We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place!”
Review of Jack's Place

Jack's Place
Ranked #17 of 85 Restaurants in Gumbet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had heard a lot of good things about Jack's place before we arrived and soon found out why. For a start, the restaurant is not too close to the noisiest part of town so you can have a conversation and the atmosphere's nice.Jack himself and the waiters were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our time there something to remember. Service is quick and efficient, but they still have plenty of time for all their guests. You can sit inside or out. Like all the restaurants in Gümbet the menu has to include typical English food (which we didn't try), but the Turkish specialities we tried were really, really good, piping hot full of flavour. Marvellous cold dishes and appetisers, too.Hard to say what was best, but if you like a bit of a show then the stew cooked in an amphora is a "must-have". Our only complaint is that we didn't have time to eat our way through all the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    60
    18
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

service was spot on and the food was tasty, if you want to experience some turkish food you should go here, we only went once but we planed to re-visit but ran out of time

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank d666g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Turkey!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

So me and my friend went to Gumbet for a weeks get away. This restaurant was the best place to eat by a mile! Not only was the food amazing but the staff are just soooo lovely! Typical turkish food is available all around Gumbet but it is very bland and boring. this place was completely different! On our last day of our holiday we had a large drive to Izmir Airport ahead of us. The restaurant manager let us use his ipad, gave us water for our trip and even drew a map to show us our route. He was just so genuinely considerate and couldn't do enough for us! Would 100% recommend! If you dont go you really are missing out!

Linzi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Linziloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we have just returned from our 2 week holiday in gumbet... we have been to Jack's many times before and are never let down by the quality of food or the friendly service.. its a must

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank gem1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best meal in gumbet”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we holidayed in september 2011 and 2012. tried a few restaurants but found the best by far was jacks place. food excellent, service 2nd to none, and all the staff very friendly. great value for money. hope to go back in future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek-SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Place also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing