We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Orion (24/9 to 2/10), it was lovely and we will return again!

We stayed in room 302 which is on the ground floor up a few steps and which stayed nice and cool - especially when we used the air-con. Room is fairly basic, but completely serviceable and completely in line with other 3 star establishments. Nice comfortable double bed (I asked Dilek for a top sheet and another blanket which was left in our room on return from the beach - perfect!), wardrobe with a bit of a wonky door (so what?) and a nice clean bathroom which had been refurbished in the last year or so. Bedside tables with drawers and we had plenty of space to hangup and store our stuff. Juliet balcony is just big enough to sit two - nice and cosy!
One thing - as part of the recent refurb, new toilet seats have been fitted and ours had a tendancy to slip around a bit. - A quick tighten with fingers is all that is needed and you wont slide off the loo! Forgot to mention it to Michael, but it never bothered us!

Breakfast is superb! Turkish (cucumber, tomato, cheese, olives, honey, jams, bread, hard boiled eggs) also served with freshly fried eggs or omelette, honeydew and water melon and yoghurt. - Oh and its all FRESH! No curly cheese or hard bread here!

We didnt get into the pool (didnt want to put sand from the beach into it!) but it does make the whole outside area very pretty and its a peaceful courtyard setting for breakfast or an after dinner cocktail.

Dilek's restaurant is all that the other reviewers have said - its traditional, very tasty and competitive on price. We particularly liked the Oven Baked Sea Bream and Bass and the Guvec (Turkish casserole). I personally would have preferred turkish music rather than the British standards played, but the great food and hospitality FAR outweighs that! Two courses with a quality bottle of wine and water 80TL for two people. Fantastic!

I just cannot understand how some reviewers can be so negative. Both Dilek and Michael made everyone that we could see very welcome indeed and went out of their way to serve. Look, the hotel is published as 3 star, please dont expect 5 star+ facilities and you will agree - it should be highly rated. I doubt you will find hospitality this good elsewhere. We have stayed in over 50 'tourist' hotels (aside from business trips) and these people rate up there with the best.

The hotel is wihin 5 minutes walk to the beach along a flat path and we caught the dolmus to Bodrum (3.5TL) just by the restaurant and a taxi to Ortakent (19TL) just 100m further along. Very well placed for Bitez.

Overall, a wonderful stay. Can't wait to return!
God bless, Paul and Amanda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eskeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    9
    12
    17
See reviews for
20
112
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our first visit to Turkey but certainly not our last, largely thanks to the warm welcome and service we received from Michael and Dilek. It’s hard to find anything new to say about this charming couple that hasn’t already been said. They are without doubt extremely hard-working and both care very much that their guests have an enjoyable time.

If you are looking for a swanky 5 star hotel then this possibly isn’t for you. However, the Orion offers fantastic value for money and the service provided by Michael and Dilek is undoubtedly 5 star plus! The rooms are small but are very clean and have all the basic requirements. Breakfast is a very sociable occasion and the buffet offers a great Turkish selection and plenty of it. The pool has plenty of sun loungers and squashy cushions for relaxing during the day. The bar is open throughout offering reasonably priced snacks and drinks.

Although we did not meet the Thomson rep, she would have been superfluous to requirements as between them Michael and Dilek have a wealth of local knowledge and can advise on the best ways of getting out and about. Thanks for the advice on the short walk to the chapel, Michael - took a bit longer than expected but that was largely down to us deciding to find out own way back! However we did get to see Bitez “off the beaten track” which was delightful.

When you are scrolling through all the reviews do not be put off by the odd negative comment you might see. We felt completely safe throughout the whole of our visit, and like all of the other guests staying at the same time as us, we were made to feel very special. A fabulous relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our 14th visit to Bitez but our first visit to the Hotel Orion. Whilst Dilek & Michael are in charge in wont be out last! Friendly humerous, warm welcoming people. Nothing was a problem. Rooms cleaned daily, breakfast ample and in beautiful surrounds which we looked forward to every morning. Michael? Please note: In particular the morning coffee with Turkish Brandy was the best!! We had a very relaxing one week break and glad we chose the Orion. Music and bar closed 1am so everybody had a good nights sleep however music wasn't loud anyway. It's Dilek's and Michael's first year and they are, in our opinion, doing a great job. We also liked the fact that the hotel had a mixed age group but no 18-30's!! We didn't want to leave and can also advise anyone staying to try their restaurant next door as the food was excellent and a friendly atmosphere. (Yali Meyhanesi). Dilek? How are you love? Michael? Ya welsh rascal, any Thin Lizzy and a 'small' Raki please!!! Lol :) Love you both and looking forward to seeing you both again. Thanks for looking after us and giving us a memorable holiday. Cheers, Sue & Kev (Runcorn) xxxx

Room Tip: Opt for an upstairs room at this hotel. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Two weeks at the Orion hotel . Small hotel , very clean and brilliant service from the husband and wife team running the place. Dilek and Michael made my parents stay very enjoyable and would do anything for them. They moved my parents room because there were some steep steps which my Mum was not so keen on. Nothing was too much trouble for them. My parents also ate in the restaurant owned by Dilek and her family. They found the food was very good and really good value. My Dad rated the Beer and Dilek also made good Irish Coffees especially for my Mum . Being a small hotel all the guests were friendly and mingled with each other around the pool and at the bar at night and more often that not you would also see them at the restaurant . As my parents are both in their 70's they found this a really safe and relaxing place to stay and within a easy walk to the beach and huge variety of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Air conditioning available in all rooms. If any taveller has any mobility issues or elderly then ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meles789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

So its been a couple of months since we visited the fabulous Orion Hotel.... We spent a week there and we had a fab time.... there was nothing we could have faulted. We wanted an intimate hotel... nothing rowdy... just time to relax... and thats definitely what we got. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and Michael and Dilek and the boys are absolutely lovely and really couldn't do enough for us during our stay to make us feel welcome. The pool is just perfect and we spent most of our time there. We also visited their family restaurant... just around the corner... the food was authentic and very yummy :). I could go on and on raving about this hotel/holiday but you really should go and see for yourselves. We will definitely be returning..... and cant wait :-) Emma & Sara xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Focsylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Two wks at the Orion Hotel what a lovely relaxing and friendly hotel,small and friendly is just what it is,the hotel rooms were basic,Turkish breakfast every morning, Dilek and Michael were the perfect hosts nothing too much trouble if you asked for it you got it,Dilek was the most friendlyest person you could wish to meet always smiling and trying to make everyones stay special,Michael what you see is what you get happy go lucky but very caring,he made the afternoon snacks which were lovely and was the barman he loves his music ,could not fault the food,the cleaners also need to be praised as they were always working and keeping everything clean, beds made every day clean towels always,Dilek and her family also run the reasturant only 2 mins from the hotel Yali Meyhanesi we eat there every night as we did not see any reason to go else where because the food was so good and tasty very good value for money,being a small hotel everyone that was staying there always spoke to each other during the day or evening( not like anything you get in a big hotel) we would never stay in a big hotel again, always small and friendly from now on ,you get the personel touch,This is Dilek and Michael's first session at the Orion we wish them Good Luck, see you next year. (cock-up)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned back from the Orion Hotel in bitez and we felt the need to review the place and share our experiences of the holiday. The hotel itself is small delightful place that was very clean throughout and because it is small everyone mixed in together and we made a lot of friends that you would see every day at some point. With the large hotels we have never had this experience. Michael does what it say's on the tin and you can get as much or as little as you want from him. He is a very large character and always up for a laugh and will discuss the world if thats what you want from him. If you want to be left alone then he will see that and give you what you ask of him. Afternoons in the pool area were hilarious with michael's music time and group discussions and banter with all the residents that decided to join in.
Breakfast was very turkish as expected and there was plenty of it. (could be a bit hotter though). Dilek has to be seen to be believed as she has the biggest smile in history and we dont know how she keeps going as long as she does and still looks amazing. she loves everyone and cannot do enough for you. She also runs the resturant next door which is very good. It was the most expensive meal we had experienced that week but only because we did not want to leave so sat there and drank loads. To sum up the hotel is for those who want a very relaxing time at a small friendly place that is 5 mins from the front,just far enough away from the noise. For those who want busy and lots of guests roaming about it isn't for you. Our only worry would be that Michael and Dilek will burn themselves out as it is not possible to keep going and cracks are there to bee seen so more help needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.5 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yali Han Hotel
Yali Han Hotel
#10 of 40 in Bitez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sah Hotel
Sah Hotel
#15 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okaliptus Hotel
Okaliptus Hotel
#17 of 40 in Bitez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Defne Sok. No:31, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel for those who want a real holiday,a breath of fresh air from the hustle and bustleof lifes stresses.Come and chill out you know you deserve it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Bitez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing