We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel with a huge heart”
Review of Small World Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Small World Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the great reviews both here and elsewhere, and we were not disappointed. Over many years we've stayed at hotels in Greece, the Greek Islands, Turkey, Sri-Lanka and Thailand, so we have quite a wide experience. The Small World was everything we looked for in such a place. It was spotlessly clean, had a lovely pool and sunbed area, the restaurant was basic but very good for snack-type meals, and the staff, from Murat downwards were polite, very hard-working and all of them, right down to the hotel pooch, had a helpful and cheerful attitude towards all of the guests. It was a pleasure looking out of our room (Room 9, probably the best in the hotel :) in the early hours of the morning to see the staff thoroughly cleaning the pool and the pool area, and continuing to do so all day.
We arrived at around 3am, to be greeted by the lad who seems to be able to do anything asked of him. When late/early guests arrive he sleeps outside by the pool, so is immediately available.
Our first morning proved to be a foretaste of just why the Small World is so highly recommended. Coming downstairs for breakfast we were greeted by cheerful "good-mornings" from the people already there, and were pointed in the direction of the buffet breakfast, which was a typical Turkish one with a chice of boiled eggs, two kinds of olives, lovely ripe tomatoes, Feta and yellow cheeses, cucumber, cake and fresh melon, either the golden or the water variety. Lovely fresh bread, butter, jams and honey were all available, together with unlimited tea, coffee, orange juice and, for westerners, cornflakes. The milk was UHT, which I don't like so we stuck to coffee and/or black tea.
Small World seems to attract the most friendly and helpful guests... on our first morning we were warmly greeted by both the newer and the longer-resident people, and invited to the going-away party of one of the families who were leaving that night, and were, both then and subsequently made to feel as if we had been there for weeks.
Small World seems to attract all sorts, from families, couples, and those who use the hotel as a centre for exploring the area, and we found absolutely no animosity between any of the guests. We didn't feel that there were cliques there, if we wanted to join-in with any of the others we were made welcome, and those who didn't were certainly not ignored, just treated as they themselves would have liked. My experience, over many years, is that people who perceive "cliques" where they are not welcome seem to have problems socializing, which is down to themselves and not to the rest of the world.
The bar area is a happy and friendly place, Murat and the rest of the staff are attentive, and the prices charged are in line with the area prices, in some cases lower. An ice-cold Gin and Tonic, with lots of ice and slices of highly-flavoured tangerine-type fruit, was very much appreciated at the end of a hot, sticky day, and at just 8 Turkish Lira, was, by UK standards, a bargain.
When we left we were bid farewell by the Murat and the rest of the staff, and by many of the guests, both new and old, who had in some cases delayed going out for the night just to say farewell.
To sum up, a lovely, friendly happy hotel, which we would have no qualms about re-visiting

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room overlooking the Pool area, the through-brezzes keep it cool (by Turkish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TheBoomerangLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here, we had mixed feelings about our holiday. But we need not have worried . . . it was absolutely brilliant!
It's hard to know exactly where to start, but here goes. . . . the rooms were more than adequate, they were maintained regularly. The pool/bar/restaurant areas were cleaned continually during the day. I'm an early riser and the pool and surround were cleaned from 5.30am every day!
Murat et al are so friendly and will help in anyway that they can (but remember they are not mind readers, so if you need something just ask!) We can recommend eating in the restaurant, I know people like to go out in the evening like we did. But we had a day trip out on a boat, I had arranged with Murat the night before for the cook to do a chicken casserole and a lamb casserole with mash potatoe and veg and it was superb!
As for the comments about guests being 'clicky' well that couldnt be further from the truth. On arrival at the Small World we were not sure of the welcome we would receive, but again, no worries there . . . the guests made us so welcome and invited us out to share a celebration for Wendy and Steve's 30th wedding anniversary. A group of 16 from the hotel went to the Yali restaurant (which is just 50 yds from the hotel) and the owner thought we had all been friends for years we got on so well! You must give Yali a visit, the lady who will greet you is the most friendly of people, and a great host. You will be in for a surprise when she speaks!
So on our return yesterday, our first stop was Thomas Cook to book for next year!
All the best, Martyn, Karen, Katie & Becci xxx

Room Tip: Air con is extra, some people who had rooms at the back of the hotel said they didnt need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Martyn_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I landed back in rainy London early hours of this morning after two weeks in sunny Turkey. My mum has been to Small World hotel twice before and said it was amazing and I must go. So we all booked to go there my mum, her partner and my partner. The coach pulled up outside the hotel and as soon as we walked in it looked just as amazing as it did in the photos, the pool was lit up and Murat was there waiting to meet and greet us.
I read some reviews previously before we went and see that some people were not happy. I can safely say this hotel is so friendly and that poor cleaner was cleaning every room every day in that heat. The bed was always made and there were always fresh towels in the room. The rooms are basic but homely.
Breakfast was included and was traditional Turkist breakfast which was fresh bread, eggs, melon, tomatoes (they have the best tomatoes) olives, cornflakes and fresh orange juice.
There are loads of places to eat the hotel does and amazing tuna salad there are also places on the beach which is 5 mins away where you can get a varity of food. Don't be afraid to try some of the resteraunts on the main roads they are just as great and are cheaper in price. I would highly recommend Yali the lady who owns it is amazing and we had some great nights there and also there is a place near the cab office which does great meals and also has friendly staff.
As for the staff in the hotel they are friendly and are happy to help whenever you need it. We had great fun with Murat and was shocked to see a complaint about him previously,If you get to read this Murat we miss you already and keep up the good work i'l be back next year. There was also mention that this hotel was up for sale which is rubbish, the owners are amazing people who make the effort to speak to you and also make sure the hotel is clean and tidy.
So please please book this hotel you won't regret it and I can't wait to back next year. Missing you all already lots of love Rebecca, Billy, Julie and Terry South London xxx

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Have only been here 3 days.... But I had to find somewhere to write on here... After reading the previous bad reviews we wernt quite sure what to expect .... But all I can say is it's BEAUTIFUL!!! The hotel is lovely, the rooms are A good size and cleaned daily, Murat can't do enough for u..... Got in late last night with my friend he was just leaving .... He bought us both a beer and food before we knew it .... It's 4 am!! He is such a friendly and genuine guy!! everyone at the hotel are so helpful ... I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a peaceful , relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings then this is defiantly the place to go :) x

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ktfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

small, quiet, lovely relaxing hotel close to beach and restaurants, easy access via dolmus/taksi to bodrum. Friendly and welcoming staff and good bar for end of the day beer. Great spot and we loved our holiday here. Hotel also does food throughout day/evening if you can't be bothered moving... the odd impromptu 'raki night' can be arranged if you can't be bothered going to bed, but not so lively that gusts are disturbed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a fantastic small hotel, clean, friendly and 2 minute walk to the beach and restaurant area. We stayed the same weeks as the rude couple that wrote the bad review.....i can not disagree with their comments enough. We are a young couple and found every person also staying at the hotel - with the exception of them - to be polite, friendly and good humoured, everyone would say hi and try to start conversation. At the end of the day why go on holiday and moan and act miserable - you can do that in England!!
This hotel and Bitez comes highly recommended by us and would return next year if we could

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank leanne082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This has to be one of the friendliest and accommodating hotels in Turkey.
I am shocked to read the negative comments from the people who stayed in July. Surely part of the fun of a holiday is meeting friends, relaxing by the pool and enjoying a few drinks of an evening? Why waste your holiday picking fault, looking for complaints and ostracising yourself from the hotel life?
As a well travelled person I look forward to the friendly and welcoming way they have at Small World and will return there again. If that makes me a "small" person, so be it. At least my spelling and grammar is of a good standard!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spot2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.0 mi away
Paloma Family Club
Paloma Family Club
#15 of 40 in Bitez
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meis Apart
Meis Apart
#5 of 40 in Bitez
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bitez Sunset Otel Beach Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Sah Hotel
Sah Hotel
#17 of 40 in Bitez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small World Hotel

Address: Haci Ahmetler Mevikii Kizilagac Sok. 13 | Yalisi, Bitez 48410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bitez
Hotel Class:2 star — Small World Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel Small World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing