We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hotel open year round”
Review of Divan Bodrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divan Bodrum
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Golturkbuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The Divan Bodrum is a wonderful boutique hotel a short bus ride from Bodrum center. The rooms are lovely as is the pool and garden. The restaurant shuns the buffet concept to provide more personalized dining experiences. We enjoyed the quiet ambiance of low season especially walking along the beach and heading into Bodrum to visit the castle and wander the streets. I think the coast of Turkey in the off-season is an undiscovered treasure. The Divan is one of the hotels that remains open year round. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Divan Bodrum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

Divan is supposed to be associated with a high end operation from A to Z. This hotel can be considered OVERALL OVERPRICED and be not worthy for the amenities offered:
Pluses: Smiley and friendly, eager to serve staff.
Minuses: Minimalistic rooms, uncomfortable beds that could belong to a 2 star hotel, outdated room decor, UNJUSTIFIABLY OVERPRICED drinks, food and other service items, absolute lack of any effort to make guests feel that they are in an "exclusive resort", outdated, seedy, unkept SPA and workout area, the later with almost no weights, stinchy breakfast with quite unhealthy food selections, the food, in general, is VERY mediocre to inferior in preparation and, of course, overpriced for what it is. There must be better choices!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Firstly, the good points:

1. Beautiful looking hotel & classy resort
2. Excellent accommodation
3. Fantastic housekeeping
4. Great breakfast service only

It’s a Turkish resort, classy with a picturesque marina. Nice sea-front restaurants & bars with friendly staff there - check out - Paradisio run by a lovely French lady for great mojitos & snacks - and not a football shirt or pint of Boddingtons in sight! It’s touted as the 'new San Tropez'.

Unfortunately, now the bad points:

1. IT IS EXPENSIVE! Yes, yes it’s a boutique hotel, but they wanted to charge £8 for a small beer. Our advice is to turn right when leaving the rear entrance of the hotel facing the marina, for cheaper fare the further you go (whilst avoiding the 'Euro Trash' crowd). If you wish to drink at the bars to the left of the Palmira, be prepared to be severely fleeced.

2. The Divan Palmira itself. Firstly the staff.
Although on the surface there are some well intentioned gestures, there seems to be a lack of clear information on how to administer basic procedures e.g.

The staff did not seem inclined to (basic) problem solve - or step outside of the job remit. Acceptable in a 3 star but 5 star? no way. (and I’ve stayed in many 5 stars)

Not being initially informed by reception that taxi transfers are added to the room bill and not settled with the driver - we were told that our excursion into Bodrum would be set at 60 lira, the taxi turned up, and we paid the driver on arrival. Then on checking out they told us that the fare was charged to the room! Thanks for informing is folks! Then not acknowledging the misunderstanding by arguing. At least from our side we acted professionally.

Confusion from staff as to how pool-side refreshments are paid for. Complicated process obviously.

Lack of general attentiveness from pool-side staff - who seem entirely focused on serving Turkish families who provide 50 lira tips - the rest of us who fancy the occasional cappuccino were clearly not consuming enough to warrant an attentive service! One girl actually ran past when I tried to attract her attention for a coffee, nice. A couple of other times, we were ignored completely.

Staff bless them seemed fazed by simplest enquiries like 'is there a local bus service' & 'can we get a taxi to Bodrum?' Confusing, I know.

To cap it all off, there was a guy at the hotel with a swastika tattooed to his wrist. Magic.
Overall summery great weather, lovely food and drink in the marina, rubbish hotel staff and service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OversizeShades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed for a week from 11th May, just before the official season began, so the hotel was very quiet. There were 2 other English couples staying at that time. The hotel was first class, we had no complaints whatsoever. We realised it would be expensive to eat there as it's where the Turkish celebrities hang out, so we ate out at the restaurants along the sea front. During the time we went, it was a very quiet resort and not a lot to do other than bathe and have a walk to the bars, restaurants nearby (but that's the holiday we wanted). We did however, take the "Dolmus" (bus) into Bodrum and the drive there was about 30 minutes and approx £1.50 with amazing sea views along the way. Once in Bodrum bus station you could get other buses to various resorts to sight-see. Everywhere we went we were greeted by friendly Turkish people. At the bazaars they were not pushy at all, but really friendly. The food everywhere was really delicious and cheap away from the hotel. The breakfasts in the hotel were excellent and we did not bother to eat again until evening, as we didn't feel hungry. There was music playing round the bar at lunchtime, but it was not too loud and we were usually away from the hotel at that time anyway. It was a really quaint hotel with lot of water features, cobbles, and nooks and crannies. The staff were able to speak English and were so helpful and attentive. A fantastic holiday and we're glad we went before the season officially started.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MitziMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Divan Bodrum Palmira is part of a turkish hotel chain, Divan Hotels. Divan Hotels (and restaurants) are renowned for their excellent service and quality in Turkey, as close as you can get to the international standards. However, travellers must be aware that this comes with a price. Expect to pay almost 3 times on average for everything you consume in the hotel, ie a bottle of beer costs on average 10YTL (£2-3) elsewhere, you pay £5 in hotel. Considering the hotel runs on a bed+breakfast basis, you need to pay for all you consume on the hotel premises. But there are lots of other options in walking distance along the shore, so if you think the prices are too high, it is not a problem to take a stroll along the coast and pick a better suited place for you. This hotel is mostly catering for upmarket Istanbul families and turkish celebrities, tourists are very rare. There will be families and small children in the hotel. The same applies to the area in general.

Location: The location of the hotel is at the sea front, in the "posh" side of Golturkbuku village, north coast of the Bodrum peninsula. But please note that there isn't a beach as such. Instead Bodrum is known for their "Beach Clubs". The hotels and/or the restaurants along the coastline have their large jetties on the sea that double as sundecks during the day and restaurants/clubs during the evening. The guests are provided with a good service (towels, lounges, parasols, food-drinks) while soaking up the sun. The hotel is along the line of such other hotels and clubs in the middle of the village. Expect a lot of noise during the day and into the small hours of the night.

Weather: Bodrum is known for its dry heat, not like south med region of the country. The humidity is relatively low. But expect soaring heat (35-43 Cels) during July-August. The wind picks up around lunch time and provides a much needed cool-down throughout the afternoon.

Rooms: Not so large rooms, but well equipped. Not cutting edge designer stuff, but good and functional. Room Service is available and excellent housekeeping services.

Food: Should you wish to have your lunch/dinner at the hotel, the hotel serves very good international and Mediterranean food. Turkey's first female executive chef serves the customers top standard fine food. Also very large selection of bistro type food.

Pool: One of the best pools in the area. Pool management is excellent, the staff takes care of you all day, from your arrival to the poolside, they make your sun lounges and parasols ready, provide you with towels; you don't even need to move a finger. Although not expected, tipping the pool stuff can make such difference (like your favourite spot reserved for you during crowded times, larger parasoles, etc)

The hotel also has a tennis court, a beach bar.

All in all, the verdict is that this is a fine hotel, but the traveller must be aware of the location, the beach club setting and the expenses. It can get boring for more than 4-5 days. It is mainly a place to rest and do nothing all day and have a good meal and relax over the evening. Although there are nice bars and clubs next to the hotel, I found the music very repetitive and boring; and the clientele is there to see and be seen rather than have fun.

If you chose this hotel, I strongly encourage you to take a walk towards the village along the coast, simple follow the promenada (no cars allowed) and venture out to see the rest of the village. It is a nice little holiday town, hassle-free and relaxed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

The Palmira is a beautiful hotel set in lovely gardens and the service is second to none. Unfortunately the music kicks off at the pool at lunch time and is deafening. We asked for it to be turned down but they usually turned it even higher. Such a shame as I would have liked to have gone back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula1cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in May/June 2006.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on Turkbuku bay. The bedrooms are large,clean and modern and the hotel has a fantastic pool and very good restuarant on the beach the quality and presentation of meals is excellent,there is also a fantastic bathing platform out to sea.Staff are very efficient and have high standards of customer care.

Most guests were Turkish with a small number of UK and other European guests present when we were there.the resort is not well known outside of turkey nor widely publicised by travel agents in UK The resort attracts many wealthy visitors from Istanbul and is known locally as little Istanbul! it has a very upmarket feel

The bay - which is very scenic - has restuarants and bars all the way along the shoreline and most have tables on the decks over the sea.

The hotel and resort in general charge prices well in excess of those elsewhere in Turkey. For example a small beer at the hotel costs £4-5 and a gordns gin and tonic £9 whereas it is a quarter of the price in Bodrum town. However you are paying for the setting and as long as you dont expect eating out and drinks to be as cheap as they are elsewhere then this will not in any way detract from your enjoyment.

Overall we could not fault the hotel or its setting and would recommend it to anyone wanting a laid back holiday but would not recommend going during July and August as we understand the resort is extremely busy during this time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank gpd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golturkbuku
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
#3 of 19 in Golturkbuku
241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Kuum Hotel & Spa
Kuum Hotel & Spa
#5 of 19 in Golturkbuku
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No 81 Hotel
No 81 Hotel
#11 of 19 in Golturkbuku
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel Bodrum
Panorama Hotel Bodrum
#14 of 19 in Golturkbuku
154 reviews
6.9 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Bodrum

Address: Kelesharim Caddesi No. 22, Golturkbuku 48483, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Golturkbuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Golturkbuku
#6 Luxury Hotel in Golturkbuku
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Golturkbuku
Price Range: $97 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Bodrum Hotel is an oasis of casual luxury and serious serenity, a boutique hotel in one of the most exclusive corners of paradise that was named "the Most Excellent Charming Hotel of Europe and the Mediterranean" by Conde Nast. This exceptional distinction reflects the hotel's uniquely personal approach to guest comfort and satisfaction and its flawless combination of luxury and simplicity that allows guests to both get away from it all and have it all. Luxuriate on the private boardwalk, lapped by gentle waves or relax by the pool sipping a perfectly mixed cocktail with nothing more on your mind than which of our talented chef's tempting creations to enjoy for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divan Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Bodrum Palmira Hotel Turkbuku / Golturkbuku
Divan Hotel Bodrum
Divan Bodrum Turkey/Golturkbuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing