We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'You Get what you pay for'”
Review of Small World Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Small World Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'You Get what you pay for'”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at Small World August 19 - Sep 3 2013. Been coming to Bitez for the last 11 years and for the last 6 years we have used the Small World. This hotel fills a need. Somewhere to sleep and have breakfast and then you can do your own thing. The beach is a short stroll away along with the restaurants. The rooms are adequate and the staff are always approachable. Reading the reviews we believe that the negative comments come from visitors who are expecting 3/4 star. This hotel is graded 2 on theThomas Cook website. Enough said other than you really do get what you pay for and you pay for what you get.

Room Tip: Double room may be less comfortable for sleeping but I believe there is more storage space because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A cute little hotel with only 16 rooms for adults only. A very peaceful place which is clean and the staff are very welcoming, and aim to please.
We stayed here in August, and it was lovely to find such a traquil place. Some days it was like having your own private place.
We had a twin room looking out onto the pool, which was lovely. The bathroom was small but the shower worked really well, although the water temperature does fluctuate sometimes.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the beach and all the restaurants.
The hotel has a bar and a dining area which is under cover, from which you can get food at lunch and dinner time.
The staff are friendly and have a good sense of humour, once they get to know you.
If you choose to stay here you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Most of the rooms look out onto the pool. the ones in the centre don't have a balcony area. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked a late holiday and chose this at the Travel Agents. We wanted a quiet child free (for a break) holiday to unwind. Arrived in early hours of the morning, were met at the entrance and assisted to our room. It was small with twin beds which disappointed at first but we were glad of it after the first night as we probably slept better. Very clean and friendly hotel who couldn't do enough for us when asked. Food in the hotel was excellent, breakfast simple but tasty. We ate in a couple of nights, one when we ordered a local casserole dish at lunch time. In the evening they moved a table next to the pool and served us a romantic meal.
The hotel is as described, small, quiet, friendly, clean near to the beach (3 minute walk). Beach is shingle but covered in sunbeds in front of bars that you can enjoy if you just buy a drink. The restaurant greeters wait to invite you in as you walk along the front. Felt a bit awkward at first but learned to politely decline with a smile and enjoyed a friendly exchange.
Bodrum is a 20 minute Dolmus drive away for about a pound and from there you can get a connecting Dolmus to anywhere locally. Plenty of places to explore and history to discover. Lots of shops did not seem particularly cheap but I am rubbish at haggling!
We went on excursions to Ephesus, Aqualand, and a dive trip all of which were excellent.
The staff and other residents at the hotel made the holiday, we met some fantastic, friendly people that we laughed and exchanged experiences with.
To sum up the name says it all, would recommend to anyone. Would add to non experienced travellers that Turkey is very hot in August. Air con in the room was a great help and shade available so just be careful and you will be fine!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLampard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here at the end of June and had a really nice holiday. When we arrived however we were given a room at the back of the hotel which was awful. It was so small there was barely room to move around. this was compounded by the fact that there was no where to store the suitcases so they were taking up room as well. The bathroom was so small that it was almost impossible to open the door and get into it. We asked to move but were told there was no other rooms available. I asked if there would be any the next day and was told there were none.

I spoke to the rep the next day and she said she would see what she could do. Five minutes later she rang and said that we could move to a room overlooking the pool. It was much larger and much better. I would usually make the best of whatever room I was allocated but the first room was so small it could barely have been used as a single

The hotel is nice but if you are used to luxury its not for you. The bedding and towels left a lot to be desired and the shower was awful to use as it soaked the bathroom and ran hot and cold.

The hotel bar shuts quite early and there were a lot of residents complaining about this. Apparently it used to stay open till the last guest left but they had some complaints and now close earlier. There are a lot of repeat customers and they were the ones complaining. It was a shame it closed early as there was no places open to have a drink later at night in Bitez. The place has an abundance of restaurant's but does lack bars.

We went into Bodrum one night and there is a very good nightlife(but much more expensive) and the dolmus runs practically all night to get home. Went into Gumbet as well one night. This is a place to be avoided unless you are into very loud overpowering music and young people getting as drunk as possible.

We had a very good holiday. It was a last minute cheap deal so it was ok. Don't know why there are so many repeat customers however as it is only average and there are so many other nice places to go in Turkey

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room in the corner at the back of the hotel and if not happy complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The brochure description of this hotel doesn't do it justice. The bedrooms are clean and nicely furnished, the air conditioning is extra but worth it in July! It adequately handled temperatures of 45C+. There are only 16 rooms, no children under 16, and is not surrounded by other hotels and is therefore peacefull.The pool is more than adequate for the size of the hotel and is sparkling clear. The breakfast is 'Turkish' cold meats, cheese & salad but an English breakfast is available as an extra. Meals are available throughout the day and evening all freshly cooked and if you give 2-3 hours notice then the slow cooked lamb casserole is 'to die for'. All the staff are so friendly and they can't do enough for you, within a couple of days you are all on first name terms. I am 69 and my son is 16 and we both found the hotel and facilities perfect for our needs, it was our first time in Turkey and my son is just as anxious to return to Small World as I am. The Thomas Cook rep, Kirstie, was helpful, friendly, informative but not 'pushy'. Should you want the beach, shops, nightlife then they are a 10 minute stroll away and Bodrum a 40 minute dolmus ride away. The staff - Murat, Halil, Sultan, Sevilay and Sadiye could not have been better, they were perfect! Also have a word with Murat, he can get you a good deal on a Turkish Bath, definitley an experience not to be missed!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, then upper floors can be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alansnifferclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel between the 7-21 of June....Overall an excellent experience....short of a kettle in the room and maybe a mini fridge but apart from this the hotel was fine clean and well maintained grounds....very secluded location about 170 metres from main drag makes for a very peacefull relaxing poolside experience prices at the small but more than adequate bar reflected local prices.....Breakfast basic but ok snack and meal menu again adequate and competitvley priced.....Enjoyed my stay here and met some fab people shout out to the Guv and Ding at this point lol......Sort of understand some of the poorer reviews on here regarding certain charachter traits displayed by certain staff but personally did not experience this......Clicky hmmm could be i suppose but thats down to the guests and no fault of hotel the other guests on my visit inc many returning for upto the 3rd time were great and not clicky at all....Murhat runs the place well and i would definately consider a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellercol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first holiday in Bitez and I was so pleased that we booked Small World. It is only about 200 yards to the promenade and beach. The family are helpful and friendly,the hotel is clean and comfortable.The bus to Bodrum stops about 100 yards from the hotel.Wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same. Ones with a pool view are probably best. There are only 16 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.9 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Bitez Garden Life
0.1 mi away
Yali Han Hotel
Yali Han Hotel
#11 of 40 in Bitez
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small World Hotel

Property: Small World Hotel
Address: Haci Ahmetler Mevikii Kizilagac Sok. 13 | Yalisi, Bitez 48410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
Hotel Class:2 star — Small World Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel Small World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing