We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality accommodation and first class facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salmakis Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salmakis Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
Southend
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation and first class facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

As a couple we loved our stay this October. From the moment we walked in we nodded with relief that we were somewhere we felt suited us as, hate to say it, 'middle class'. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained; from the large reception/atrium bar to the rooms, stairways, pool, toilets, spa area, etc. The location is perfect; 10 mins walk from Bodrum Marina, 20 mins to Bodrum town centre (up-market resort town) and only 15 mins into Gumbet (pizza, beer and chips party central in season). The beach is small but quite sandy. The outside pool is very nice to be around (but unheated so not for use after September) and the indoor pool / jacuzzi is included and is clean, warm and refreshing. We loved the buffet. It was varied each night and had a good mix of meat, fish and vegetarian. There was a staggering array of salads, cheeses and olives available for all meals and some very weird and wonderful desserts too. You won't find your English chavvy meals here like American style pizza, chicken nuggets and ketchup but you will get chargrilled or salmon chicken fillets, sea bass, vegetable moussaka, ground meat pita bread, goats cheese and spinach parcels, etc. Our room was clean and well appointed with a good shower that was hot and powerful. We found the food on the a la carte was lovely (except the Tiramisu, which was mis-named). As for the staff, well, they are nice but, like many developing countries, their approach to service is a little more relaxed than our English one. If you treat them gently at first, leave a few tips but most of all banter with them they warm up and they are as good as you'll get in a Turkish resort. They are smartly dressed, well managed and do their job. The restaurant oozes efficiency with the chef and sous chef visibly taking pride in what they do. The main reception area serves as the main bar and is a very relaxing place to chill in the evenings with views out over the Aegean sea (you can just see Bodrum castel). The drinks on the fully inclusive tariff are what you'd expect (one beer, local spirits, etc). I merry got drunk on vodka and soda every evening :-) What would I 'warn' people about? Well, there are quite a few stairs (about 3 storeys from reception down to the pool/restaurant) because it's built on the hillside so if you're overweight (or have joint problems) and don't like stairs don't go to Salmakis. The gym area is VERY smart and well appointed but they do charge 30TL per day per person to use it (that's about £12) so we didn't. The indoor pool is free though. Overall, a great time spent with my girlfriend and we both agreed it is one place we would not mind going back to in the future. Having looked through the travellers photos on this site, they are all completely representative (yeah we had a loose grab rail on the bath too but who cares!) As a guide we paid £500 each for one week fully inclusive through Thomas Cook including flights and transfers, end of October.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are land-facing. The balcony rooms face the back of another block. You have to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Berto2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    355
    139
    48
    42
See reviews for
415
451
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Taking a punt on the offering of hotels on the net plus travel agents advice, decided on this hotel, due to location and price for 1/2 board, the rooms a decent and fairly roomy, poolside offers a lot of variety, with covered areas,grassed lawn area plus beach level covers everyones needs (music poolside can be loud, if you like stay close if not find a spot further away, drinks / dining area is excellent, great view of bay, food offered buffet style was very good only draw back paying for an after dinner coffee! but all in all value for money, easy access to nearby Bodrum via small water taxi for 5 TL represents good value and service is every 10 mins or so.

Room Tip: always ask for a room with a view if available, friend seven got an upgrade to a junior suite at no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royaashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I'll try to keep this brief and to the point. The good:
# Large rooms, very clean
# Location - just outside Bodrum so you have to take the water taxi in to town (5TL) if you don't want to walk but this is a glorious trip and well worth it.
# Plenty of food choice
# Nice pool area, especially the "nests" above the pool with huge cushions - perfect place to take a glass of wine and a good book after dinner. Pool itself is very cold however.
# General ambience/views
# Lots of places to lie around, loads of loungers at pool/garden/beach

The bad:
# The service. Terrible, terrible, terrible. Some of the staff have a massive attitude problem, one member of bar staff especially but also the waiters at dinner - it's a buffet so all they have to do is serve drinks but they will do anything to avoid doing so. Back to the bar staff; it seems to be a matter of pride for them to get your chosen drink into the glass as quickly as possible - just turn the bottle upside down and slosh it in. And if you ask for 2 of the same drink, it's anyone's guess what size glasses you'll each get.
# Whilst there's a lot of choice with the food, it tends to be served pretty cold. As with AIs in general it gets very samey after a few days. Breakfast really pretty poor.
# The a la carte restaurant. Words cannot describe how bad this is. However bored you get with the buffet DO NOT eat in the a la carte. Go into town. Save a bread roll from lunch and make a sandwich. Eat your own toenail clippings. But please, I implore you, don't go near the a la carte.
# Beach area - lots of loungers but all cheek by jowl. Sea great for swimming in however.
# Free wi-fi only works in the reception area but fine for using your phone to check email from home

Some tips:
# Don't take any crap from the bar staff
# Don't buy excursions from your rep, you'll get them at least 50% cheaper in town
# Don't bother with euros you don't need them, just use TL
# Don't worry about the reviews whining about the steps. Unless you have real mobility problems they aren't an issue.

Regardless of the negatives above this isn't really a bad place. Great for a "flop and drop" and some autumn sun, and the talk of Turkey becoming expensive is over done - it's still much cheaper to eat and drink out than England. Just go with your eyes open; this isn't an absolutely top quality place; 3 stars rather than 4, and if you can deal with the service issues without letting them get to you you'll have a nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Salmakis hotel has much potential to be a very good resort - the food and facilities were good and the value for money was very reasonable.
What let this hotel down was the sever lack of Customer service skills of the staff. The reception and spa staff were down right rude!! A simple smile, acknowledgement, 'please' and 'thank you' go a long way. I found Customer Service in Turkey to be quite poor in general, but the staff here take the cake!
A lift accessing all levels would be a wise investment on the part of the hotel as would a shuttle bus in to town.
The beds are also a little unconfortable and there are no English channels on TV (except the News channel)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Oh dear.We realised from reading earlier reviews that this is a marmite hotel, you either love it or hate it and we hated it. Arrived at 4pm looking forward to our seaview room and all inc week of pampering in honour of my 50th birthday.
The room we had paid extra for was unavailable untill the next day.We were allocated a depressing space facing a bit of grotty garden and a high wall.The terrace was dirty and cracked with tatty plastic chairs and table.
Never mind lets go for a drink to cheer ourselves up.Lovely cold beer, shame about the dirty glasses washed only under the tap that it was in.
Back to super duper room to freshen up for dinner.We are used to all inc food and dont expect miracles but yuck to cold food and I dont mean the salads, warm white wine and a sense ot chaos that would do justice to a chimps tea party.
Enough is enough, we know when to cut our losses.Paid an extortionate amount to transfer to another hotel first thing the next day.Enough said

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

After visiting Turkey in many occasions, the Salmakis hotel is the best one we have every resided at. There are no faults regarding food, staff, cleanliness, location only the amount of steps to and from the beach and eating areas. The water taxi to and from Bodrum is a lovely relaxing 10 minute ride (5 lira each way) and a taxi into Gimbet is only 5 minutes and approx 8 lira. The location of the Salmakis is perfect for visiting both Bodrum and Gumbet and the scenery is stunning too, I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone and will be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddrcnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel along with our four-year old grandson. The idea was to spare the kid the mid-summer Dutch chill and have him enjoy the Mediterranean sun, light, water and whatever good would come our way. The hotel proved a right choice, as from the moment we arrived just before midnight, the boy became a centre of attention. The bellboy, the waiters, the cooks and, above all, the 'pide master' would greet him, strike conversation or just smile or clown. Turks may be a ferocious people, but they have a soft spot in their heart for kids. He enjoyed it and so did we. As the day of departure approached, the boy began developing an argument that we should extend the stay for at least three more days. He was not in a harry to return to the parents and the baby brother.

Room Tip: Go for a room with the view of the pools and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.5 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#8 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#15 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
9.4 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#13 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmakis Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmakis Resort & Spa

Property: Salmakis Resort & Spa
Address: | Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Business Hotel in Bodrum City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#6 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salmakis Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Salmakis Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salmakis Beach Hotel Bodrum
Salmakis Beach Resort And Spa
Salmakis Hotel Bodrum
Salmakis Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing