as yet it has not been fulfilled.

  • Disliked — Foio dDining facilities
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2006

stayed at the royal asarlik from the 15th october 2006, first impressions are great, the hotel as recently been extended and the new section is great, inpressive to say the least.

large rooms, clean, modern, overal excellent. this did not reflect throughout the hotel. first thing that lets it down is the food, repetitive is a under statement, next the hygine form the staff is non-exsistent. the bars especially, ice placed in glasses by hand, picking dirty glasses up quick swill under the tap and filling it up with your drink.

tables not re-set in dining room after previous guests. two glasses between four people.

allowed 1 visit to beach resturant per/week stay away menu
chicken nuggets and chips
awfull

after visiting over 20 hotels on a all-inclusive basis i can honestly say this one is by far the worst, first time ever i have had bread and butter for a evening meal,

Entertainment -NON
Kids Club -NON
do not visit this hotel if you have children.

all in all a total dissapointment, first and last time for turkey.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — bars and food
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dowty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Well where do i start - I had never been to Turkey before and to stay at the Royal for our first visit was better than i could have hoped for. To tell you the truth over the years I had heard mixed reviews of Turkey but i bit the bullet and myself and my partner went.
On arrival to the hotel they did not have us booked in advising it was a First Choice error - this was quickly resolved though. Had it have been in season I wouldn't have liked our chances .
The place amazing - realy clean & fresh and the staff you could not fault them.
I enjoyed many an evening at the pool bar enjoying various cocktails.
what I would advise is that being All Inclusive you do have a free Turkish Bath at the Spa, which our rep omitted to tell us. And which I found out on the last day.
Apart from this I could not fault the place.
I would suggest you take a few english coins and notes and it really helps in the haggling - English money they love it!!!!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

What a great stay, hotel staff cant do enough for you, rooms are kept immaculatly clean, food was of a good standard and always hot, plenty of variation, have already decided to return next year

  • Liked — always clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — take more english money than turkish lira, better for bartering with
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mikeey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.1 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#7 of 101 in Gumbet
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#17 of 101 in Gumbet
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
#41 of 101 in Gumbet
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#3 of 101 in Gumbet
1,512 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
914 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Property: Royal Asarlik Beach
Address: Adnan Menderes Cd., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#16 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing