We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as we thought!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum
Ranked #86 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as bad as we thought!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked to stay in L'Ambiance Resort in October 2012 and after reading the reviews on here we were very nervous about going. But we were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel itself is beautiful to look at on the outside. it is situated right on the Myndos Gate which is a place to visit in Gumbet and a piece of Turkish history. The rooms are very basic but all you need for sleeping, showering and getting ready etc. Our shower was pretty rubbish and just trickled out and the door was broken but we were able to shower which is all we wanted. The air con in the room worked which was greatly appreciated some days. The fridge was horrible but we just didn't use it - we went all inclusive so didn't really need to keep anything in the room anyway. The TV worked but only had English channels part of the day but again we didn't watch it much since we were out and about all day. Our room was fine for what we needed, plenty of space for clothes etc and for getting ready but could have done with a little TLC but being the last week of the season it was bound to be looking a bit tired.

We did not get our towels and bed changed unless we asked for it but when we asked the wee man who cleaned the rooms did it straight away and a couple of times we came back to the towels in shapes and flowers all over the bed which was cute. He was lovely and couldn't be more helpful. The guys on reception were helpful to us too, anything we needed they helped us with without any hassel however we heard that some other people had problems with them, but we were friendly towards them and we got the same back.

Pierre the barman, Oya the entertainment girl and Rus one of the guys who worked in the hotel were brilliant!!! They made staying in the hotel soo enjoyable and we could not fault them! the kitchen staff and waiting staff were friendly but not in the way Pierre, Oya and Rus were. The food was nice but very repetitive but it was what we expected, and with it being soo cheap to eat out this wasnt a problem for us.

The hotel is a very short walk down the hill (5mins - maybe 10 depending on how fast you walk) to the main restaurants and shops etc which made it a really good location. If you went the opposite direction out of the hotel there is a McDonalds, Dominos and variety of restaurants about 5mins up the road as well as a very big shopping centre with loads of shops for everyone (i loved it - my boyfriend was not so happy being dragged round).

The hotel has a Turkish Bath downstairs and a small "gym". we went for a Turkish Bath once while we were there and we loved it. the girls who did it were very friendly and took a lot of time with us. we would definitely go for another one if we go back to Turkey!!!

This hotel has its flaws but you get what you pay for and it was all we needed to enjoy our holiday. We were there the last fortnight of the season so a lot of things were closed and it was very quiet but we still enjoyed ourselves. During the last week we were told that the hotel had been sold to and American guy and he was going to update the hotel - which if they do we would certainly consider going back here as the hotel is central to soo many things and beautiful when you see it.

one thing to note - If you do not like Cats then Gumbet is not the place for you as there are cats everywhere you turn

Room Tip: if you are willing to pay an little extra when you get there then you can get a room with a living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    99
    84
    87
    223
See reviews for
140
203
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

On arrival at 10.30pm you think your room would be ready as it should have been at 2pm that afternoon, but no it was not. We waited until 11.15pm, the walk from reception to the room was beautiful, all small building and flowers which smelt lovely. The room however was a differnt story, Dirty is not the word for it. Pictures are attached as it is hard to discrib. Hairs in the bed, toilet black. Went to reception told nothing could be done until morning. The following morning we waited and waited for the Manager to start work, around 11am. Gave us keys to 3 other rooms to view. Worse than what we had. Met our rep who was not bothered only wanted to sell us trips. No safety deposit box available all out. Tables for meals were arranged around the pool which was lovely if you got there early and did not move all night, not enough table to go around for all visitors. Tables were not cleaned from one meal to the next, table mats were never wipped off. On a plus side and the only plus side the pool area was lovely. Just needed to be kept clean. Room cleaning did not happen, they knocked twice and each time it was around 6.30pm just when we were showering to go out for the evening. Clean towels you had to chase after a maid and ask for them.. AND DO NOT USE HOTELS 4 U they do not answer emails completely to do with your complaint

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, just do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodrum City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel was the cheapest we found, so although its not the best location they do run free shuttle for nights out and local busses are easy to use.
Staff friendly good hotel I defiantly would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula280986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I read lots of reviews on here and decided to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt. I have worked as an entertainer in many all inclusive hotels and had heard similar comments from guests when the hotels were nice clean and the food was good. Yes after a week it is similar but edible. This was not the case in this hotel! The food was of the poorest quality I have ever seen. A few of the guest called it mystery meat. I honestly couldn't tell you what it was! I had a terrible tummy bug the whole time I was there. The rooms were cleaned maybe twice in 2 weeks. I actually stood at reception for an hour one day to get clean towels and even then they still looked dirty. The pool was dirty. Our shower was cracked and also filthy. The rooms were tiny and the furniture in them was falling apart. We actually were moved twice as it was so bad. The staff were rude and favoured the Turkish guests. The only saving grace was the drinks were nice and it was hot and sunny! The local restaurants were well priced so ended up eating out a lot. DO NOT buy any trips from the reps in the hotel. They will lie to your face about trips to try and sell you theirs. For example our rep told us you couldn't get a bus to the local market on a Saturday. We then found out from another guest you could and got on it with no problem for less than half the price they were selling it for. There is also a rep working there called Bryon who can not be trusted! He sold a couple we got friendly with a few trips. They then got ill probably from the food and couldn't go. They spoke to Bryon about letting a dad chris and his two boys go to the waterpark instead of their trip which he agreed to. Then chris gave the girls the money and the girls flew home. When Chris tried to arrange the trip with Bryon he claimed he had given the girls a refund and wouldn't give Chris the trip. In the end other staff and guests got involved so he cracked under the pressure and gave Chris the tickets for the trip. Apparently this was not a one of incident. So to summarise do not go to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I went to turkey with my friend in September and I was quite worried about the hotel because if all the reviews I read on this website BUT there is no need to be worried because it is a lovely hotel. It's not the best but you only get what you paid for and I think for the price we paid it was really nice. The staff are friendly and it's a plus that the club strip is walking distance from the hotel lol! The only thing I would say is the food isn't the best but I just ate salad rice and bread for a week (carb heaven lol).. Overall I think it's a lovely hotel and you defiantly get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParisShanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

When me and my boyfriend arrived at the resort, we were allocated a twin room when we had requested a double. The hotel staff moved us to a double that had mould on the walls and exposed electrical wiring. The third room offered was filthy, but by now it was very late and we were tired so accepted it after we were told it would be cleaned the next day.
The next day we attended at the guest welcome meeting where I raised the issue of the dirty room. Despite being given assurances that it would be cleaned, this never happened. Furthermore, I reported being unable to use the balcony due to overgrowth, a broken and leaking fridge, a faulty hairdryer which gave out electric shocks and the lack of satellite television as advertised. We had to collect our own clean towels (which were usually damp), because there was no room service. Despite my continued complaining, none of these issues were addressed.
When we used the hotels turkish bath facilities the sauna did not work at all, the male staff who carried out the turkish bath (as there was no option to request a female) were perverts and very unproffesional.
The pool was too dirty to use, and the external lights surrounding the pool had exposed electrics. The sun beds were un-usable as most were broken, and there were missing and broken floor tiles. The public toilets were also filthy with used condoms left on the floor.
I now wish to draw you attention to the catering facilities and the all inclusive package that we bought. The eating area was infested with cats, and cat faeces were present on the floor throughout our stay, again despite drawing it to the attention of the staff. The food was monotonous and stale, and we both suffered from upset stomach and sickness. Additionally,
the bar constantly ran out of the all inclusive drinks. We therefore had to purchase other drinks and food, spending twice our budget.
On the second day i noticed a nasty rash had started on my back, this spread round onto my front side and got worse and very sore throughout our stay. I thought it was an innocent rash, maybe a heat rash so decided to wait until arriving back home to get it checked out. My trip to my GP revealed i had caught shingles! After discussing my stay in turkey with my GP she advised it is very likely i had caught the shingles from either dirty towels or dirty bedding.
My boyfriend had booked this trip for my birthday and we were sold this holiday as a 4star, however it was obvious the hotel was definately not a 4star. After speaking to our holiday rep, we were advised the manager of the hotel had recently passed away which has left the future of the resort unknown and it had also been dropped to a 2 star. I think it is ridiculas that this hotel is still advertised as a 4star holiday as i do not even think it is a 1star! Staying at this hotel is a big health risk, go elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

this is our first visit to turkey and to this type of hotel. we have previously stayed in high rise spanish hotels. this hotel had a more rustic feel to it, with seperate 2 storey blocks. we found the hotel different but we enjoyed it. the pool was built around ancient ruins, and was cleaned every day. our room was cleaned every day. the hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. althouggh some guests did not like it and left after one night we found nothing to complain about and are booking the same hotel next year. the food at the hotel was more mediteranian than english but there was plenty of choice. but would not describe it as bad. you get what you pay for and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cazw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#13 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamond of Bodrum
Diamond of Bodrum
#35 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#22 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#6 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum

Property: L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum
Address: Buyuk Iskender Yolu Myndos Kapisi Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ambiance Resort Bodrum 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Also Known As:
l`Ambiance Resort Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
l Ambiance Hotel Bodrum
l Ambiance Hotel Yaliciftlik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing