We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive!!!! Don't fall for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Asarlik Beach
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Gumbet
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with other members of our family in September although we had booked separately through Thomas Cook. This hotel is rated as 5* inclusive but there is no way it should be. Having read some rather derogatory comments about the hotel we were a little sceptical but other members of our family had stayed there before and liked it so we went with an open mind. The room we had in B Block was a little "tired" in décor but adequate, quiet and with a lovely sea view. The food in the main restaurant was good in the main with plenty of choice although if the weather turns bad, as it did whilst we were there, be warned, there is very little in the way of inside eating area. The four specialist restaurants were very disappointing though. These are billed as "Al la Carte" and you are only allowed to eat at each of them once during your stay and have to book early in the morning of the day you wish to eat and there were only 2 of the 4 operating on any one day. We had expected them to be "special" and a cut above the buffet restaurant but in our opinion that was far from the fact. The only al la carte items were for the main course where there were 3 options with the other courses all just being one set item. The standard of food was not as good in most cases as in the main restaurant and in the main it was cold when it reached us. Sadly not the dining experience we were hoping for. Our main complaint though was the fact that all of the spirits were watered down to such an extent it was like drinking a watered down mixer. Neither of us are big drinkers but I had been hoping for a gin and tonic in the evening before dinner and a maybe a whisky or brandy or cocktail after. We tried every bar and every type to establish if it was just a one off.....most definitely not. Our family and friends assured us this had not been the case on their previous visits. We expected local brands but even they are the statutory 40% proof or thereabouts. The only alcoholic beverage that was drinkable was the lager. The wine served was pretty dreadful as well so we ended up drinking water most evenings, whether intentionally or not! We complained to the rep who basically did nothing and certainly didn't feed it back to Thomas Cook as we found out when we sent a letter of complaint. It was only on our last night that apparently things changed in one bar when a guest became very vocal to the manager and the vodka suddenly became full strength in that one bar. The management apparently blamed the bar staff but that degree of dilution throughout the hotel cannot happen without collusion from a higher authority. Thomas Cook have been no better as the offer of compensation has been derisory and they have constantly ignored correspondence. This was the first package holiday we have taken in over a decade as we generally book independently. It will certainly be the last.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TopCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here with the family, booked through Thomas Cook, when we arrived we are told that our rooms had been doubled booked, something the hotel do in case familys dont show up, and we had to spend the night in a hotel opposite this one, which wasnt even fully built. When we arrived back the next day we were placed in rooms at the arsalik, the staff are rude and avery unhelpful. As compensation they offered us a free massages in the spa.

The spa to be fair is nice especially the pool.

The beach is nice and the pool, the beach is about a 5 min walk, situated behind the hotel.

Bodrum its self was nice and a bus service which you hale and ride goes into town and to a shopping centre, this service was good

Not sure whether we plan to return anytime soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitch r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Booked through First Choice and advertised as 5 Star this resort was filthy, the staff were surly and the food was laced with pieces of jagged metal. The place was infested with ants and roaches, there were blood stains on the sheets and the room didn't feel like it had been cleaned since the last guests had stayed there. We eventually resorted to buying cleaning products and cleaning the room ourself because it just didn't get done. When we complained to First Choice they refused to do anything about it. We went to investigate other 5 star hotels in the region to see if the standard was any better and there were some really lovely hotels around Bodrum for similar prices, so the area is certainly capable of producing better.

If First Choice had pitched it as a 2/3 star hotel then it wouldn't have been such a shock, and we're not above roughing it if that's what we signed up for. I used to be a travel journalist so have seen my fair share of hotels of all standards. But when the First Choice rep herself actually admitted that the hotel was not up to scratch and was being dropped next year we felt rather cheated. The gardens of the hotel were really beautiful and very well maintained which is worth mentioning.

Bodrum itself is lovely and the Turkish people are so great, so we were able to make the best of it, but it meant spending much of our time out of the hotel and we were hoping for a very relaxed stay. Gumbet isn't a great area so we had to travel daily.

We'll never book a package deal again and wouldn't touch First Choice with a giant cockroach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 136Sara_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for the 2nd time last month and again we thoroughly enjoyed it, the staff are pleasant room clean and lovely sea view, i am a very fussy eater so didnt find the food great but there was always something for me even if it was chips/pasta or salad but it was so cheap to eat out we did a few night which was lovely. The location of the hotel is spot on with its own private beach this means you dont have to go to the more crowded public beach. We also did 2 boats trips and the turkish bath which i would highly recommend. Roll on next year as met some awesome turkish people also and cant wait to go bacvk to see them!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel looked nice on outside,but was very poor inside.Hotel does not allow for any bad weather as not enough seating in reception for high volume of Holiday makers to socialise when weather poor.Rooms were in need of up dating,and in my view a 3 star,as the little things mean so much when presenting a Hotel.Very unsuitable for any persons with any Disability as my wife had to use a walking stick as pathways very dangerous,when walking outside.For a 4 star hotel i expect the fridges to be re plenished on a daily basis with all types of drinks,instead of only water every 3 days.I would like to see the restaurant more undercover as had long wait to get any seat inside due to bad weather.However the staff were very pleasant.In my view this Hotel has enough rooms,but not enough space for amount of people that can be allocated to each room.I also think there should be shower cubicles in bathrooms,instead of showers in baths as my wife had problems with baths getting in/out due to her illness.I would not go back there again.

Room Tip: Only go in summer months not later than mid Septmber due to taking chance due to Weather,as not enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

stayed here 26th sep 2 weeks lovely view from our hotel room over looking the sea and pool, rooms cleaned everyday towels given for the beach everyday food abit repetitive but always something there to eat breakfast was great there local beer was claggie on the mouth but if u like shorts u were ok entertainment was a bit like a butlins camp !!!! but staff were realy polite and friendly weather very hot

Room Tip: we booked superior sea view room !!! but moved to standard sea view room ((cheaper to book ))) which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christony50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the royal asaralik for 2 weeks in October!

When we arrived we where shown to our room where the balcony window wasn't even fitted to the door they had shoved paper between the window and door frame to keep it in place! so we asked to move and we wer then moved to a bigger room!

We wer slightly dissapointed that because it was the last 2 weeks the hotel is open for the season things went down hill everyday the food became less and less there was no entertainment in the daytime and some evening they didn't do entertainment either!

The drinks wer also watered down my boyfriend drank a shot of vodka and said it was deffintly watered down!

On the other hand there wer some lovely staff that worked in the hotel especially goekannn he always made us feel welcome! The hotel is in a great location by bars and shops! The weather was great and both the pool areas wer great! The spa is also very good we had a Turkish bath and bronzing massage which was lovely!

It's just a shame they started packing things away and slacking the last week it was dissapointing as I had paid for all inclusive for 2 weeks and there was no ice cream in the second week and the food wasn't great!

If I was to return to bodrum again I would stay somewhere else and go in peak season as it was very quiet!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Staceyleighhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumbet
0.1 mi away
Luvi Hotel
Luvi Hotel
#19 of 101 in Gumbet
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#24 of 101 in Gumbet
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
Royal Arena Resort & Spa
#68 of 101 in Gumbet
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magnific Hotel
Magnific Hotel
#4 of 101 in Gumbet
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#8 of 98 in Bodrum City
1,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asarlik Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asarlik Beach

Address: Adnan Menderes Cd., Gumbet 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumbet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gumbet
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gumbet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gumbet
#16 Family Hotel in Gumbet
Price Range: $66 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Asarlik Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of " away from noise but close to the fun " it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. Royal Asarlik Beach is a modern built seaside hotel overlooking Gumbet Beach, 3 km away from Bodrum city center and 35 km away from airport. With the belief of "away from noise but close to the fun" it is waiting to fulfill the guests' holiday expectations. 7 Days a week the animation team will liven up the guests' holiday with daytime activities, shows, competitions, sketches and special themed show night. 4-12 Aged mini club is waiting their children. Water sport possibility on the beach. The guests will definitely find something fitting to their enjoy. In a 6 story main building there are 353 rooms. Modern and classic style decorated rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe box, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Asarlik Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asarlik Beach Gumbet
Asarlik Beach Hotel
Royal Asarlik Beach Hotel Gumbet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing