We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bar in Gumbet!”

The Outback Aussie & Surf Bar
Ranked #29 of 83 Restaurants in Gumbet
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
london
1 review
“Best bar in Gumbet!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was on holiday in August and went to outback every night! The bar is aussie themed and has a really relaxed atmosphere, the staff are all really friendly, but don't hassle you to come in or pester you. As a group of girls we found this was the only place where we weren't getting hassled, the staff are all really genuine and a lot of the holiday reps drink here, which is a good sign :) Also the only bar where they sell real jaeger bombs! We had some dodgy ones down bar street...We also booked a boat trip through the bar which was one of the best days of our holiday, and ate a few times upstairs in the restaurant as well, we loved the chilli con carne!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    18
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Outback is the one!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Every night during my 2 weeks stay in Gumbet I went to Outback, it is the best place to chill, off the bar street, no hassle, friendly staff, the only place with rock and indie music. Cocktails are nice and in good price. Would definitely recommend to everybody!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EwelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bit of the norm”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If y want to get away from the loud clubs on bar street then the Outback is perfect, quiet and plays indie music and you can get a cheaper pint there than the clubs

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaxx_n_m8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outback”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went to Outback after spending the day on a boat trip which is owned by the same person. There was nobody hassling or annoying you to go in and all the staff were friendly and laidback. The food was great, although obviously not Turkish being an Australian themed restaurant. We had a set meal deal which worked out better value for money. The prawn cocktail starter was OK but I've had better, however the blooming onion looked great and could easily be shared! The atmosphere here made a change from the rest of Gumbet with different music being played, which made a nice change from having to listen to the same rubbish all week. The view from upstairs wasn't too bad as you could see all of bar street plus the other side of the bay from which we were staying.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great location, nice cocktails and good music !
Food as good, a sort of TGI fridays feel to it. Would definately recommend to all the party people in Gumbet

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14princess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Outback Aussie & Surf Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Outback Aussie & Surf Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing