We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment !”
Review of Club Amarissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Amarissa
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Booked this holiday for myself and teenage son after reading all the rave reviews on trip advisor, we were one of the first groups of the year and after been shown our apartment in the early hours which was probably the furthest away and up a steep uneven path, we quickly unpacked toiletries and a few clothes before deciding to go and explore the bar and surroundings, shut all the doors and away we went. After an hour we went back to room and went to open the bathroom door , no way could we open it , phoned down to reception, phone not working my son ran down and explained to the manager (who understood very little English) what had happened., he and a collegue spent 40 mins trying to open door but lock was faulty so no joy, anyway he made us sleep in another apartment for 1 night until he could get someone to fix it, but had to keep original room and go back to it in morning, very annoyed and tired by this time.
Lunchtime food was good as long as you were the first in as I don't think the Bain Marie to heat the food was working, breakfasts and evening meals were poor, alot of the guests went out to eat elsewhere, we should'nt have to do this as we paid all inclusive, also am an animal lover but dont appreciate cats in the restaurants as we are eating !!!
Had to ask for clean towels and toilet rolls for room and when room was cleaned it wasnt done until very late afternoon,the rooms especially the kitchen looks good on photos but there was no equipment all bare, not even clothes hangers.
The 2 bar staff were lovely and if it hadnt of been for them and the camaradarie of fellow guests I really think I would of come home earlier.
I think better comunication from management and focusing on guests real needs is what is required at Club Amarissa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Club Amarissa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 67 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel from 1st to the 7th April, and we were amongst the first of 4 groups of guests to stay at the Amarissa after it's management take over and subsequent minor refurbishments. And since the hotel was closed in March and February...not sure when the other reviewers stayed!
The hotel itself is not a 4* hotel...it's not actually even a hotel...it's a series of apartments, with a lounge/kitchenette, separate bedroom, bathroom and two balconies. We had lovely views across the bay, but the apartment itself was disappointing and could have done with a deep clean.
The food was nice, but bland, and cold if you didn't eat as soon as the restaurant was opened. There was only one meal during the whole week which we were unable to eat because it was not very nice.
The only 'inclusive' drinks were the local beer - Efes, vodka, raki, gin, wine - the normal on tap fizzy drinks, coffee and tea. There was a water cooler, but you had to pay for bottles of water, cans, cocktails and imported spirits.
There is no 'swim up bar', the pool is nice though, and there are quite a few sunbeds around the pool area. The beach is only feet away from the pool and restaurant...and bar...it is a small beach though.
The local area, whilst we were there, was very quiet as it was out of season, most of the bars were just starting to open up as we left. So it probably would be quite busy from May onwards, but we enjoyed the peace.

Good points - the dolmus goes right past the end of the road by the hotel, this takes you directly into Bitez or Bodrum and is only 3 Lira per person, each way.
The bar staff were fantastic, Faith and Jake were both lovely guys, who were both easy to talk to and joke around with...although do watch out for their spirit measures! Everything is 50:50! The rest of the staff were nice and very helpful, but they don't speak much English, although we managed without many problems.

Would we stay here again? No. Would we recommend it to our friends? No, probably not. However we did really enjoy our time...but that was mostly because of the bar staff and the other guests.

Room Tip: top apartments further up the hill have better views
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel and would like other travellers thinking of booking this hotel on the previous reviews to read carefully.
We arrived on the April 1st and quickly realised that this was the first week of opening for the hotel and they were nowhere near ready for guests.
The first room we were shown to was still having its makeover and then confusion between staff over which room was ready for us. We were eventually shown to a suite on the top of a very steep and uneven path. We were expecting a 50 roomed hotel but found a 50, two storied apartment blocks builtt into the hillside.
Cleanliness and service of the cleaners was poor. Requets for towels etc had to be made several times.
The food was typically turkish.
The bar which sits in the grounds of the hotel is the only place to get drinks both day and night. The all inclusive deal was very poor-only local beer, gin.vodka and raki was available along with soft drinks. International brands of drinks could be bought at an extra cost.
Two staff in particular-Faith and Jake-made our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and they entertained us all.
Would we recommend this hotel or visit again-NO!

Room Tip: No good for disabled travellers. If there is a self catering option go for this and eat in the many...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hi having read the reviews by other people about this hotel i have decided to book a late getaway with my partner to this hotel. i have decided to write this the other way round and will update it upon my return.
I must admit it is a complete minefield choosing a hotel to book and to get a price that is somewhere near reasonable during the half term is almost non existent!!
I am happy though with the price i have paid and through some careful researching before hand....hopefully i have made the right choice!!

Watch this space.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank markyhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

i stayed at this hotel last year in august it is really good hotel the food is nice and theres a lot of food there and a lot of choices. the room was very clean it was a big family room the cleaners were very friendly the staff was very helpful and understood english well. its not a big hotel but its the best hotel i have stayed in bitez because you have got a beach with the hotel you get free sunbeds plus theres a garden witch most hotels dont have with big beanbags the pool is very clean it is cleaned everyday great holiday with children and lots to do there for children and adults its value for money well spent review is based on how good it was for the price.

Room Tip: i stayed in the corner suites that is really big and lots of room for a family.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank katelin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

i have been to all differant places in turkey but i got to admit this hotel was the best of all . the hotel was very clean andthe cleaners would change the beds every day and put fresh towels in the room and they were friendly people who would go out of theyr way to help you.the food was the best that i had ever had in a turkish hotel. the room are a good size and are moden up to date.my daughter normaly get fed up on holidays but not when we went to this hotel .the garden is well cared for the pool was clean and always plenty of sun beds and you got the beach right in front of you if you stay in this hotel . i was so peased with the hotel ive booked to go back there in may.2012. iwould recommend this hotel to anyone going to bitez.

Room Tip: i can only go by the room we had and you couldnt have askd for better.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cheryl496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

me and my family stayed at the hotel amarissa in bitez ,we been to turkey many time but this is the best hotel we have stayed it is small but very welcoming ,we had a great time ,all the staff are friendly the food was very good plenty of chocie ,room are excellent i would recomed this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gwenneth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.0 mi away
Manuela Hotel
Manuela Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bitez
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dedeman Club Bodrum
Dedeman Club Bodrum
#14 of 40 in Bitez
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okaliptus Hotel
Okaliptus Hotel
#25 of 40 in Bitez
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Amarissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amarissa

Address: Kabakum Mevvkii No 122, Bitez, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Bitez
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Amarissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing