We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what was all the fuss about!!”
Review of Safir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Safir Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Bitez B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Both my partner and I went here with trepidation - however we could not be more wrong the hotel is lovely - I was nervous of the reputation of sam - he could have not been more helpful and the hotel is so pretty i was so relieved!! would recommend any time. Yes water and food you were not allowed to bring in but the is the same for all hotels and to be honest its so cheap not a problem. My only grumble is your typical english tourist bringing their own tea bags and cornflakes how insulting I felt ashamed !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sushi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Safir Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

stayed at safir for ten nights september 2012 rooms basic but cleaned every day pool area very nice plenty of sunbeds and very quiet nice for a relaxing day around the pool .the seating area around the bar is around a tree so plenty of shade breakfast typical turkish breakfast cereal boiled eggs bread selection of cheese and meats staff very friendly hotel only 50 metres from beach bitez is a lovley place for a nice relaxing holiday dont let bad reviews put you off we had a great holiday and will definatley be going back to the safir hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank titanic1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at Safir Hotel Bitez September 2012. The hotel is set in very pretty surroundings with bar and restaurant. It is a basic hotel but we found it clean and the staff were very welcoming. It's only a two minute walk to the beach front where there are a large choice of restaurants. We found the White Point restaurant very good value for money and the staff are brilliant. Overall we had a brilliant holiday for not alot of money.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with a small patio area and as the balconies were quite small it gave yo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyp_12202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well I must admit that after looking at the reviews here, AFTER booking a week in the Safir (15th-22nd Sept 2012) I was expecting the worst.

But the impressions given here could not have been more wrong. This is a delightful little hotel made up of a central admin/bar building and eight 2-storey, 2-room each floor blocks around a central pool area with another 4-room single-storey block in one corner. I think 36 rooms in total.

Its like a lovely secluded little enclave, with plenty of trees and greenery, all kept clean and tidy.

We were given an upgrade to a larger room in the single floor block, which was a lovely room with aircon, TV, bathroom with shower and double bed. Very clean and nice.

I should address some of the previous concerns:

1. The breakfast is the same every day? Its a buffet. Choose something different each day!
2. The staff are unhelpful? Nope, all staff were friendly, kind and helpful. Any small issues were dealt with immediately.
3. You can't bring food and drink in from the outside? Well, would you bring drink into a bar at home and expect to get away with it? I brought a few things in from the supermarket next door and was never challenged. Besides, the bar is not expensive. A 500ml bottle of nice Efes beer for 5 Lira (about 2 euro), for example. Cocktails 10 Lira. They were 15 Lira on the beach, only 2 mins walk away.
4. The WiFi code was 5 euro for the entire stay. Most hotels at home charge far more than that.
5. The bathroom was like a wet room? Well, ours WAS a wet room.
6. Sam The Man? Couldn't have been friendlier, nicer or more helpful. I saw no signs of the opposite from him, everyone there seemed to get on fine.
7. Tip boxes in your face? I saw one, with a sign saying Thank You.

There were only a couple of cats around, and hardly any flies. No mozzies.

OK, the rooms don't have a fridge or a safe, but hey, it was a cheap hotel.

Maybe we had entered a parallel universe, with the Good Sam in. But it was a nice stay, Bitez is a lovely relaxed area, and we will go back.

Perhaps the standard rooms are older and more worn, I don't know, but our stay anyway couldn't have been nicer.

Andy

Room Tip: Try for rooms 602 - 606!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Are we all talking about the same hotel? was worried after booking due to all negative/bad feedback. glad we went - hotel was fine. rooms are basic and small, but you get what you pay for-if you want 5 star, then pay the price.
rooms cleaned daily, linen and towels changed every 1-2 days.
no hassle from sam the man, he was pleasant enough.(obviously these people who complain havent been to icmeler/marmaris-thats what you call hassle)
pool was nearly always empty. plenty of sunbeds all day.
2 minute walk to beach and restaurants, plenty of choice-great food in all of them.
its a pity that people are quick enough to leave negative feedback, but dont really bother to state the good things.
had fab time, would return again.

Room Tip: had room number 207, which we heard was better than 1 or 2 of the other rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jack11112222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

was expecting b&b but not what we got. had to pay 10 euro to get the wifi code. no fridge in hot room and not allowed to bring drinks and food to room. furniture was old and scared to sit on bed and out door chairs on balcony. linen had holes in it the first day. cats everywhere.bathroom was just like a wet room no shower tray.skirting boards not attached to walls only wanted aroom to but head down but litterly ran from room every morning. had no prob with sam the man but appeared from anywhere. other staff not nice. breakfast the same every morning cereal, meat veg cheese bread.no granulated sugar just cubes. would give this hotel less than a hostel rating. doors were not secure ....holiday rep was useless was shocked to here us complain even tho anyone we spoke to felt the same as us.

Room Tip: no choice in roooms they all the same small
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridget f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Being honest about this holiday it was all we could get at the time so we put aside the bad points and just enjoyed the time in the sun.

The Hotel.
1) Its called a hotel but its not.
2) You are NOT allowed to take in any food or Beverages (this also includes water you have to buy this from the hotel itself and is expansive) So no munching of nibbles by the pool.
3) We went B&B and it was a mixture of olives, bread, eggs, cheese, spam (they actually call ham). Jams and a small variety of flakes. The same every morning. Those who went full board did nothing but complain about the food.
4) The rooms are so small and outdated with the bathrooms being dirty with cracked tiles, bad toilet suites.
5) Their staff have no Charisma whatsoever and pester you to buy drinks.
6) Be careful of the owner we had to chase him on a number of occasions for out change from food & drinks, always good at saying will sort it later but later never came (well for him anyway).
7) Constant dogs messing outside the rooms when we complained about this ( 3 times including one to the owner, it took the hours to sort out, certainly something you would expect to be sorted very urgently.

Bitez Resort

1) Constant bombardment & pestering to eat in restaurants.
2) Sunbeds are linked to the restaurants & hotels so you have to buy drinks & food from them, you can not take you own food or drink to the beach.
3) There is no room to put your own towel on the beach and be independent.
4) Constant pestering from trip advisers.
5) Constant stray dogs & cats.

So basically Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0.0 mi away
Tumay Hotel
Tumay Hotel
#22 of 40 in Bitez
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kassandra Hotel
Kassandra Hotel
#37 of 40 in Bitez
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#3 of 40 in Bitez
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summer Garden Apart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Paloma Family Club
Paloma Family Club
#15 of 40 in Bitez
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Risa Hotel
Risa Hotel
#19 of 40 in Bitez
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Hotel

Address: Kalafat Ali Sok. No: 2, Bitez, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bitez
Price Range: $22 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the deep green in the peninsula, among mandarin gardens and olive trees… We are at a point where green and blue meets in the smooth winds … This is Bitez. Bitez Bay, which is 45 km to Bodrum-Milas Airport, 8 km or 15 minutes to Bodrum centre, with the sandy beach along the bay, sea getting deeper with a smooth slope, restaurants lined up through the bay at the beach for every taste, is one of the indispensable resorts not only for surfing addicts, but also for the people dreaming a quiet holiday in the nature and for those who want to be close to the colourful life of Bodrum. We designed a place in which you will get all the pleasure you can out of in this very green resort of the peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Safir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing