We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great All Inclusive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salmakis Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Stockholm
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great All Inclusive hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was staying at Salmakis with my family for a week's All Inclusive. The location was great, nice pool area and great beach. The all inclusive food was probably one of the best I have experienced, but maybe they lacked some choices for smaller kids. We were traveling with a 19 months kid and the selection for him was kind of limited. The restaurant staff, however, was fantastic in their service and assistance and did everything to help us and keep our kid entertained.

The rooms were kind of boring, but functional and with enough space. We had a room close to the reception, which was good as our kid goes to bed at 8 pm and the entertainment by the beach was kind of loud and finished at around 11 pm.

It was also easy to get into Bodrum with the boat taxi service and a visit is well worth it. It was not a problem to bring a pram, neither on the boat nor in Bodrum.

We will probably go back in a few years time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jasontheglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    356
    140
    48
    42
See reviews for
423
457
58
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel is excellent, the rooms are basic but nice, the grounds are lovely, the beach and water is very clean, the pool was lovely and lots of sun loungers and places to relax. In a good location for Bodrum or if your in the partying mood Gumbet.
The staff where very friendly and the Animation team were excellent, they work so hard and are all so friendly, we made some new friends and had a blast. The food was great lots of different things on offer and the turkish bread is amazing, oh and for the sweet tooth the desserts are fab!
I dont think i have anything bad to say even the entertainment was brilliant ... oh one thing they could improve on is the cocktail menu maybe have a couple more FREE for all inclusive as there was only one we could have unless we paid .... we dont go all inclusive to pay ! Great idea they do though is free bottles of water for all inclusive guests that are in a fridge you can help yourself too, and we took full advantage as it was hot while we were there, didnt see one cloud in the sky, we went the 9th of september for a week and weather wise was a great time to go as it was hot but you got a nice slight breeze in the afternoon.
We partied in Gumbet and that was good fun, we also had a meal out in Bodrum and the food was great .. best steak with mushroom sauce i have ever had i cant remeber name of restaurant but when you get off the water taxi (boat) from the salmakis its opposite and to the left (says how long the restaurant has been there and think begins with K ???)
I would recomend this hotel to all ages as something for everyone, couples or single as it is a nice hotel away from all the hecticness of Gumbet but only a 5 min drive to get to all the action. If you want a good night out go to the popeye party with the animation team it was an excellent night out, lots of fun and you all wear the popeye tshirts, great laugh !!
Also we had lunch at the beach bar restaurant a few times and we really enjoyed the chicken sandwhiches, if you have it pls ask for extra chicken and take it to feed the cat/kitten you have outside your room as your bound to have one and they are very cute and a bit hungry, the hotel do feed them but their still a bit hungry ... i am a cat lover so had to feed them !
I would go back and take the family with me tomorrow if i could !

Room Tip: Get one with a seaview they are the better rooms for size and an excellent view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jemsy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Service is poor only dinner is delicious and the location of hotel is close to center

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Superb location overlooking the harbour.
Staff out-of-control! Need supervison. rude and disrespectful
food acceptable
rooms need up-grading
stairs tedious
no wake-up call -- had to take taxi for 100 euros to the airport. BEWARE! front desk could care less!
when you go to Turkey, book a 5* hotel!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

As a couple we loved our stay this October. From the moment we walked in we nodded with relief that we were somewhere we felt suited us as, hate to say it, 'middle class'. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained; from the large reception/atrium bar to the rooms, stairways, pool, toilets, spa area, etc. The location is perfect; 10 mins walk from Bodrum Marina, 20 mins to Bodrum town centre (up-market resort town) and only 15 mins into Gumbet (pizza, beer and chips party central in season). The beach is small but quite sandy. The outside pool is very nice to be around (but unheated so not for use after September) and the indoor pool / jacuzzi is included and is clean, warm and refreshing. We loved the buffet. It was varied each night and had a good mix of meat, fish and vegetarian. There was a staggering array of salads, cheeses and olives available for all meals and some very weird and wonderful desserts too. You won't find your English chavvy meals here like American style pizza, chicken nuggets and ketchup but you will get chargrilled or salmon chicken fillets, sea bass, vegetable moussaka, ground meat pita bread, goats cheese and spinach parcels, etc. Our room was clean and well appointed with a good shower that was hot and powerful. We found the food on the a la carte was lovely (except the Tiramisu, which was mis-named). As for the staff, well, they are nice but, like many developing countries, their approach to service is a little more relaxed than our English one. If you treat them gently at first, leave a few tips but most of all banter with them they warm up and they are as good as you'll get in a Turkish resort. They are smartly dressed, well managed and do their job. The restaurant oozes efficiency with the chef and sous chef visibly taking pride in what they do. The main reception area serves as the main bar and is a very relaxing place to chill in the evenings with views out over the Aegean sea (you can just see Bodrum castel). The drinks on the fully inclusive tariff are what you'd expect (one beer, local spirits, etc). I merry got drunk on vodka and soda every evening :-) What would I 'warn' people about? Well, there are quite a few stairs (about 3 storeys from reception down to the pool/restaurant) because it's built on the hillside so if you're overweight (or have joint problems) and don't like stairs don't go to Salmakis. The gym area is VERY smart and well appointed but they do charge 30TL per day per person to use it (that's about £12) so we didn't. The indoor pool is free though. Overall, a great time spent with my girlfriend and we both agreed it is one place we would not mind going back to in the future. Having looked through the travellers photos on this site, they are all completely representative (yeah we had a loose grab rail on the bath too but who cares!) As a guide we paid £500 each for one week fully inclusive through Thomas Cook including flights and transfers, end of October.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are land-facing. The balcony rooms face the back of another block. You have to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Berto2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Taking a punt on the offering of hotels on the net plus travel agents advice, decided on this hotel, due to location and price for 1/2 board, the rooms a decent and fairly roomy, poolside offers a lot of variety, with covered areas,grassed lawn area plus beach level covers everyones needs (music poolside can be loud, if you like stay close if not find a spot further away, drinks / dining area is excellent, great view of bay, food offered buffet style was very good only draw back paying for an after dinner coffee! but all in all value for money, easy access to nearby Bodrum via small water taxi for 5 TL represents good value and service is every 10 mins or so.

Room Tip: always ask for a room with a view if available, friend seven got an upgrade to a junior suite at no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royaashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I'll try to keep this brief and to the point. The good:
# Large rooms, very clean
# Location - just outside Bodrum so you have to take the water taxi in to town (5TL) if you don't want to walk but this is a glorious trip and well worth it.
# Plenty of food choice
# Nice pool area, especially the "nests" above the pool with huge cushions - perfect place to take a glass of wine and a good book after dinner. Pool itself is very cold however.
# General ambience/views
# Lots of places to lie around, loads of loungers at pool/garden/beach

The bad:
# The service. Terrible, terrible, terrible. Some of the staff have a massive attitude problem, one member of bar staff especially but also the waiters at dinner - it's a buffet so all they have to do is serve drinks but they will do anything to avoid doing so. Back to the bar staff; it seems to be a matter of pride for them to get your chosen drink into the glass as quickly as possible - just turn the bottle upside down and slosh it in. And if you ask for 2 of the same drink, it's anyone's guess what size glasses you'll each get.
# Whilst there's a lot of choice with the food, it tends to be served pretty cold. As with AIs in general it gets very samey after a few days. Breakfast really pretty poor.
# The a la carte restaurant. Words cannot describe how bad this is. However bored you get with the buffet DO NOT eat in the a la carte. Go into town. Save a bread roll from lunch and make a sandwich. Eat your own toenail clippings. But please, I implore you, don't go near the a la carte.
# Beach area - lots of loungers but all cheek by jowl. Sea great for swimming in however.
# Free wi-fi only works in the reception area but fine for using your phone to check email from home

Some tips:
# Don't take any crap from the bar staff
# Don't buy excursions from your rep, you'll get them at least 50% cheaper in town
# Don't bother with euros you don't need them, just use TL
# Don't worry about the reviews whining about the steps. Unless you have real mobility problems they aren't an issue.

Regardless of the negatives above this isn't really a bad place. Great for a "flop and drop" and some autumn sun, and the talk of Turkey becoming expensive is over done - it's still much cheaper to eat and drink out than England. Just go with your eyes open; this isn't an absolutely top quality place; 3 stars rather than 4, and if you can deal with the service issues without letting them get to you you'll have a nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.5 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#12 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
10.7 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#7 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
Parkim Ayaz Hotel
#6 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmakis Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmakis Resort & Spa

Property: Salmakis Resort & Spa
Address: | Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bodrum City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#6 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salmakis Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salmakis Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salmakis Beach Hotel Bodrum
Salmakis Beach Resort And Spa
Salmakis Hotel Bodrum
Salmakis Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing