We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Marmara, Bodrum(Bodrum City)
$402
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salmakis Resort Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$280
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Manastir Hotel & Suites(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Labranda TMT Bodrum Resort(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$195
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marina Vista Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$128
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ersan Exclusive Resort & SPA(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$232
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Su Hotel(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$109
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodrium Hotel & You SPA(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$98
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Vino Hotel & Suites(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$138
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Yazici Bodrum(Bodrum City)(Great Value!)
$242
$208
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
358
14
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
14
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 373 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We are surprised by the number of amazing reviews which although a lovely hotel is misleading to say this is the best hotel in Bodrum. We were disappointed that there was only a fan in the bedroom and no air conditioning and management frowned upon any guests who wanted a cool room to go back to after being at their bar. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated and you could tell a lot of attention to detail has gone into their design.

Sadly all the owners did whilst we were there were moan about being in the accommodation business, how corrupt the Turkish were and complained about other guests. Bearing in mind it was not the end of the season the owners being so customer weary did come as a surprise. Being such a small establishment it wasn't so much boutique as clicky,

Bodrum itself is quite a charmless town, the description of lots of tattoo shops is accurate from a previous reviewer and definitely much better towns with more discerning shops and restaurants further along the coast offer more charm.

What is clear is their love of animals and the amount of dogs and cats they have rescued is to be applauded, and you do indeed have a much relaxing time with a cat stretched out next to you! They are keen to ensure that guests who may not love animals as much are looked after, but if you have any allergies its best avoided as they often wander into your room via the balcony.

Location wise it has the most beautiful view from their higher up rooms and from the sun lounger spot away from the pool, and it is far enough away from the town so you don't have any disturbance of noise. It is a steep walk back up and wouldn't suit guests with limited mobility.

I think Gary and his partner really wish to give guests a great stay but the gossipy, unkind comments that were routinally dished out each evening left us feeling uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aegeangate, Owner at Aegean Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

To respond to some of the remarks by 'Julie W', Canada.
We do not or never have claimed to be the 'best' hotel in Bodrum, reviews posted by guests who have enjoyed their stay have resulted in a high rating on Trip Advisor, 209 excellent reviews, 9 very good .
We run a small friendly, informal & casual hotel, we are NOT a five star hotel which is reflected in our rates, being awarded ''best bargain hotel' three years running.

We have 6 suites, each one comprising of a lounge ( with air-con), bedroom with large ceiling fan. This review gives the impression that there is no air-con at all.

In line with most businesses/hotels these days, we have energy saver key cards for each suite. Most of our guests are responsible travelers who do not have an issue with the concept of conserving energy.

The claim that 'management frowns' upon guests keeping their room cool is vague.

We certainly do not appreciate guests breaking the energy saver card from the key ring in order to keep the air-con unit working 24/7 when they are away for the full day on trips.

We ask all our guests to ensure windows & doors are closed when air-con units are in use as it breaks the air-con units. Guests sitting on their balconies, with doors & windows wide open with the air-con on are politely asked if they would close them.

With reference to the claim the the hotel was 'clicky'.
We as the hosts tread a fine line with guests trying to ensure that everyone feels 'included' , but this is ultimately up to the individuals themselves. We do try ( to the best of our ability ) to ensure that guests feel comfortable & this has been reflected in the 218 positive reviews.

We are highly offended by the claims that all we do is 'moan' & spend all day gossiping about our guests. We were at a loss to understand just what had brought on such a 'bitter' bashing of our personalities.
We do relay funny anecdotes of the ups & downs of running a small hotel in a foreign country, something that our guests find both amusing & entertaining. For this to be taken out of context & used in such a negative and frankly, dangerous way, is underhanded to say the least.

Perhaps a read of the review posted by 'Julie W' for Dar Charkia Hotel, Marrakech (& more importantly the managers response) will give readers more insight.

Likewise, we had no inclination of her 'discomfort' during her stay, yet a full 7 months after her visit we learn through a scathing attack on our personalities.

Gary Deveney & Rory McDaid ( the partner!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I went for a week in September, choosing the Aegean purely because of trip advisor and the place completely lived up to expectations. Gary and Rory couldn't be more helpful, on the first night Gary sat down with us with a map of Bodrum and pointed out numerous restaurants and bars all of which were excellent. Mehmoud, who always appears to be smiling, made our stay so welcoming, assisting with everything and anything. It's a hotel unlike any I have been to before, this is definately not you're usual corporate hotel so don't expect this, instead it's like visiting the most helpful and entertaining family in a hot country. Hopefully I'll be back out there sometime soon! James and Rachel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLacey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent hotel, and great hosts. Well deserved reputation. Gary, Rory and Mahmoud provided wonderful service and very helpful advice. Wonderful views from most rooms, good location minutes from town, strongly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I feel guilty that I am only getting to this review more than a year after our stay. Everything people have said about this hotel is on-target. It is relaxing. Service is friendly and attentive. The views are spectacular. However, more than this, Rory and Gary are go way above and beyond. In the summer of 2011 my family and I made our first trip to Turkey. Unfortunately, my wife became ill and had to be hospitalized for a couple nights. Rory and Gary jumped to our aid, helping us find a hospital, locating another hotel where we could extend our stay, and helping our teenage children while I was at the hospital with my wife. Rory and Gary are caring people running a wonderful hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ciradj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a fantastic hotel! cant thank Rory and Gary enough for a superb holiday. The relaxed and lovely surroundings coupled with great breakfasts and immaculate peaceful rooms make this a number one for me in Turkey. Must also mention Bodrum itself, super chic resort especially by the harbour. Will definately be back, wish it could be for a month !!

Room Tip: two top floor rooms have views over bodrum bay to die for.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews