We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodrum City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Litera Altinel Hotel
Ranked #69 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Now called the Bodrum Beach Club
Will try to cover all the main points and give a balanced view. Went on hols May so still at the start of the season in Turkey.
Hotel and grounds are fairly small, but pool and beach big enough. Good activities each day at the pool, all the usual, water polo, darts etc and animation team all great. Beach a lot quieter, there's a jetty for sunbathing but this is pretty small so in busier times you may need to be up early to get a spot here - little shade on the jetty also but plenty on the beach
Towels provided for a deposit at reception, can be changed as much as you like during your stay and need to be returned to reception at the end of your stay
Food is ok, the usual really, great salads, usually fish or meat at the grill and then a selection of cooked items, usually rice/pasta and meat and vegatable options. I tended to stick to the grill and salads. There are a la carte - we tried the fish which was ok, and the italian which wasn't. You need to pay a 5euro deposit per person and drinks are not free in the a la carte (about £25 for a bottle of turkish wine) so if we went to this hotel again, we wouldn't bother with this.
One main point to make is that the holidaymakers in the resort are 70% french, so most of the staff will speak french to you first as they will presume you are, however once we identified ourselves as english this wasn;t a problem as most staff speak some english too. French holidaymakers fine, no issues with this at all so would be happy to go to a predominantly french resort again, however the entertainment in the evenings was mostly in french so we did miss out a bit here. The english holidaymakers did tend to stick together a bit so this is good for getting to know some other people if thats the sort of thing you like. The animiation team ran trips into bodrum each evening which we didn;t try, but would be a good alternative.
Overall impression, great value for money, good animation team etc, but is quite small so if you like to get out an about/have a wander, you might be a bit bored by the end of the holiday, especially if you've gone for 2 weeks (although can get the bus to bodum each day if you want to). Would go back. Happy to respond to any queries if you are considering going.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0nks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    15
    35
    34
See reviews for
40
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
watford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Just returned from a week in this hotel, which, to be honest i wasn't really looking forward to having read previous reviews, but i needn't have worried, it was lovely ! Now called the Bodrum Beach Club it is perfect if you want a lazy week doing very little. The animation team are around offering archery, water polo, darts etc if you want it , but they don't hassle you if you're not interested.
The food was good - nice fresh salads, varied hot dishes and always something even the fussiest eaters would like, Rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every other day, All the staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly the pool bar staff who soon learnt what we were drinking!
Plenty of sun beds,( we didn't need to get up at the crack of dawn to put towels out) a huge clean pool and it's own shingle beach with even more sun beds and cushions, meant we could enjoy a leisurely breakfast before deciding where we wanted to base ourselves that day.
Our only slight disappointment was that the hotel is in a little bay of it's own and there is nowhere to go for a walk, something we like to do after eating too much at dinner! All in all though, a good, clean hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beau20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwynedd
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

hotel was lovely lovely food rooms was clean every day staff was lovely had a wonderful holyday hopfly going bk next year the entotement was brill had bingo night and disco was brillent and was lot o sportactiveties in the day swimpool was good beachwas onthe hotel was good had jetski and bannana boatand lot more would defently recomend to my mates

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We booked this hotel through low cost beds as it was offering 5* all inclusive for a very good price and booked before reading any reviews.

After booking we searched trip advisor for the hotel and were horrified by some of the reviews and were very worried by what we were reading, many of the reviews referred to the food being poor with many guests being ill, the annex that was very poor with damp in many of the rooms and detached from the rest of the hotel and generally the hotel being run down and in need of restoration. Many of the reviews advised people not to go there and we did think twice about booking something else.

However, on arrival on our transfer we pulled into a hotel called the Bodrum Beach Club and both my girlfriend and myself commented that we wished we were staying there as it looked lovely, as the driver called out the name of the hotel no one on the minibus moved and it appeared at first that the driver had made a mistake, he then disappeared into reception and came back repeating our names! We went into reception a little confused (it was the early hours of the morning) to be told that the hotel was no longer called the Etap Litera Altinel but the Bodrum Beach Club and had been taken over by the Noa Group.

First impressions were very good, the reception was chic looking with large white leather sofas and amazing views through the huge windows out to sea, as it was 1am though it was difficult to fully appreciate the views.

We were shown to our room by the porter, there are quite a few steps and no lifts so may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties but looked very nice and had obviously been recently painted. Our room was a decent size with a double and single bed, the only disappointment with the room was the size of the balcony and the fact that our sea view was blocked by a big tree!

The following day we had chance to have a walk around the hotel and we were not disappointed. The pool was huge and looked very inviting, the restaurant had a wonderful view out to sea and was a perfect setting for meals, especially in the evening with the sun setting on the horizon. The beach was shingle and a little disappointing though many of the beaches in this area are much the same and in comparison it wasnt bad. There is a wonderful jetty that juts out from the hotel and is covered with huge cushions and bean bags and a very nice setting to catch some rays. The shoreline is also scattered with four poster sun longers, large hammocks and beanbags and there was never a problem with getting a spot as there was plenty around for all guests.

The food in the hotel was also very good. Breakfast was mainly continental though there was lots of choice, lunches again had lots of choice with tons of salad and a great selection of hot dishes as well as an abundance of desserts, it was the same of an evening with the added bonus of a BBQ with a different dish cooked fresh for you every night. The staff were very efficient and attentive with the chefs constantly checking the temperatures of the food and asking if you were enjoying the food.

Facilities in the hotel were good. There was a Turkish Bath that was free for guests though it was extra if you wanted a massage, facial etc, there were many activities going on throughout the day including the usual water aerobics, kids club, table tennis etc. As well as that there is an internet room, snooker and pool tables, hairdressers and a mini market.

The annex that has been mentioned in other reviews is now the staff quarters so there is no chance of you having a room over there.

The only let down for my girlfriend and i was that there was no where locally to walk to. The hotel is approx 20km from Bodrum and 10km from the nearest village, Guvercinlik. The dolmus are regular and cost 2 lira to Bodrum so are an easy and cheap way to get around. We hired a car for a couple of days and would highly recommend getting the dolmus or driving to Guvercinlik, this is still a small fishing village and the locals were all very friendly and proud of the fact that their village hadnt given into the huge hotels that line the rest of the peninsular, there are several fantastic fish restaurants along the quay, we chose one as the owner made us feel very welcome as he chatted to us and the food was exceptional.

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and the hotel was a wonderfully relaxing environment to enjoy it in. There was still a lot of work going on around the hotel (this was never intrusive though) and i believe that once all of the work has been completed the hotel will be superb. I think the size of the rooms and their balconies would probably keep it from being 5* in my experience though it is definatly worthy of 4*

Please ignore all of the reviews referring to the Etap Litera Altinel, The Bodrum Beach Club is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwynedd
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

What a great hotel!new owners ,great food and staff.hope to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton england
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

just had a week at this hotel and had a great time,the only thing i can complain about is the food not being hot,but other than that it is a very good clean hotel.at the moment they are working on the hotel as it has new owners and is now the bodrum beach club,but dont worry about the work being done as you dont realy notice it happening.i will be going back there again in the future for a totally relaxing break.dont listen to the bad reviews its a very good clean hotel ,bargain at £299 for week which is what we paid

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2010

me and my boyfriend have just got back from this hotel and we had an amazing time. I just wanted to tell anyone who has read the bad reviews on the hotel please ignore them! the hotel is now owned by someone else and doesnt even have the same name. It is run by a chain of hotels called 'noa hotels' and the hotel name is the 'bodrum beach club'. The hotel is definatly 4-5*, the food was delicious and always fresh. The private beach and jetty was lovely and theres a kids club, water slides, 3 bars including a beach bar, al a carte restaurant (which only costs £5 each for a 5 course meal, and it really was 5* restaurant food, wine and service!),jet ski's, banana boats, parasailing, photoshoots, nail salon, hairdresser, turkish bath, sauna, jucuzzi and a huge swimming pool (and more...). The rooms are furnished really nice and it's very modern, everything was really clean and the rooms were cleaned daily.

The staff were really friendly and we met the entertainments manager, we told him that the hotel was advertised to us as the the litera altinel and that we were worried about coming because of the bad reviews but tries to be open minded. He was quite mad that the hotel was still being advertised as the altinel as it had such a bad reputation. He told us that he only started in april and ALL of the staff including management were all brand new and when the altinel got closed down the old staff were made redundant.

This hotel is brilliant i would reccomend it especially to couples as it is a 15 minute bus ride from the centre of bodrum i couldnt imagine children finding that very pleasent! The night life in bodrum is really good and there is so many resaturants to choose from. there is a huge turkish market/bazaar on a saturday in the centre and there are so many really nice original turkish souviners that are hand made.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
0.2 mi away
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
#1 of 14 in Akyarlar
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
#6 of 14 in Akyarlar
94 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bac Pansiyon
Bac Pansiyon
#42 of 97 in Bodrum City
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 97 in Bodrum City
140 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel and Beach club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litera Altinel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litera Altinel Hotel

Property: Litera Altinel Hotel
Address: Duvarli Tarla Mevkii 11 | ex. Etap Altinel Bodrum, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Number of rooms: 176
Also Known As:
Hotel Litera Altinel
Litera Altinel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing