We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best relaxing holiday a family of friends”
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best relaxing holiday a family of friends”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

just arrived home july 2012 missing everyone already .michael,dilek +all the family were so friendly most relaxing holiday we ve ever had. staff + other holiday makers all become friends very quickly.nothing was to much trouble they were all very accomodating.the hotel is small + friendly, very clean,rooms small but adequate . we will definitely go there again. angi + rob

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    9
    12
    17
See reviews for
20
112
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday here. The hotel is small and friendly, just 24 rooms. Take no notice of reviews more than a couple of years ago, the hotel has been completely renovated since then. The rooms are smallish but are clean and everything works. There is a very small balcolny overlooking the pool area and the linen and towels are changed twice weekly. There is a flat screen TV in the room but we were unable to get any channels in English. A minor point - we didn't go to Turkey to watch TV. The safe in the room costs £2 per day and air-con £4. The air-con is vital in mid-summer. The pool is not a large one but big enough for this hotel, even when full. About half seemed to go to the beach for the day and half stayed by the pool. If you do go to the beach please note that although the sunbeds are free, they do belong to all the restaurants along the front and you will be expected to make a purchase. That said, you can buy just one drink, water even, and you can stay there for the rest of the day. We found that it wasn't a bad way to spend the middle of the day, between 12 and 4 when the sun was at its strongest, staying in the shade. Breakfast is the usual continental affair, melon, cheese, orange juice, coffee etc and perfectly acceptable. You can eat snacks and light meals throughout the day in the shade by the pool. Michael and his wife Dilek are very friendly and helpful. Dilek also runs the restuarant next door which we tried once and was good. All the others on the front are much of a muchness. The Black Cat in the centre offers a couple of set meals as well as a full menu and we managed to get a two course meal with a beer for 20TL each. The first restuarant you come to, down on the beach, also does a set meal on top of a la carte and you can have a three course meal with a bottle of wine for around 25TL each (couples only). Generally speaking, a main meal will be around 15-20TL, a beer 6 or 7, bacardi and coke about 12 and a glass of wine is typically 10TL.
All in all a very nice, friendly, relaxing hotel and we would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Block One (of the three blocks of twelve rooms) is the closest to the bar area and can be ever so sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macofkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent a week in early July 2012 at the Orion Hotel, Bitez. We were a little apprehensive to start with as this was our first time in a hotel abroad. We had no cause for concern, as the owners Michael and Dilek plus all the staff (who were part of Dilek`s family) made us very welcome immediately.
The hotel is small but very clean and comfortable with a nice pool to cool off in, as it was very hot when we were there.
We did as we pleased and any advice on trips or local information we needed was on hand from the owners and staff.
The beach was as we had read only 2-3 minutes walk away. The restaurant the Yali Meyhanesi next door is also run by Dilek and family and we had a lovely dinner there on our second night.
Although we were B&B and spent a lot of time at the beach we could always get a bite to eat when we got back to the Orion along with a nice cold beer served by Michael.
We would recommend the Orion it is certainly worth a visit, we will most certainly return in the near future.
Roy and Judith
Shropshire

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a great time at the Orion Hotel.. Met up with some friends I had met previously in Turkey when we stayed in Gumbet. Michael and Dilek along with their son Engin and all other staff are doing a great job since their takeover. Anything they can do for you they will.
Although hotel is small it is equipped for all that is required. Rooms are bright airy and spacious. Pool is along side the bar and its great. Beach is 2 minutes away.
Dilek also has the Yali Meyhanesi Restaurant next to Hotel were the food is Fab. Theres also nightly entertainment and If your lucky you will hear Engin giving a rendition of some of the Beatles songs. Bitez is a must place to see and Orion and Yali Meyhanesi are the places to stay and eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jac048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

What an excellent family run " small and friendly" hotel the Orion is! Mike, Dilek, Ingen, Ahmed and indeed all the extended Irish Turkish family who run the hotel made us feel so welcome we felt like one of the family. We have travelled extensively on all continents but I have to say this is the most enjoyable small hotel experience we have had. My only reservation in writing this review is that one day soon, if too many people read it, the Orion will be completely booked up for ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterandChristineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

From first arriving at this lovely little hotel we knew it would more than exceed our expectations, from Dilek`s welcome to the sight of the flowers cascading down white walls it was clear we`d picked a winner. The hotel certainly deserves its "Small and Friendly" tag in the Thomson`s brochure, a friendlier hotel would be hard to find, the family who run it are a delight and make every one of their guests feel like friends of the family.
Everthing is spotlessly clean and well cared for by the cleaning staff in fact every member of staff here were meticulous in their duties. Other reviews have dealt with rooms, bathrooms and other areas so I`ll just finish with a big thank you to Dilek, Micheal and their son Engin for making our holiday special......we`ll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashirelass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Orion is a delightful hotel which has obviously been refurbished,and run by extremely helpful and pleasent Turkish / Irish family. Very clean and run with pride and will definitely stay on our next return to Bitez.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peterandclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.5 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yali Han Hotel
Yali Han Hotel
#10 of 40 in Bitez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sah Hotel
Sah Hotel
#16 of 40 in Bitez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Okaliptus Hotel
Okaliptus Hotel
#18 of 40 in Bitez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Defne Sok. No:31, Bitez 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bitez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel for those who want a real holiday,a breath of fresh air from the hustle and bustleof lifes stresses.Come and chill out you know you deserve it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Bitez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing