We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aegean Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aegean Gate Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Thank Gary, Rory & Mahmood for a fantastically relaxing holiday. We felt like we were staying with friends, the welcome was so warm and we were well looked after. We loved all the restaurants recommended and some of the others Bodrum had to offer. Bodrum is a lovely place to visit with old style Turkish bars and restaurants along with the more cosmopolitan marina side with cool wine bars and restaurants. Amongst the usual tourist shops you expect to find there are many good quality ones too.

Cannot recommend the Aegean Gate highly enough or the town of Bodrum, hope to have the opportunity to visit both again soon.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
231
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a great stay at Aegean Gate, all the comments below are accurate. Gary and Rory and Mahmud are great hosts and they were really helpful with tips and suggestions of places to go and where to avoid. The room was lovely and spacious with a living room and bedroom, and a nice balcony with a great view out to sea and the island of Kos. We did the boat trip recommended by Gary and Rory and it was great - very relaxing and excellent value. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Everything that has already been written here about this superb Hotel is true and so I will avoid repetition. I would describe it as the best value accommodation that I have ever experienced.

Here are the possible downsides ...

If you do not like cats and dogs (we do) then this may not be for you.
It is positioned at the top of a short but very steep hill but if you can't face the walk then the local cabs are inexpensive.

THE BIG DOWNSIDE ...

This has nothing to do with Gary and Roy wonderful establishment - it's Bodrum - the Aegean's answer to the Costas. If you are into beer bellies and tattoos this may be the place for you. OK I'm exaggerating but only slightly. Tatty shop followed by poor restaurant followed by tatty shop followed by .... I think you get the picture.

The best, and possibly the only only good restaurant in town is Spanish! The castle and marine museum are worth a visit.

If the Aegean Gate was relocated to the South of France or Italy I would probably go and live there!

Room Tip: Go for the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CorLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door, we realised that everything we had read and heard about the Aegean Gate was true, Gary and Rory made our holiday, they were so attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, their local knowledge of the area was so helpful to us, their resturant reccomendations were fantastic, from authentic turkish to truly romantic settings, as animal lovers we welcomed the chance to fuss Misty, Samson, Grandad and various others, and of course not forgetting mahmood, who seemed to be on hand 24/7, very caring and incredibly hardworking and always with a big smile. This review would not be complete without ending it with, "we are definitely returning to the Aegean Gate next year" Tony and Carole.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed there for ten days and there was not a single thing we didn't like. We liked the hosts (Gary & Rory), the staff (Mahmud), the cats, the dogs, the room, the bed (I can’t remember the last time I had a nine-hour sleep without waking up), Bodrum, conversations with other guests... The rooms are super clean (thanks to the lovely cleaning lady whose name I unfortunately can't remember) and the views are fantastic, don’t miss the sunset. We even had "our own” cat Misty, and we miss her already. We went on a lovely boat trip (ask the hotel owners), to the hamam (the real thing, not a spa), we ate out every evening and the food was superb. If you are there for more than a couple of nights, and you should be since you won't be able to fully enjoy Aegean Gate and Bodrum, rent a car and go to Ephesus. Exploring the peninsula is also worth your time, this way you'll be able to find your perfect beach. We felt appreciated and welcome, and most of all, we had a really good rest, which is what holidays are, or should be, about. We just must go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We were so sorry to leave and miss you all so much. The hotel is well positioned for all the amenities Bodrum has on offer. Gary, Rory & Mahmood, you are gems!

The suites are spacious and well appointed. As seasoned travellers, these are the best showers we have ever encountered.

Breakfasts on the terrace are wonderful and beautifully presented by Mahmood - who will attend to all your needs and is a super guy. Sampson and Grandad, the hotel dogs are lovely and there are some real character cats - the yet unamed tabby, who I will call 'Nina', who is one of the most 'vocal' of all of the cats. We have a special bond.

I was lucky to spend my birthday at the hotel and we were recommended the Kafedaki restaurant, up in the hills. What a gorgeous vantage point to view Bodrum and the sunset. Superb. We would also recommend The Garden restaurant in Bodrum. I had the finest Sea Bass I have ever tasted. We also went on a boat trip that was recommended by the hotel and it was the best boat trip ever. I am only sorry that we didn't book for a second time.

We will definitely return to the Aegean Gate and I will treasure the memories of that very special place. Keep it up Gary, Rory and Mahmood. You are doing a splendid job.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 5060SomethingsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We loved this place. Beautiful place to stay, great people and great service. What we liked about Aegean gate was the relaxed friendly vibe it had, where you can either relax on your spacious balcony or in the chill out area, or socialise by the poolside bar. Rory and Gary give you a map on your first day with recommendations of places to visit, or places to go for food which definitely helped us a lot as we didn't know the area. Rory and Gary look after a number of cats that choose to live here and a couple of dogs (Grandad and Sampson) who are absolutely gorgeous!

Everything about this stay was great, the animals, Rory, Gary and Mahmood who was very friendly and provided an excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.0 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
10.8 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#8 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#13 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Antique Theatre Hotel
Antique Theatre Hotel
#20 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Gate Hotel

Property: Aegean Gate Hotel
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Guvercin Sok. No:2 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodrum's smallest boutique hotel set in unique natural grounds. Wonderful balcony views across the Aegean sea to the Greek island of Kos. Within easy access to Bodrum centre but far enough away from the bustling nightlife of Bodrum for a peaceful night's sleep. Irish owners/English speaking ensure European standards. A 'chilled out' location for the discerning traveler seeking that holiday with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Aegean Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Gate Bodrum
Hotel Aegean Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing