We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Asarlik Beach
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Gumbet
Cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed at the Royal Asarlik Beach for a week in mid June with a friend. We booked the hotel as it was all inclusive and quiet. I have to say, it met my expectations and then some.

When we checked in, we were given a map of the hotel and after studying it we went for a wander. For anyone that wants to go on holiday and do nothing but completely relax, this was the place. There were things to do in the hotel though: 3 a la carte restaurants, spa, hairdressers, entertainment on an evening.

Our room was really spacious and lovely and clean. We stayed in room 1316 which was at the front of the hotel. There was quite a bit of noise on an evening from the bars down the street up to a certain time but it wasn't massively disruptive.

There were 2 pools at the hotel. One was the entertainment pool (which we didn't visit) and the other was meant to be the relax area although as this was where the kid's pools were, it was far from relaxing. We therefore spent most of our time on the small manmade beach which was right next to the sea and a lot quieter. Be an early riser in this hotel however. All sunbeds were gone by about 8:30-9am. If it hadn't have been for my friend getting up at 6am to put towels down, we'd have struggled to get beds. This seemed to be a massive problem for the hotel. Literally not enough beds for guests.

Personally, i thought the food was excellent. Breakfast consisted of the usuals; eggs, fruit, cereals, toast, lots of meats and cheeses. At lunch and dinner, there was always a cold buffet with salads, grilled vegetables etc and a hot buffet with Turkish dishes such as meatballs, rices and seasoned meats. They also had chefs outside cooking fish and chicken each day which was lovely. As the restaurant is on the top floor, the views are amazing so take a camera up. However, i would say beware. Everything is cooked in olive oil which might be fine for most people but by about day 4, it really started to disagree with us which made mealtimes a lot less fun! We visited the Turkish a la carte and it was lovely. Very traditional and we were stuffed. We also visited the Chinese a la carte. Nice, however i would always class chicken or steak fajitas as Mexican...? Either way it was really tasty.

Being two young females, the male staff were always extremely helpful and on hand to top us up with drinks etc. By the end of the week though, it was getting quite tedious to the point we started avoiding some of them in the restaurant! The staff from the spa and hairdressers though were lovely and even though they were trying to sell their services throughout the day on the beach, they always came over for a friendly chat. They were lovely.

We decided to book an excursion through our rep which was a day to Dalyan at the mud baths. The mud bath experience was fun and the trip itself was really good although it was 3hours on the coach to get there and about 4and a half back. For the length of the journey, i would not recommend doing this excursion.

Unfortunately, i cannot say much about Gumbet as we didn't venture out on an evening as we took advantage of the all inclusive drinks i the hotel. We did go into Bodrum one day though. The Dolmus (bus) is 2.50 lira and i would recommend it, quite an experience. We got some bargains but you have to be prepared to haggle with them.

Prior to us coming to Turkey, we changed all of our currency into Lira. The Turkish love the british pound though so if i went again, i would take half and half.

To sum up, the hotel was great. So much so, we didn't veer far from it. Turkey is a beautiful place and i would definitely go back to explore the island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regina214Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    376
    235
    95
    77
See reviews for
391
568
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

i went to the royal asarlik recommended by friends for 2 weeks and was the worst holiday expreience i have ever been on. I arrived early tuesday morning and put into a different hotel for 2 nights due to the hotel overbooking along with 5 other couples. Which was appauling, a 2 star self catering the gunay hotel.
The management was rude and didnt understand a word of english. the food was poor and the same thing everyday. the cold food was warm and the hot food was cold. in the two weeks i stayed there i was never offered a drink by the waiters of bar staff and always had to get my own cuttlery.
due the rooms being overbooked i was given a free safe and a late check out. WOW not.
I was told by thomas cook rep I could stay in the room till my coash arrived (11.45pm) but at 7pm i was told to vacate the room now and rudely told my mangement to hurry up as they need the room.
On one of my last days i was sun bathing on the asarlik beach area and had the umbrella removed from above me, because the needed the room to set tables for the restaurant (which you had to pay for).
Every hour of every day you were hassled to buy excusrions or pay for a haircut of pay to use the spa etc and could not relax.

To anyone who wants a good holiday do NOT go to the royal asarlik.

JAMES

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stonej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was our third stay at The Ryal Asarlik Beach and we will remember it forever
Last year we got engaged while staying here and this year it was for our Honeymoon
The staff are amazing and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. They are so thoughtful and considering the amount of guests they have through the hotel each year they always remember people who return. They don't get paid enough for the work they do and the long hours they work but no-one there is ever sullen, they all smile which makes the holiday better. (you don't have to tip but it can mean the world to a lot of them to know the work they do is appreciated) - they love english chocolate, especially galaxy, and then they will remember you for life!!
The guest relations team will answer every query and should you have a complaint then it is dealt in a quick and satisfactory manner - nothing is too much trouble for Arzu, Nazlihan and Ece, and their English is good and always improving

The food is plentiful and of a high standard - loads of salad and forget the diet eat the bread!!
There are plenty of sunbeds around the two pools and on the beach so there is rarely a need to pre book by placing your towel in the early hours!

This hotel is fantastic for couples and singles as a suberb place to relax and chill
We will be going back and would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tregiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

This has to be one of the best all inclusive hotels me & my husband have stayed at, usually when we have been all incl elsewhere there has only been one bar in the hotel, with long ques, but this hotel is great as it offers several bars, one on the rooftop restaurant, lobby bar, beachfront bar which is open 24hrs, and there is a bar at each of the pool areas. Also, you have your main restaurant on the rooftop, which is lovely and great scenary, and the food is lovely with plenty to choose from, and my husband is a really fussy eater, but he enjoyed the food, there is also 3 a'la carte restaurants, turkish, fish & chinese, we only tried the turkish, but it was very good. Also, by the relax pool during the day they have food on the go here all day, so if you can't be bothered going to rooftop restaurant for lunch there is always something here, but it is the same food everyday, if you want a different variety then your best going to rooftop. We had a standard room, which was lovely and spacious, but on our 1st night we were on 5th floor, but we asked to be moved next morning as the restaurant is directly above and you are woken really early in morning with the noise of tables and chairs been moved etc, it would really do your head in if you had to hear that every morning. This hotel is very clean, you see staff at all hours of day & night cleaning everywhere. I really have no bad comments to make about this hotel, as staff are very pleasant, we particularly enjoyed our evenings at the rooftop bar, which is ran by Haran, a really nice guy and he's quite amusing, also Fevsi & Ozhugan (guy with short legs) really friendly and extremely hard working, also a lot of people had reviews on saying drink is watered down , but I certainly don't think that this is the case here, as you see them opening new bottles of vodka etc in front of you and changing the barrels, maybe their brands are just a bit weaker than ours. The only thing I would suggest to hotel is that it is a shame when they have some really good entertainment on in the evenings at the rooftop restauarnt ie Turkish Night, and the entertainment starts at about 8.30pm, they should have kids mini disco at this time and then put on entertainment a bit later, as people still having their meals as served until 9.30 so if you want to see a show you miss it cos you're still eating.
Anyway, would definately go back to this hotel in a minute, oh, also, if you want to go on trips don't book through your rep, as more expensive, I recommend using a guy called Dennis at Forget Me Not Travel who is directly across from main entrance of hotel, we went on a few of his trips which were excellent, no probs at all and a very good price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

on arrival at 3.30am we were made to feel so welcome within 10 minutes we were all in our rooms and what fabulous rooms they were.The sea views we had were absolutely
fantastic,This hotel as got to be the best i have ever stayed in ,from cleanliness,friendliness and location.The selection of food you would not believe,even my 18 month old grandaughter had no problems the staff made sure she had something to her liking at every meal they were all fantastic,i would recommend the royal asarlik beach to anyone the only regret was i only had one week their,but will be returning in august cant wait 100% satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruskinsNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

There are some very negative, pretentious and hard to please nit pickers on here whose reviews are really very unfair to the Royal Arsalik (pronounced Azaarlik). This is a very classy, upscale and friendly Turkish hotel that well deserves its five star rating. The place is generally clean and tidy, the staff are always pleasant and it is conveniently close to the beach and bars on a quiet corner of the colourful and vibrant Gumbet cove. We stayed in the standard double room with balcony. Air conditioning was provided free and TV with British channels. The decor needed to be updated but overall the room was of a good standard and kept clean and tidy by friendly staff. Extras not included were a safe and the mini bar. The few negatives that are true are not nearly enough to spoil an utterly enjoyable experience. Ok, the food lacked a variety of meat dishes as there only tended to be one meat dish on offer during the evening meal. Further, the desserts were, in fairness, narrow in their range.....there is so much banana themed cakes anyone can consume in any one week. The bars -there are about seven of them in this sprawling hotel resort - tended to be crowded and staff sometimes struggled. I feel that staff capacity is one issue management should look into. The Royal Arsalik is extremely popular and there should be no reason why guests should sometimes feel that there are not enough staff. A case in point is the management of omelettes and fried eggs counter at breakfast. Long queues made this is a stressful experience for staff and guests alike. Overall however, this is an all inclusive hotel and the quality of drinks and food on offer we cannot fault and that’s why we highly recommend Royal Arsarlik - if you are looking for a friendly, clean and family orientated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afrikan_sunbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is the hotel that we have chosen for the 10th + time and it seems to get better with each visit. One of the main reasons it gets better is the fact that the management are interested in your feed back, constantly trying to improve and asking guests their opinion on their rooms, food etc.
Previous reviews stated that there were not enough sunbeds, the 'prime site' sunbeds were taken at 7.30am, sometimes earlier but you can,t blame the Germans this time!! its the Brits, but you're going to get that at most hotels, Anyway we never had any bother getting a pair of subeds during our 2 week stay, all you have to do is ask and someone will find them for you, the beach lads are there to help and are very friendly, take a bit of time out to have a chat with them and they will go out of their way to assist.
The bar staff are great and seem to know who is next to be served so at busy times you won't have to wait long, Half time of the England match at the marine bar took no time at all as the staff were well organised for the quantity of people wanting served.AI drinks menu is good and the beer is very cool and refreshing.
The food was always plentiful (and hot ) and we could make a good meal out of what was on offer although we do like dining out a few nights at the local steak houses and restaurants. Someone actually complained that the food on the cold buffet was ......cold!!!
Our room was cleaned every day to a very high standard, very thorough, the cleaner was very friendly and talkative.
The gardens in the ''old part'' of the hotel were well kept and watered twice a day by a team of gardeners who also were very friendly towards the guests. If you give a bit of respect you get it back.
It was nice to see Mehmet the manager back again doing his rounds, chatting to everyone and making sure all was well. The general atmosphere among the staff was much improved from last year because of this.
The Green Bar was a nice place to relax after the evening meal with plenty seats and tables for those who wanted them.
Arzu and her customer relations team can't do enough to help with any problems and are ver polite and approachable.
Can't wait to go back again in September.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel
Tropicana Beach Hotel
#1 of 98 in Gumbet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#2 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodrum Beach Resort
Bodrum Beach Resort
#8 of 98 in Gumbet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#6 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Property: Royal Asarlik Beach
Address: Adnan Menderes Cd., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#16 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing