We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLD REVIEW” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azka Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azka Otel
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Bodrum City
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OLD REVIEW”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My review rate above is from 2 stays one in 2004 and one in 2010, both times i was quite happy. I know it doesnt count for much now...! yes its irrittating having to buy their water but you get a such a cheap deal at the hotel it doesn't bother me that much. Not sure why they were taking bookings in January - the season ends at end of October and doesn't start again 'til March. I was going to go back for a quick week's r and r but will read all recent reviews before deciding. just really saying I am shocked by these reviews as I always thought it was really nice. Of course it's not '5 stars' as in europe but I thought the general quality was fine. They have a genuine Turkish bath and I had the full works and it was great. Resort good too as you don't drive anywhere, just get water taxis into town every day. Anyway I'll see what people say for a few weeks until i consider booking again. But on both occasions I went back then I was really happy with it.

Room Tip: get a sea view. and try to get one at front of hotel as I asked for this last time and got a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    213
    94
    64
    63
See reviews for
160
247
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a very good room, double bed, balcony, overlooking the Bodrum bay. also the Bodrum castle.
Staff very helpful, in making our stay as comfortable as possible.
Excellent price, which included breakfast and dinner.
Has spa, swimming pool.

Room Tip: İf your a couple, specify you want a double bed, or you might get to single. ask for room overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L-89j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel plain and simple. We arrived and were barked at by the security that we were not permitted to pull our van up to the front door. When we went in all of the lights in the lobby and hallway were out. I am assuming to save electricity. We went to our room that resembled a 3 star in the states or Europe. It was celan but was nothing to write home about. The free wifi didn't work as you had to type in the password every 5 minutes or so. The water was barely luke warm in the shower. The hotel's outside pool was slimy green and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in over a year. The lower half of the hotel was a construction zone with trash everywhere and no landscaping. The beach was blocked off by a huge tarp and when we managed to peek around it was littered in plastic. The jacuzzi was freezing and the indoor pool was not heated. Dinner was shredded cabbage and a beef casserole that was mostly fat. We were given the meal as part of board but never saw a menu. They put NO effort into the meal. The staff were rude beyond words and tried to charge us for everything under the sun. They relentlessly reminded us that bringing in water from outside of the hotel would result in a fine but they did not provide us any except with the option of buying it for triple the price. It took two days to talk to someone who seemed to be in charge. They told us we would be refunded when we wanted our money back. We left and they still have our money. This hotel was hands down the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Do not stay at this hotel. I don't normally book 5 star hotels, but when I do I expect a certain hospitality and quality. This hotel provided nothing I would consider "5 star".

In review:

Pros:
-Ok room and beds
-Nice view from our room

Cons:
-No facilities that are advertised...they said it was 'off season'
-horrible food (with no menu)
-no hot water
-no electricity in some of the rooms at night
-no lights in most of the hotel
-under construction lower floor with trash everywhere.
-the section of the beach in front of this hotel was filthy.
-horribly rude staff who were of absolutely no help with any of our requests
-zero hospitality...granted we were not the most happy of customers.
-no manager on site
-the staff kept telling us our complaints were going to be unmet
-have never received a refund after the 'manager' promised us one if we left the hotel...even after paying additional money for two nights because we booked "double" rooms for only "one person"
-the hotel is a 20 minute downhill walk to town...but a 40 minute walk uphill back to the hotel. (cabs are readily available however)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank APBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodrum City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

First off, let me say that living and extensively traveling abroad for 21 years that this is hands down the worst excuse for a five star hotel that I have a ever experienced. No hot water, Elec//Internet failure, terrible food, lying front office, forbidden from bringing in outside bottled water since they didn't, provide any without paying 4X the price, extremely rude front desk, etc.etc.etc....Couldn't stand the continual extra added charges and promises that were not kept so checked out (aparty of six-three rooms) after the second day of a three day reservation to keep my sanity. They won the financial battle but hopefully this review will let others know that this place is a rip off. BUYER BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BBerg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

From the first moment arriving at the gate it has been awful. Very poor customer service. Even though we had already paid for the room thy charged us more money because there was two of us in the room?!? I have never been to a hotel where you have to pay additional money for a married couple to sleep in the same room. They was no one staying here and they refused to back down on this ridiculous policy. Internet is bad. Kicks you off every five minutes. There still has been NO hot water no matter how many times we ask. I would highly encourage you to look elsewhere for a hotel than stay at the Azka Otel. You will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Find any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel many times and I was always satisfied with my stay. I can not understand the bad reviews as if they had paid too much. This hotel may not be like the other 5 stars but it gives you what you need. Clean bathroom, comfy bed, spacious room and spectacular sea view besides it is close to Bodrum center. The swimming pool is quite big and always clean. Breakfast is fine and included in the price. Recommended in the summer time when you can swim and enjoy the beauties of Bodrum.

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at Azka. The room was clean,spacious and the view from balcony was stunning. The breakfast was ok. The dinner they brought to us was hot. No wastage of food. Too many cats in the cafe.. should have been named Catza hotel. Not very children friendly. Water was most expensive. The beach and water taxis were closed as we were off season. Staff were good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudheer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.4 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#7 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#14 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#22 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
9.4 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azka Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azka Otel

Property: Azka Otel
Address: Bardakci Bay | Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Azka Otel 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Azka Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azka Otel Bodrum
Azka Otel Hotel Bodrum
Azka Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing