We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vera Miramar Resort
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 week stay at the Vera Club TMT, we had a lovely holiday overall. The hotel was in a beautiful location by the sea and the weather was hot, hot, hot! The food was plentiful throughout our 2 week stay with lots of choice. Some of the staff were amazing, particularly the entertainment team...a very special mention to Ender and Burak who were extremely friendly. The spa is worth a visit...we had a full Turkish bath and massage experience at the start of our stay, which I would highly recommend. Again, the spa staff were very friendly and professional. Right next door to the hotel is Bodrum town, a 10-15 minute walk, which had lots of shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. We went there a few times and the atmosphere was always excellent. We did not feel particularly hassled when we went shopping, probably helped by the fact everywhere was so busy in the evenings. Our 20 year old daughter went clubbing in Bodrum quite a few times with some new friends she met at the Vera. Ender and Burak from the entertainment team, along with other hotel staff, escorted people to the clubs and stayed with them throughout the evening so all guests had a lovely time and felt perfectly safe.

Although poor in quality, the hotel bedrooms had free air con and free safes to store valuables. Sunbeds were free and came with cushions and umbrellas. Towels were supplied and easily changeable in the Spa. The bars served bottle water. Boat trips went direct from the hotel jetty which was handy. There was a young German lady by the name of Elizabeth who spoke perfect English and offered private boat trips. She did not work for the Vera but you will see her walking around near the jetty in the mornings, where the diving boat is moored. Easy to spot as she is not wearing swim wear. We went on 2 private boat trips and loved every minute...lunch and afternoon tea were included in the price.

The front of house service at the Vera, ie. the bar staff, chefs and waiting staff were all very hit and miss. Whilst some of them did speak English in varying degrees, we found the majority did not, or even worse, did one day and played dumb the next day...all very mysterious and confusing to us! Please bear in mind that most of the guests were from the EEC and also spoke English to the staff, without exception. We learnt the hotel prefers to employ non-English speaking staff as this is cheaper for them and staff are less likely to leave for a better paid job elsewhere. If we had travelled to a far distant non-English speaking land and stayed in the middle of nowhere then I would expect to struggle with communication...not in an International hotel located in Turkey!

The bar staff either spoke very poor English, if at all, or in one case (not mentioning names) understood and spoke some English one day and gave me a blank expression every time I ordered drinks from him for the next few days...only then to understand me perfectly again? The words Fanta, Sprite, Coca-Cola and Cola Light are exactly the same in Turkish. On several occasions we were queueing to be served at the bar, along comes a Turkish speaking guest to the front of the queue and they were served immediately. If we were really lucky, the barman would be in the middle of serving us and then pause to serve a Turkish speaking guest upon demand?

The chefs cooking and serving in front of the guests were mainly grumpy and unapproachable due to the language barrier, unless you were a Turkish speaking guest that is. If you had any special requests such as asking for your liver to be cooked rare then forget it. The response I got from one Chef was extremely rude to say the least, which in fairness the Hotel did address when I complained on this one and only occasion.

With the waiting staff, some were really attentive and helpful whilst others seemd more concerned about clearing tables rather than serving people. A special mention to Omaykan who was our main waiter for the 2 weeks and did an excellent job. He was very friendly and always went out of his way for us.

During our stay we sunbathed next to the sea as it was much quiter than the pool area. At 7pm every evening the pool staff would appear to straighten up all the sunbeds. My girls were very lucky on several occasions to go on a surprise sunbed ride whereby they would be physically relocated with the sunbed as the pool boys were clearly on a timescale...hilarious behaviour that I have never experienced before. We had a Turkish family next to us that had tipped the pool boys to reserve their sunbeds each morning in exactly the same location. One morning we happened to be encroaching on this 'reserved' location and upon trying to move us over my wife told them where to go...that's my girl :-) Tips talk in Turkey and you will see plenty of tip boxes around the Vera to remind you of this fact...I have never experienced so many tip boxes...EVER!

I was a Chef for 18 years and have worked in hotels that entertain guests from all nationalities. Whilst it is true to say that I am not multilingual, I always tried to understand the guests if they didn't speak English, I would speak in French or very bad German, or ask for help on behalf of the guests. At no point in my 18 year career did I ever experience one chef, waiter, barman or any other member of staff ignoring or being rude to a guest because they didn't understand them. I have always believed in treating people how I want to be treated, especially when they are paying good money for a good experience...the Vera is not overly expensive but for it's overall level of service it is certainly not cheap!

Based on professional experience in the industry, the crux of the issue is down to the hotel management. Whilst we saw managers everyday of our stay they do not get directly involved with the guests, with the exception of the entertainment manager. You will either see them walking around or sitting in one of the bars drinking, or in one of the restaurants eating. You will never hear a manager asking you if you are having a good time, either for fear of hearing any bad news or because they are indifferent. Upon checking out after a 2 week stay we were not even asked if we had a good holiday. If managers look miserable or avoid friendly interaction with the guests then it is no wonder that a lot of staff follow their example! They will see this as acceptable behaviour. The managers seemed more concerned about their status as managers rather than what they should be managing...ensuring the staff are doing their job properly along with ensuring all the guests are happy, irrelevant of what language the guests speak.

In many aspects the Vera Club is geared up to serve Turkish speaking guests. We did meet some amazing fellow guests at the hotel as well as some wonderful staff. Even though the overall experience of ordering drinks or interacting with the chefs was pretty dismal, we did not let this spoil our holiday. This is not our first time to Turkey and it will not be the last. We will certainly revisit Bodrum but the front of house service would have to dramatically improve for me personally to be persuaded to go back to the Vera Club TMT. If this was sorted out, along with the quality of the bedrooms and general maintenance throughout the hotel (fixing things that are broken) the Vera Club would be an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tont1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraMiramarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, you will see what we change all in this last two years. For more information please contact us via our info mail adres.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    248
    122
    86
    86
See reviews for
378
276
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

2.7.13 to 16.7.13 room 7111. 5 star hotel
wot a joke this hotel is NO WAY 5 stars this room is a very long walk and a long way from the main pools bar etc, and didn't even have a balconey, we had a smell loo that I cleraned every day r shower was blocked so water would over flo, in 2 wks we had 1 set of sheets but only because I asked 4 them and helped the cleaner change both bed but we did get clean towels every day. the room r very old n tatty, and the food is HORRIBLE we had 2 go out every 2days 2 find sumfing normal, there was not many English people there but the few we did find all sed the same as us. I paid a lot of money 2go here but I had 2 pay a lot more with going out 4 meal came back very disappointed
DONT GO HERE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraMiramarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

In the last two years we change many of things and if you wanted more informations about all of it please dont hesitate and contact us via our info mail adres.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I visited this hotel july 2013 - with my boyfriend and mum dad and brother! we had a fantastic time- weather was gorgeous every single day - hotel was lovely, rooms basic but who cares who goes on away to spend their time in their rooms? Pool was fantastic loads of sunbeds, lively music, pool entertainment, middle of the day became very got so we used to walk down steps to beach and jump of the jetti into the sea was lovely really called you down. Jay jay jet ski man was a bit of a pain- his a working for commision so constantly asks you when you will be using jet skis! ozzy hotel massage man was lovely gave us a free tester massage great guy! staff were brilliant so proffessional- as i am blonde and young i was a tad worried after reading some reviews i had no problems at all with any of the male staff! the food was lovely so much choice and turkish night was the best the meat was brilliant and everything so tasty! one of the waitors we became close with mamood was fantastic really gave the hotel a good name always look after us and bought our drinks over with us, always laughing and chatting really made our holiday special!! bodrum is a great town something for everyone there. we would most certainley return, so sad to be home! great holiday greay hotel great place!! must go if you can!!

Room Tip: do not choose annex rooms ( not nice ) take plenty of spending money so many shops your bound to wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraTMTresort, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we welcomed you in Vera TMT Resort and we thank you for your comments about your vacation. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your happiness.

In our management of Vera TMT Resort, which is part of Vera Hotels & Resorts, our first objective is the satisfaction of our customers and that's why your comments are noted and studied carefully.

Vera TMT Resort exists since around 40 years and this is the reason why we started and planned a renovation in spring 2014. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time early in the season, so we started new renovations in October 2014 and we plan to complete these before the start of the 2015 season. The entire complex will have a new look and we will change the entire maintenance system. All this from the perspective of will offer you a better service in the future.

Your opinion is important and we inform the departments concerned. We hope to see you soon in our resort under our new name: Vera Miramar Resort. For questions or information, please contact us.

With our attention,

Team of Vera Miramar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have spent a very nice week in this resort. Price for quality is good, it doesn't cost like a 5 star, but also its services are very far from a 5 star as we are used in the EU.
The good points are:
- the location: direct access to the sea, but also only 10 min walk from the center of Bodrum;
- the swimming pool and the garden;
- the spa services;
- the food at the buffet restaurant;
- the all-inclusive formula (also if the quality of the drinks and of the wine is very medium);
- the opening time of bars and restaurant.
The areas of improvement are:
- the bathroom, very old
- the room furniture, really basic
- the room cleaning;
- the staff of the restaurant and bars, very nice but not professional;
- the staff at the reception, not professional and almost unkind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraTMTresort, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we welcomed you in Vera TMT Resort and we thank you for your comments about your vacation. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your happiness. But we understand also your opinion about the bad experience what you have here.

In our management of Vera TMT Resort, which is part of Vera Hotels & Resorts, our first objective is the satisfaction of our customers and that's why your comments are noted and studied carefully.

Vera TMT Resort exists since around 40 years and this is the reason why we started and planned a renovation in spring 2014. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time early in the season, so we started new renovations in October 2014 and we plan to complete these before the start of the 2015 season. The entire complex will have a new look and we will change the entire maintenance system. All this from the perspective of will offer you a better service in the future.

Your opinion is important and we inform the departments concerned. We hope to see you soon in our resort under our new name: Vera Miramar Resort. For questions or information, please contact us.

With our attention,

Team of Vera Miramar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Never had to wait long before being served at the bar. Saleid the bar manager gave excellent customer care and service.

Rooms not 5 star and had mouldy smell plus too many steps.
Good value holiday.

Alison , Scotland

Room Tip: Do not request garden rooms, too many steps and not very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraTMTresort, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we welcomed you in Vera TMT Resort and we thank you for your comments about your vacation. We are happy to hear that we were able to contribute to your happiness.

In our management of Vera TMT Resort, which is part of Vera Hotels & Resorts, our first objective is the satisfaction of our customers and that's why your comments are noted and studied carefully.

Vera TMT Resort exists since around 40 years and this is the reason why we started and planned a renovation in spring 2014. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time early in the season, so we started new renovations in October 2014 and we plan to complete these before the start of the 2015 season. The entire complex will have a new look and we will change the entire maintenance system. All this from the perspective of will offer you a better service in the future.

Your opinion is important and we inform the departments concerned. We hope to see you soon in our resort under our new name: Vera Miramar Resort. For questions or information, please contact us.

With our attention,

Team of Vera Miramar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

after reading so many reviews, we went with an open mind. we need not of worried. it was fab. the room was spacious . the food was of a really high standard. the place was so clean. very enjoyable. and only a 20 minute walk to bodrum along the beach..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chaphog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraMiramarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just got back from 2 week holiday. Staff all friendly, helpful and very accomadating. A little tired in some areas but everything else ok. Sheets and towels changed regulary, and room cleaned. Food plentiful and good but a bit repetative. The good thing about this hotel is the pool area, more than plenty sun beds and umbrella's entertainment throughout the day and night. Overall it ticks the boxes. I would go back again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main area and not in annex as this is reached by an overhead walkway to the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeraMiramarResort, Guest Relations Manager at Vera Miramar Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#4 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#16 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
10.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 98 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vera Miramar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vera Miramar Resort

Property: Vera Miramar Resort
Address: Ataturk Cad. No:180, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey (Formerly Vera Club TMT)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#7 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vera Miramar Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vera Miramar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Club Tmt Hotel Bodrum
Vera Hotel Bodrum
Vera Hotel Tmt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing