We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have been excellent, until air con & manager went wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
Ranked #35 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Should have been excellent, until air con & manager went wrong”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

"A beautiful place with great staff" was our first impression; having spent five weeks travelling around Turkey. Pool area and the lounge beds and cushions were brilliant. We even told the manager how nice it all was. Mind you the bar man had no idea about any kind of drinks; even the ones on the list!

However, we noted that another guest said management took ages to fix their air con. Then, after reporting our air con three times for spitting large amounts of ice and black fungal-looking material all over our bed, and the septic smell emanating from the bathroom, the manager could not have cared less, and gave the impression that we were being fussy about it. We didn't choose to be woken up with this at 6am on our deopartre day. (I think air-con problems were the bane of his existence!)

He was extremely arrogant and patronizing, looked my partner up and down whilst she was complaining about his response and attitude, and didn't even apologise for the inconvenience. He wanted to charge us 50 Lira for a late check-out regardless of the early awakening; even telling us we should have called him at 6am to change rooms.

Shame about the manager and the air-con. (And yes the air-con minimum temperature was set at 21 degrees! So the room hardly ever cooled properly). Everything else was fine. (Oh. btw, there was a burglary in one of the rooms the week befiore we arrived).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portpad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

As a funky 40yr old, I was sold on this boutique hotel which only has 26 rooms, so thumbs up if you don't want to be part of the holiday rat race! The hotel is located 10mins from the hustle & bustle of central Bodrum which was great for my partner and I as we are fit & healthy and enjoyed the regular exercise, walking into centrale and back. However, for the older adult or those that don't want to walk so far to get a meal, you may find this a bind! There is a bus (come out of the hotel, turn right and at the traffic lights, turn right again and wait on the corner - i think it's a no.2 or 3 bus) that takes you to Bodrum bus station which is literally at the heart of it all.

As this hotel only does B&B (breakfast not great - hot food was tepid, hotel are stingey on the twinings teabags, plenty of bread, tomatoes, boiled eggs, melon, jams and a sugar coated cheap cereal - advise to to take your own cereal if that's what you like), you need to go out for the rest of your meals. If you are typically english and want a meal that you are accustomed to at home (including sunday roast) then head to 'Curly's bar'. Ask the manager for directions - it will only take 5 mins to get there. On the whole road where Curly's is situated, are a host of bars serving food. Carry on right to the end of this road, cross over the road, carry on walking down and you hit Bodrum Centrale where there are bars, restaurants, Halikarnos (largest outdoor nightclub in Europe), shops, kebab joints etc - they are all situated along the marina / pebbled beach edge so you can't miss them!
One thing we discovered is that the hotel do snacks throughout the day, they just don't tell anyone! Make friends with the manager, and you'll be laughing!

There are 2 supermarkets opposite the hotel and this is where we stocked up on water & wine, the latter being quite pricey in Turkey but remember, you're on holiday so treat yourself!

Hotel rooms, if you want a brew, take a kettle aswell as your travel iron. Another big piece of advice, TAKE YOUR OWN TOWELS to bathe with as their worn out white ones will make your toes curl over! You can use theirs to put on the sun lounger! Rooms have air con & satellite TV, a fridge and plenty of hanging space for your clothes.

Manager is a diamond but to be honest, they don't have to do much! The bar by the pool is rarely used and looks beaten up but we weren't bothered as we were out all the time.

All in all, if you looking for somewhere to lie your head, soak up the sun and be within a stone's throw of the hip side of Bodrum then this is for you. If you don't like walking, want everything at your fingertips and great amenities onsite at a click of a finger, then avoid!

We enjoyed it and would go back so the 'decision is yours'....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sauda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Visited this hotel with a friend in june 2010. Loved the design of the hotel with rooms set in blocks around the poole and other seating areas. The staff were great and made us feel very
welcome. All the British guests we spoke to were of the same opinion as us ! A real little gem! The walk to the harbour from the hotel took us about 15 mins. The dolmus could be caught on the corner 5mins downhill from the hotel. We explored other smaller bays by catching the dolmus from the bus station. We will return ! and we dont usually visit the same place twice!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melonsWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed at this hotel a few times on business and it is a lovely clean hotel with friendly staff and a good location. The rooms are very comfortable and compared to other hotels in the area, it is very good value for money. As I was on business I never used the pool but it looked very nice and the poolside was never too crowded. The only thing that would have made it complete for me would have been a restaurant where I could have dinner as sometimes, after a long day, the town centre did feel a little too far!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for one week. The structure is very fine, soberly elegant, surrounded by a lush garden of trees and brilliant flowers, with a nice pool and solarium.It's located in a quiet residential area, just a few minutes foot (7-8) by bustling downtown Bodrum.The spacious rooms, are all with terrace or patio. Effective cleaning and every day. The breakfast is excellent, varied and rich. The staff very polite, helpful and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arjumand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean8lee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

This place was a bargain at $40us a night but it was a bit of a walk to town. Great breakfast,and pool. Nice staff.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean8lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

What a lovely place to stay - probably the quietest place we have stayed in but that made it even more special. Only about 25/30 rooms and at times we were the only people around the pool even though the hotel was full and it was early August, in fact it felt like we were staying in our own big villa.

The hotel was very clean and it had a nice pool and sunbathing area. There was an outside bar and a small restaurant. There was a lovely atmosphere sat at the bar in the early evening enjoying the warm humid weather that anybody who has been to Turkey in July/Aug will know what I mean. It was just a pity that not more people came to the bar as it was always very quiet, we were often the only ones there. But this did not detract from our enjoyment of the place.

The hotel was located on a quiet road leading out of Bodrum but it was only about 10/12 mins walk before you came across bars/restaurants/shops etc. There were one or two even closer. One which I cannot remember the name of was set back off the main road walking into Bodrum just below the hotel, I think it was signposted from the road - it was excellent. Also Demeter bar was a friendly bar and served good meals, this was further down the road as you walked towards the bus station. But generally there was a great choice of good quality bars/restaurants, but check the prices as some were very expensive.

The Sariyaz was an excellent place to stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukbriang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.2 mi away
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
Costa Bodrum City Hotel
#24 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merhaba
Hotel Merhaba
#69 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#41 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bodrum Maya Otel
Bodrum Maya Otel
#19 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
Moonshine Hotel & Suites
#27 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel 48
The Hotel 48
#73 of 99 in Bodrum City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Sariyaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sariyaz Hotel

Property: Costa Sariyaz Hotel
Address: Umurca Mahallesi, Dr. Mumtaz Ataman Cd. No: 47 | Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey (Formerly Sariyaz Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Sariyaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Sariyaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sariyaz Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing