We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great people, great holiday!”
Review of Small World Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Small World Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great people, great holiday!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I’m sat here at work wishing I was sat at the bar in Bitez!

The perfect blend of hotel, staff and guests really went together beautifully to make this the most enjoyable holiday my partner and I have had.

Our room was not large, but was clean and comfortable, with a daily visit from the maid and well ventilated so the temperature was bearable when returning from a day on the beach. Being Scottish I find walk-in freezers a little on the warm side, but the air-conditioning worked a treat and wasn’t overly noisy when left on overnight.
The bar, usually manned by the hotel manager Murat (apologies if that’s misspelled!) is ideal for the size of the hotel, and priced inline with the rest of the Bitez. We arrived from a damp and dismal UK at about 8pm to be greeted by a great group of the hotel guests having a drink before dinner. Everyone said hello and made us feel immediately welcome.

Because of the small size of the hotel you see all of the other guests with such regularity, on the beach, at the restaurants, even waving as we passed each other on separate Jeep Safaris that you cannot help but become friends! Or perhaps we were just lucky! Either way, we twice ended up going to the nearby Yali Meyhanesi as a group of about 16 and enjoying a great night of Turkish food and Irish songs!

The beach is a three minute walk away. All of the sun-beds are free but you’re expected to use the connected restaurant’s facilities, which is a fair trade. We stayed in the Regal hotel’s area and their waiting service was absolutely fine; almost always available but not overbearing.

Overall, I cannot recommend Small World, and Bitez enough. If you are looking for a relaxing, summer holiday this is the place.

Thank you Small World, and the fantastic bunch of people we met. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karlit0__Burrit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
96
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I returned home on 15th august after a 2 week holiday, my husband was a little unsure about going to turkey but he as well as myself had an amazing time, small world is in a brilliant location, 2 min walk to the beach and all the great restaurants, the room was fine with plenty of storage space which is something that you don't often find, rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and the very helpful, friendly staff were constantly cleaning the pool area and surroundings, all the other guests were very welcoming towards us and it really was like being away with family. It's not very often that we go away and think to ourselves we would like to come back here next year but that is defiantly how we feel about this place, at times it was so lovely and quiet around the pool it felt that you were in your own villa. So if you are looking for a nice quiet, friendly hotel in a great location do not hesitate to book! Ruth & Dean xx

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ruth1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

What can I say. After a horrid year this was a much needed holiday and I can only say it was exactly what we wanted. The hotel was clean, the room spotless. The people we met are hopefully friends for life, I would like to thank everyone for makeing it such a lovely holiday. We also came home and booked for next year. We ate in the hotel everyday at lunch time, the food was good and reasonable.
if you visit ,there are plenty of places to eat. You must try the following, Yali's, this restaurant is 2 mins walk, we celebrated our 30th Anniversary there. Dilek could not do enough for us , there were 16 of us , she put music on and stayed open until we had had enough.
Her husband sells boat trips near the cashpoints on the beach, book through him, he then returns later and we sat up drinking and singing with him.
There is a restaurant called Narcicegi , it is not along the beach front, it is by the taxi rank. Try the chicken tornadeo and chicken tortilla's (delicious)
Other restaurants to try, Almera,Pagoda and of course the temple bar.
The hotel has its own boat, you need some-one to organise a trip, it holds 12 people and supplies a delicious lunch.
As you can guess we had a great time and hope if you read this you will to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendysteveyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the great reviews both here and elsewhere, and we were not disappointed. Over many years we've stayed at hotels in Greece, the Greek Islands, Turkey, Sri-Lanka and Thailand, so we have quite a wide experience. The Small World was everything we looked for in such a place. It was spotlessly clean, had a lovely pool and sunbed area, the restaurant was basic but very good for snack-type meals, and the staff, from Murat downwards were polite, very hard-working and all of them, right down to the hotel pooch, had a helpful and cheerful attitude towards all of the guests. It was a pleasure looking out of our room (Room 9, probably the best in the hotel :) in the early hours of the morning to see the staff thoroughly cleaning the pool and the pool area, and continuing to do so all day.
We arrived at around 3am, to be greeted by the lad who seems to be able to do anything asked of him. When late/early guests arrive he sleeps outside by the pool, so is immediately available.
Our first morning proved to be a foretaste of just why the Small World is so highly recommended. Coming downstairs for breakfast we were greeted by cheerful "good-mornings" from the people already there, and were pointed in the direction of the buffet breakfast, which was a typical Turkish one with a chice of boiled eggs, two kinds of olives, lovely ripe tomatoes, Feta and yellow cheeses, cucumber, cake and fresh melon, either the golden or the water variety. Lovely fresh bread, butter, jams and honey were all available, together with unlimited tea, coffee, orange juice and, for westerners, cornflakes. The milk was UHT, which I don't like so we stuck to coffee and/or black tea.
Small World seems to attract the most friendly and helpful guests... on our first morning we were warmly greeted by both the newer and the longer-resident people, and invited to the going-away party of one of the families who were leaving that night, and were, both then and subsequently made to feel as if we had been there for weeks.
Small World seems to attract all sorts, from families, couples, and those who use the hotel as a centre for exploring the area, and we found absolutely no animosity between any of the guests. We didn't feel that there were cliques there, if we wanted to join-in with any of the others we were made welcome, and those who didn't were certainly not ignored, just treated as they themselves would have liked. My experience, over many years, is that people who perceive "cliques" where they are not welcome seem to have problems socializing, which is down to themselves and not to the rest of the world.
The bar area is a happy and friendly place, Murat and the rest of the staff are attentive, and the prices charged are in line with the area prices, in some cases lower. An ice-cold Gin and Tonic, with lots of ice and slices of highly-flavoured tangerine-type fruit, was very much appreciated at the end of a hot, sticky day, and at just 8 Turkish Lira, was, by UK standards, a bargain.
When we left we were bid farewell by the Murat and the rest of the staff, and by many of the guests, both new and old, who had in some cases delayed going out for the night just to say farewell.
To sum up, a lovely, friendly happy hotel, which we would have no qualms about re-visiting

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room overlooking the Pool area, the through-brezzes keep it cool (by Turkish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TheBoomerangLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here, we had mixed feelings about our holiday. But we need not have worried . . . it was absolutely brilliant!
It's hard to know exactly where to start, but here goes. . . . the rooms were more than adequate, they were maintained regularly. The pool/bar/restaurant areas were cleaned continually during the day. I'm an early riser and the pool and surround were cleaned from 5.30am every day!
Murat et al are so friendly and will help in anyway that they can (but remember they are not mind readers, so if you need something just ask!) We can recommend eating in the restaurant, I know people like to go out in the evening like we did. But we had a day trip out on a boat, I had arranged with Murat the night before for the cook to do a chicken casserole and a lamb casserole with mash potatoe and veg and it was superb!
As for the comments about guests being 'clicky' well that couldnt be further from the truth. On arrival at the Small World we were not sure of the welcome we would receive, but again, no worries there . . . the guests made us so welcome and invited us out to share a celebration for Wendy and Steve's 30th wedding anniversary. A group of 16 from the hotel went to the Yali restaurant (which is just 50 yds from the hotel) and the owner thought we had all been friends for years we got on so well! You must give Yali a visit, the lady who will greet you is the most friendly of people, and a great host. You will be in for a surprise when she speaks!
So on our return yesterday, our first stop was Thomas Cook to book for next year!
All the best, Martyn, Karen, Katie & Becci xxx

Room Tip: Air con is extra, some people who had rooms at the back of the hotel said they didnt need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Martyn_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I landed back in rainy London early hours of this morning after two weeks in sunny Turkey. My mum has been to Small World hotel twice before and said it was amazing and I must go. So we all booked to go there my mum, her partner and my partner. The coach pulled up outside the hotel and as soon as we walked in it looked just as amazing as it did in the photos, the pool was lit up and Murat was there waiting to meet and greet us.
I read some reviews previously before we went and see that some people were not happy. I can safely say this hotel is so friendly and that poor cleaner was cleaning every room every day in that heat. The bed was always made and there were always fresh towels in the room. The rooms are basic but homely.
Breakfast was included and was traditional Turkist breakfast which was fresh bread, eggs, melon, tomatoes (they have the best tomatoes) olives, cornflakes and fresh orange juice.
There are loads of places to eat the hotel does and amazing tuna salad there are also places on the beach which is 5 mins away where you can get a varity of food. Don't be afraid to try some of the resteraunts on the main roads they are just as great and are cheaper in price. I would highly recommend Yali the lady who owns it is amazing and we had some great nights there and also there is a place near the cab office which does great meals and also has friendly staff.
As for the staff in the hotel they are friendly and are happy to help whenever you need it. We had great fun with Murat and was shocked to see a complaint about him previously,If you get to read this Murat we miss you already and keep up the good work i'l be back next year. There was also mention that this hotel was up for sale which is rubbish, the owners are amazing people who make the effort to speak to you and also make sure the hotel is clean and tidy.
So please please book this hotel you won't regret it and I can't wait to back next year. Missing you all already lots of love Rebecca, Billy, Julie and Terry South London xxx

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Have only been here 3 days.... But I had to find somewhere to write on here... After reading the previous bad reviews we wernt quite sure what to expect .... But all I can say is it's BEAUTIFUL!!! The hotel is lovely, the rooms are A good size and cleaned daily, Murat can't do enough for u..... Got in late last night with my friend he was just leaving .... He bought us both a beer and food before we knew it .... It's 4 am!! He is such a friendly and genuine guy!! everyone at the hotel are so helpful ... I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a peaceful , relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings then this is defiantly the place to go :) x

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ktfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.4 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
0.9 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bitez
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bitez
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Bitez Garden Life
0.2 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small World Hotel

Property: Small World Hotel
Address: Haci Ahmetler Mevikii Kizilagac Sok. 13 | Yalisi, Bitez 48410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
Hotel Class:2 star — Small World Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel Small World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing