We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect for 2*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Istankoy Bodrum
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What you would expect for 2*”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What you have to realise is this is a 2* hotel and as such I have rated it accordingly.
Arrival to the hotel was ok. We were greeted by staff and check in was quick. However when we were taken to our room, things quickly changed. The room was like a dungeon. The room was clearly a smoking room and mould was visible in the bathroom. The room was very small, which we expected hence why we paid for a twin room which sleeps three as advertised by Thomas cook. As this wasn't the case we went to reception and asked for a move. This tool over an hour of fighting with staff about the condition of the room and eventually a reluctant manager moved us room. Second room was better but still small and the bed was broken. The next morning we met with the rep. She stated that it was "strange" to have complaints about the room as it "never happens". Despite this all 4 couples who arrived at the same time had similar complaints. The rep remained unhelpful and this was also reported by other guests. Eventually through our own actions we were given a bigger room which was up to standard.
Food at the hotel was good and reasonable and the chef is very pleasant.
Bar staff are friendly and music is turned off at 12am.
Boat trip which is provided by the hotel is by far the best in the area. I have visited Bodrum 5 times and this was the best experience. I would recommend anyone staying at the hotel try it.
Overall this hotel is on a great location, 5 mins to the front and main area of Bodrum town. I would go back and stay again for this reason. Also based on 2* I definitely think this is reflected on the service we received and rooms we were given. I wouldn't pay over the odds to stay at the hotel but would consider returning in the future. Just expect to fight over your room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    94
    43
    22
    12
See reviews for
90
183
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned this morning from the Istankoy, What a gem. been in a lot of hotels and this one is by far the best, Definately not 2 star. Hassan, Cem and Edie are great guys, All the staff work so hard to make your stay 5 star. Food is as good as you'll get and very reasonable. We ate there 10 out of 14 nights . Give it a try you wont be disappointed. Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, 2 minutes from the beach, bars, and shops, spent 2 weeks in Bodrum and never had a bad meal, plenty of places to eat and the food in the hotel is very good if you want to eat there and for shoppers there is nowhere better.

Room Tip: Been to the same hotel for the last four years and never had a bad room, they are all quiet and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iraq
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at istanbul hotel for 2 nights, the hotel was chosen by our group coordinator and it was a giod choice. The only thing they should improve is the english speaking at the recipient & phone line in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havalamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After reading so many reviews all stating how good the hotel is, how nice and friendly the staff are its safe to say I was so looking forward to my stay at the Istankoy. On arrival the reception staff where extremely rude, the rooms where small and grimy and the bed sheets did not even fit the bed! The room cleanliness I felt was poor and in the bathroom the shower leaked all over the floor when you showered!
The bar and waiting staff were all polite and helpful and the food was really nice..But this i'm afraid is the only good thing about the hotel..
The night time receptionist never smiled and was so miserable..the day time receptionists were just as bad..i could not get over how rude they were.. When working in customer service, people skills are a must and these people had zero! I could not wait to come home!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This lovely friendly hotel is in the middle of everything in Bodrum with a five minute walk to the beach through the car park opposite and down a lovely narrow street and you are right there! We arrived late in the evening on 11th August and had a quick receptionist giving us our key and explaining where the room was. We got a room (no 307) which was overlooking the pool area and had a small balcony, enough for 2 people to stand on but not sit out in but that was fine. The room was very clean and had 2 single beds, enough storage, dressing table with large mirror and small fridge. The bathroom had a shower instead of bath, toilet and sink and was spotless.
The swimming pool isn't massive but big enough and was again kept spotlessly clean. The sunbeds were great but if it is busy you might not get 1 all day but as people staying there are in and out at different times of the day, you get 1 at some point. There were parasols normally between 2 sunbeds. The bar is on 1 side of the pool and always had friendly staff there to get you whatever you asked for.
There is a terraced sunbed area up steps beside the bar with plenty more sunbeds and big cushions to relax on.
The pool is not allowed to be used after 6pm as the staff clean it every night and move all the sunbeds and then put out tables and chairs round the pool to sit and have dinner at. They put a fountain in the pool at night and lit it up which was lovely.
We went B&B and the breakfast was more than enough to start your day off with a selection of bread, cereals, boiled eggs, olives, cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, orange, tea and coffee but if you wanted to pay a bit extra you could have a full english breakfast, omelettes etc.
We had dinner 3 times around the pool, 1st time with steak dinner with trimmings, 2nd time at the weekly BBQ (which was excellent) and 3rd on the Sunday before we left having a beautiful roast beef dinner.
The chef was so friendly and always came out of the kitchen and came to our table to ask if everything was ok.
The cleaning staff were fabulous making our beds every morning and we always had fresh towels and enough toilet paper.
There is entertainment every night with kareoke, a contortionist, belly dancer, traditional dancers ,break dancers and much more.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough as the staff work so hard to make your stay a wonderful experience and would like to thank them all so much for being so lovely even though they might have been tired especiallly Eddie, Ali and Cem and don't know the chefs name but him aswell.
The hotel has a rescue parrot which everyone seems to take to and it woof whistles and talks as you walk past.
Even though the bar was opposite our room, they turn the music down at 12 midnight so it's not as noisy.
The 5 minute walk to the beach has umpteen restaurants, bars and cafes and the shopping is good if you want to buy fake goods and also traditional goods.
Bodrum Castle is at the end of the long shopping area where all the boats are moored with some super yachts there too. Blanca restaurant which is a fish restaurant was our favourite nearer to the castle
So to sum up, had a really lovely time at this hotel, great hard working staff and would stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennycraig25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A perspective....my partner and I are in our 50's and enjoy cheaper accommodation which leaves us with funds to explore the area. On the way to Bodrum from Cornwall we paid £70 for a night in a Premier Inn (breakfast was extra and was the usual fry-up). Taking into account that our flights were probably half the holiday price we paid about £60 a night at the Istankoy. Breakfast included, yes, and funnily, because we were in Turkey it was a Turkish breakfast (olives, bread, cheese, melon, tomato, cucumber, Turkish tea/coffee -yum).
Our room was clean and basic and we added air con (because we didn't want to die at night! The day temp shot up to 41 some days and nights not below 28) and a safe for the week =£35.The traditional balcony in Turkey is a Juliette type so you can dry your towels and swimmies. There is a maid service everyday from the small yellow, smiling smurfetts and we even had our bed decorated with swan towels and flowers.
The staff are lively, friendly and funny. There was entertainment every night and the Turkish night was fab with an amazing meze, salads and grilled meats and Turkish dancers, break dancers and belly dancers - well played! Istankoy 5 Premier Inn 0.
The hotel is a five minute walk from the sea front which is lined with bars and restaurants. A meal will cost you anything from £4 for a kebab to £100 for the best meal you will ever eat in your life (Kortan 325 served up deep fried mussels, prawns, a huge sea bream and figs to finish). At 6pm the sunbeds magically disappear and then the beach is filled with tables and sofas (we ate with our feet dipping in the sea). If you set off towards the castle you meander through the covered shopping area through to the marina. There is very little aggressive hassling as in other parts of Turkey but the traditional way to shop is to play the Turkish way....decide what you want at a distance, work out what you would pay for it and then haggle- great fun!
The hotel couldn't be a better base if you want to experience the area. Just down the road is the travel agents which are cheaper than the package tour prices and just as efficient - picking you up from the hotel and dropping you back again. The boat trip was £10 each for the whole day incl lunch on board with 5 stops for jumping into the cooling sea. Our highlight was a 7am-7pm trip to Ephesus - a totally brilliant, an awesome experience that will stay with us forever, lunch incl and all for £25 each.
Bodrum town is wonderful, vibrant, clean, as is the hotel. As with all our holidays we open our hearts and minds to a new country and culture and Turkish people are wonderful, friendly, warm and willing to tell you amazing stories. I say this to all the grumpy old moaners who want something for nothing.....
Yavrum hepsi seninmi = baby, it's all yours.....if you just open your eyes and look.

Room Tip: All good clean, basic rooms, if you want quiet ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Innerminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.4 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bodrum City
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#7 of 97 in Bodrum City
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#22 of 97 in Bodrum City
520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#11 of 97 in Bodrum City
2,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulec
Hotel Gulec
#29 of 97 in Bodrum City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istankoy Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istankoy Bodrum

Property: Hotel Istankoy Bodrum
Address: Ataturk Cad. No:73, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bodrum City
#5 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Istankoy Bodrum 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Istankoy Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istankoy Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing