We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilavuz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilavuz Hotel
Ranked #78 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
NEWPORT, SOUTH WALES
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fab Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

Me & my fiance stayed here in Sept 05.

Basic rooms with good air conditioning. Boris was fab-made us fell very welcome throughout our holiday-especially when we drank the bar dry of vodka and he had to run over the supermarket to re-stock! Boris barman/DJ, he played whatever music we liked. Dont exactly how many footie shirts Boris has on the bar?! Helpful friendly staff.

Loved the brekkie at the Kilavuz-great way to start your day. Great place to relax in the day by the pool. Good location-only 5 mins walk to the beach and bars/restaturants. Bus stop nearby- loved the buses, they were like Scooby Doo's Mystery Machine! Met lots of new friends at the Kilavuz. Bingo was a great laugh on Saturday nite-everyone from the Hotel joined in! We took a boat trip with some of the Kilavuz possee-great way to catch some sun, fantastic views and a great day out with our new mates! It was the first time we had visited Turkey and we had a fab time.

Cheers
Ali.G & Deano :-)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALIGWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2005

We thought we knew what we were letting ourselves in for when we booked this cheap hotel. All we wanted was a little place near the beach and we were prepared to put up with a little noise. Big mistake. The location was very good, right near the centre of town and only five minutes from the beach. And the staff were very friendly. But they were the only good bits. The extremely noisy bar was right underneath our window and it started at 11am and went on til about 5am. I think it may have stopped for a couple of hours in between but then it started again. And it was classics like 'Donald where's your troosers' as well!

Plus, as someone else mentioned, the cleaners decided to clean whenever they felt like it, leaving us to having to resort to begging for toilet roll and soap as there was never enough. If you're the type of person who enjoys staying up all night then you'll like this, but if you'd like a night's sleep and a clean room don't go here. Sorry.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2005

What a Great little place this hotel is, It has a good location on a side street and with only being about a 7 min walk from the main bus station, It means you can go to any place in TURKEY, not just Bodrum.
If you want to stay local, Then the man made beach is a 4 min walk away, as is the bar street and the nice shopping mall.

The staff at the Kilavuz are very helpful, You can sit and talk, play cards or table football, or just be lazy and read a book around the spotless pool.
The food from Timmi throughout the day is also first class, and when he goes home (which is not very often) Boris can step in and make you a snack, But remember, he is a barman.
Boris also keeps a good stocked bar, and can supply music from before he was born, right upto todays new stuff.

PLEASE PLEASE don't wait till you get home to complain that the music was crap or far too loud, ask for your type of music and if its too loud ask then to turn it down a bit, or to turn the one speaker off, its so easy, and it won't spoil your holiday.

I was at the Kilavuz for the first time in May/June 2005 after 17 years of going to Bodrum (twice a year), I tried to book again for Sept/Oct but it was full, so I went to the Mert Hotel (sunset hols), I still spent all my time at the Kilavuz Hotel, Because of the nice staff, and owner, and because it is clean and you are made welcome, even if you don't stay at the hotel. Yes I did spend money, So yes they want to see me, But thats their job, To make money and make people happy.
about the cleaner, Stayed out all night, then stayed in bed all day, If you don't leave the room, or you go out and take your key with you, Then the cleaner will not enter your room, She has lots of jobs to do (not just at the Kilavuz) so she only has so much time to do all the tasks.

I hope others will write their reports here (good or bad) as it can only help the staff to do things better, and make any changes to make you stay at the Kilavuz even better. Willie.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Willieabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2005

Well we have been to Hotel Kilavuz on many occasions, every August. The staff are fantasic, especially Boris and Timmy, and baby Hussain!!
Boris is a very great, dear friend of ours, and we will defianltely be back for more next year, only next time will be even more special as it will be our honeymoon.
The hotel rooms are basic, but lovely and kept fantastically clean by the cleaning lady.
The pool is great, never too crouded, and the food (thanks to Timmy) is fantastic too.

The atmosphere at Kilavuz is great, and everyone joins in together to have a laugh.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

PS, if Hazel & Alfie are reading this, try and get in touch if possible.

Amy & Daz

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

I stayed at the Kilavuz between the 18th-30th August 05.

On arrival, Boris was great, helped us loads with things.

The hotel is small, and the pool is too, but this isnt even noticable when your actually in it. The facilities are good, rooms very very clean.

Excellent location, centrally based next to beach and nightlife.

Nightlife better however in Gumbet, cheap taxis there too!

Id definately go again, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2005

Returned today from an intruiging but sour week in Bodrum. Kilivuz hotel is in a good location, but when they gave up cleaning my room for no reason near the end of the week I was bloody sour to say the least. The legend that is Boris has more England shirts than there were chunky women at the resort - and that is saying something! "Boris 69" will definitely be remembered by us. Watch out for his attempts to organise "table football parties"!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2005

I've just returned - literally - from the most fantastic week in Bodrum. The Kilavuz Hotel may not be what everyone is looking for, but if you want a dynamic central location, the friendliest staff imaginable, and a small, intimate group of holiday-makers looking for the same thing, then this is the place for you!

Boris, Timmy and Emmin will do everything possible to make your stay as relaxed as possible and work their butts off to ensure it happens! Boris may be a bit of a 'jack the lad' but his heart is in the right place and he and his staff are loads of fun.

The pool may not be as large as you hoped, but has shaded areas and is very deep.... and never crawling with people as the hotel only holds 30 people at a time.

I missed getting the numbers of those who stayed there this week with me and my pal, Jeannie, so Willie 'the Godfather' and Roseanne, Lynda and Ian or Jo and John, drop me a note at gillyward@hotmail.com

This is the only holiday I've been on when the whole guest list turn out to say cheerio when you leave a day before everyone else! Thanks guys for making our wee last minute trip to Turkey one the best weeks holiday we've ever had....

Can't wait to go back, but next time when its a bit cooler!!!

Luv Gill and Jean fae (near-enough) Dundee in Scotland xxx

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GillW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Merhaba
Hotel Merhaba
#69 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
#24 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel 48
The Hotel 48
#73 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#41 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Best Life Hotel Bodrum Center
0.5 mi away
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
#28 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilavuz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilavuz Hotel

Property: Kilavuz Hotel
Address: Carsi Mah. Ataturk Cad. Adliye Sok. No:17, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilavuz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilavuz Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing