We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Gardens
Nearby Hotels
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Doria Hotel(Bitez)(Great Value!)
$71
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrosia Hotel(Bitez)(Great Value!)
$75
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
13
11
12
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
11
12
12
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 56 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have just returned from the Mandarin Gardens in Bitez. Personally, if you're looking for all the comforts, then spend the extra €100-€150 and stay in a hotel as this place is very basic. You have all the essentials such as air-conditioning (included in the package if you're Irish, otherwise its €30-75 depending what nationality you are!), a kettle, portable cooker, frying pan, cutlery, plates, glasses, cups and saucers etc. The cleaners are in every day and your sheets and towels are changed every 3 days.

The hotel has 3 pools - the main pool is usually surrounded by families with young children, the middle pool, mostly a couples area and the 3rd pool is mainly familiies with smallies. They're well maintained but get your towel put out earlier in the day to avoid disappointment of not having a lounger!

The place suited us as it was quiet and it was somewhere to lay the head at night. There was hardly any entertainment apart from the Turkish night (every Wednesday - a definite Must See!) so was grateful that the complex was only a short distance away from Bitez Village.

We didn't really eat in Mandarin Gardens as there are much better places to eat in the village and the quality is much nicer. But when we did eat there, the food was very basic, lacked flavour and was disappointing altogether so we didn't repeat our attendance in the restaurant after that - ***steak lovers*** - be aware the restaurant doesn't serve steak?!

All in all, we had a lovely time in Bitez and definitely will return to the same spot however, wouldn't return to the Mandarin Gardens though as you would miss a few home comforts etc.

Room Tip: A few tips: What was really disappointing was the shop prices in the complex - the food items are twice the amount you would pay at home. So definitely recommend walking down to the Gizem Supermarket which is about 5 mins walk from Mandarin Gardens and getting your supplies there or alternatively, if you are heading for a 2 week break, then head down to Bodrum (by the bus depot) and stock up from the supermarket there (better value for money). Also, pack a few toilet rolls for the trip - the hotel only supplies 2 rolls at the start of your hols and does not replenish when you're out! Also, what is really expensive is tea and coffee - bring a small tub of tea and coffee or you will end up paying €10 for a small 100ml jar!! As for the rooms, if its a couple's holiday, ask for an apartment by the 2nd pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alm0st_a_Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just spent 2 weeks in Mandarin Gardens and we had a lovely time. What do people expect from a self catering apartment? We had air con, an electric kettle, a frying pan, a pot, a salad spinner, dishes, cutlery etc and anything we asked for in reception they were more than happy to help us. For example we were in an upstairs apartment and I found it difficult climbing the stairs so they moved us to a downstairs apartment. The cleaners were brilliant and friendly and we knew how difficult it must have been working in this heat - the temp was up to 50 degrees celsius the first week.
The beds were the same as most self catering apartments and definitely not concrete. We stayed here about 9 years ago and they didn't have air con so they have updated!
All the staff in reception and cleaners, porters etc were extremely and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is what it is, without going on a long winded rant its a place to put the head down, I see people writing reviews saying I'm not fussy but ! You people are expecting best of this and that for nothing should have booked the Ambrosia if you wanted all that,
it's basic and it's one of the only places if your going to get on a last minute to Bitez. Let's face it Bitez was not even on the map 15 year ago now it's the peaceful place to be nice relaxed easy going place, Gumbet is 5 minutes away for nightlife and Bodrum 10 away for all your shopping needs.

There is an active music pool and 2 quite pools, showers need some TLC, Bitez is geeting dearer very year so after first going there 18 years ago I think this will be sadly my last, that and I got the info on a place less touched by the toursim boom over the years which gives you the feeling of rural Turkey again less inflated prices and locals who are overjoyed to see you arrive.

The prices are now hard to call value for money anymore, the Velo restaurat on the front for example is to be avoided at all costs pure rip off on price and can't cook fish to save their lives worst ever. 230TL dinner sold me a lobster which had no Claws ? At roughly €40 you can get that in a top place in Dublin cooked properly because thet over cooked till it was rubber.

The Mandarian Gardens are good for families who just need the basic room to stay in and go about the holiday,
Food takes an age to come,
if your order full breakfast for 7Tl approx €3.19 which is good but if you order just toast they will charge you the same which is unfair as my kids only wanted toast.
Bottle of coke is 5Tl so it starts to add up fast we had 3 adults and 2 kids breakfast came to 80 TL or €36.46. Was not impressesed when can get better food cheaper in Dublin.
Don't expect luxury you won't be getting it rooms have air con and it's a nice quite place. When your booking you should know this.

I do feel it's fast becoming more like Spain etc, the locals are becoming less interested in pleasing the tourist as they know there will be another lot a long next week the warmth of the locals which once was the main reason of going there is fast becoming bored of this attitude.
The local economy has boomed and fair play however it would be a shame for them to lose the very values that made them a success to start with.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Brian121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We are not fussy people but this place is awful. It was so bad after a few days i was tempted to use my credit card to go somewhere else but everywhere else was booked out. The air con leaked on the bed and when i say bed it was concrete slabs, we were sore from sleeping on them, they were the hardest beds ever and the double was just 2 singles put together so you always felt a gap. The doors closed if you banged them hard, the toilet leaked sewage onto the floor and the door to the apartment had cracks in it, the place is a disgrace. Do not eat food in the restaurant unless you want grease, half cooked scrambled eggs and pizza is not homemade but frozen then ovened - go to the Queen apartments for food if you want something decent but dont want to walk 10 mins in the heat to the beach

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kittyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just back from two weeks at this apartments, the apartments are basic at best, broken dirty fridge, filthy mattresses, concrete beds, leaky air conditioning units. The windows are held in with masking tape! Extremely limited self catering facilities,an electric hob with one ring working one saucepan, one frying pan and insufficient cutlery, plates and glasses. Drinks are dear 2.5 euros for a can of soft drink, and 3 to 4 euro for glass of beer.Also infestation of bats so bat droppings all over you if you sat out on balcony. Direct holidays and Thomas Cook would want to seriously take a close look at these apartments and remove immediately from their brochure. Bitez is a lovely spot, Gumbet also lovely highly recommend ANNALIVIA restaurant. Fatijh on reception is unhelpful, mostly hungover and should be removed from this complex immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews