We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Hotel Overall - Is 4 Star Not 5 - Few Pros & Cons!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Azka Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azka Otel
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Bodrum City
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel Overall - Is 4 Star Not 5 - Few Pros & Cons!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel is a Good hotel overall however is definitely a 'Turkey' 5 Star and is more realistically a 4 Star!

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for two weeks from 13/06/11-27/06/11. First impressions are very good only being a reasonable 45 minutes from Bodrum airport. The staff at the reception are generally very nice and helpful and checking in was without fuss. When arriving in the room it was not very similar to the photo. The rooms are very basic with only one pillow provided and a not very comfortable blanket. The en suite was also very cramped. Not 5 Star! If you want a good nights sleep forget it as the hotel play booming music until around 04:00 in the morning every night! The view was incredible even with the room being a little disappointing. Hotel facilities were good and the Scuba Diving at the hotel was very good and Paddi approved. Generally the hotel was good but definitely a 4 Star hotel. Read on for a more in-depth look at our experience of the 'Azka Otel'.



The general cleanliness of the hotel was very good although the rooms were let down slightly due to the lack of fresh glasses everyday and always finding the door to the balcony being left open and letting all of the mosquitoes in!

The food was generally OK with the buffet having a big array of food to choose from in the evening however the breakfasts were poor being the fact that most of the food served was bread! The cereals were not very nice and the milk dispenser was very often empty.

The hotel was equipped with a few different facilities including Tennis, Squash and Volley Ball courts. There was also Table Tennis, Darts and a Pool Table. As far as keeping the pounds off whilst on holiday the gym was actually pretty good with there being a big selection of equipment. The pools were also a descent size with an indoor and outdoor pool (and jacuzzi) ;-)

The cost of drinks were horrific to say the least and I would recommend that if you find yourself needing more bottled water make sure you take a small trip to the local stores just outside the hotel as it is far cheaper! This includes cocktails as they charge a lot and the staff cant even make them properly (stay away from the Sex On The Beach)!

The staff were generally very good as I said earlier however a lot of them at the bars cant speak a word of English and it is very frustrating when trying to ask for something as simple as a drink! There is also a lot of pestering from the camera man always bugging you to have a photo so he can then charge a huge amount of money for the photos on checkout. Upon checkout make sure you go through your bill thoroughly as we had extra charges that had to be taken off as they had made mistakes!

If you are interested in Scuba Diving during your stay then do try the company recommended by the hotel as (even though it does not say) it is Paddi approved and after doing it found it was very enjoyable. If you are confused as to where to go then its at the hotel next door as they are connected and you can walk to it along the beach. All this however was very unclear as you couldn't ask a member of staff since they couldn't understand you!

If you also want to rent out a car or scooter then definitely go into the town just outside as it is again cheaper and you cannot hire a scooter from the hotel anyway. There are lots of things you can see by travelling around outside the hotel as well as easy access to the night life (if that's what your into). Me and my girlfriend however are not into clubbing that much and did not take the opportunity to go out into the clubs so unfortunately cannot comment on what it was like although after driving past it it did look very good and very well equipped with there being lots of bars and clubs.

If you do decide to book at this hotel then I would say book the sea view room which was the one we stayed in as even though the rooms weren't as good as we had hoped, the view is second to none and is absolutely astonishing! If I'm honest it made up for the room, the view of it on the photo on the hotels website doesn't do it justice it is truly spectacular and you will find yourself relaxing out there in the sun quite often.

The area just outside of the hotel, a mere 10 minutes walk is very nice. Although be warned the hill is very steep and it is a strenuous task when having to come back up it! Once you have caught your breath however and get into the town it is lovely. The harbour is fantastic to walk along and on the way there is a massive array of restaurants and a good selection of shops. I would recommend the restaurant 'Ali Baba' (try the meatballs).

Here is an outline of all the Pros & Cons of the hotel as to make it easier for you if you cannot be bothered to read the novel above,

Pros

Area
Food
Facilities
The View
Scuba Diving
Cleanliness
Sightseeing
Restaurants


Cons

The Room
The Staff (some of)
Pricing
Information
Sports Equipment (rackets etc)
Noise Disturbances
Room Cleanliness


The whole experience of this hotel is 4 Stars. There is an even number of Pros and Cons and if you want a descent hotel to either relax or be adventurous then this caters for both. We each had a pleasurable experience and even though we probably wouldn't visit there again, we would recommend it for the value for money and a generally stress free holiday location.

Alex & Charlotte

Room Tip: Book the sea view room as even though the room is not quite as good as the photo on the hotel websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexh0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    214
    94
    64
    63
See reviews for
161
247
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

25 june 2011 - 06 july 2011
Good accomodation, very helpfull and nice staff, even they speak very poor English. Food was very good with lots of frsh fruits and vegetables, fish, meat, Turkish specialties...
Rooms are daily cleaned! Enough space although badroom could been more up-to-date. Airco works perfect and is very quit!
Flatscreen on room with only 1 Dutch speaking station (BVN), no radio which we found a pity.
Free WiFi but not enough bandwidth for the amount of guests.So very slow...
Sometimes the music from hotels nearby disturbed the loungy atmosphere @ the pool.
Close to Bodrum town, we always took a boatcab (5TL/person).
Boatcab each 5minutes and nearby (5min. walk)
A lot of Balkan visitors.
Overall we had a very good vacation here and will concider to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HVK1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brcko,B&H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I read all reviews, and was little worried about bad ones...but, when we came there, all worries had gone. hotel is nice, room wasn't big, but we didn't come there to sit in room. Azka hotel isn't only hotel where you can't bring food and drink from outside! its almost everywhere:)...but I have to say that we sometimes brought in water in my bag, and nobody asked anything! location of hotel is great, almost every day we walked to the city and it wasn't a problem. also there is a boat taxi, and dolmus... food was good, especially for dinner, salads, vegetable...a lot of turkish food. And finally, beach is beautiful!!!..we had really good holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maira80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Booked the hotel through a travel agent and after reading some of the reviews on here I was slightly worried. But I shouldn't have been. The hotel was lovely. Beautiful location in a cove with a couple of other hotels and it's own private beach which was a blue flag one. Slight draw back was that our room was in part of the hotel which must have been a separate hotel at some point and room, although clean and comfortable, looked a little tired and dated and not like the pictures on the website so I was a little disappointed by this. But as it was just a base for sleeping I wasn't overly concerned. We did also have a fantastic view from the balcony. The hotel next door did have music playing till about midnight every night but this didn't generally bother us.

The staff working in the different bars and restaurant were very helpful despite some of them not speaking very English and the food was ok. I was glad we were only staying b&b as I have a feeling the dinner buffet could get rather repetitive. We only ate there once and ate out in Bodrum for the rest of the time. There's loads of great bars and restaurants there with loads of variety.

Yes you did have to buy bottled water as the tap water wasn't drinkable but I didn't think the prices were that bad in the hotel bars. We paid off our bill a couple of times while we were there to keep track on what we were spending. Although there are signs up outside the hotel stating you can't bring food and drink in, we were never stopped and searched despite walking passed the guards with bags full of turkish delight and small bottles of water!

You can walk into Bodrum from the hotel but it is quite hilly so we generally took the water taxi from the end of the cove into Bodrum and got the local bus back.

Overall I would recommend the hotel. It's in a great location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank km44uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I went there for my Honeymoon, I was expecting a Five stars hotel but what I found there it is only a 2 stars hotel. When you enter the entrance lobby you notice that there no Air conditioning system and it is too hot. In the room there is no Drinking water you have to buy it for 3.5TL, no TISSUES in the room just toilet paper, you can not bring water or any kind of drinks from outside the hotel you have to buy it from there market witch it is so expensive, and a lot of things I will not mention them here. They only have a nice sea view. For me it is not a good Hotel I don't advice any one to stay in this hotel there is a better hotels with the same rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Advisor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodrum City hotels

LONDON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Although this was paradise compared to the original hotel we had book and had to transfer from - the pretty reception and fantastic location did not make up for this very average hotel.

Location - cannot be faulted - absolutely fantastic location with a beautiful setting and a boat service into Bodrum for 5tl per person (please note if there are more than 2 people its cheaper to get a taxi into town or a hilly stroll fo the more daring!) Pool is fantastic - the hotel wasnt at capacity when we went but i could imagine getting a sun lounger being quite a struggle when the hotel is full. The pool is quite deep - not child friendly so this may be another consideration is you have young ones travelling with you.

Room - basic and not particularly spacious. not a 4 or 5 star but more like a good 3 star. the neighbouring hotels are very noisey with music on full blast until the early hours - this didnt bother us too much as we are both late sleepers and late risers but it could be frustrating for those wanting to get an early night.

Service - Restaurtant staff were fab! could not fault their service at all - they were polite and helpful and worked extremely hard. Maid service - not impressive! i do not know if they ever changed our towels or sheets even though we followed the hotel rules on these (towels left on the floor if you want them changed) i was very disappointed when i used one of the glasses for a fizzy vitamin c tablet and next day found the same glass put back in our bathroom and not changed (the residue was still in the glass)! Reception staff were generally quite ignorant and rude - like you were hassling them by asking them questions! There was however one guy on reception who we found very helpful - sorry cant remember his name but he was the only male receptionist during our time there.

Food and drinks - not fantastic - we generally just ended up eating for fuel rather than pleasure which was again a bit of a disappointment. I would reccomend bed and breakfast here as there are a tonne of restaurants in Bodrum and for lunch there are other places to eat along the same strip the beach which are cheaper and of better value! drinks were so expensive and they didnt provide water with dinner which is just not on really! big frustration as you are not allowed to bring in your own drinks (which you can get in town for 1.50 tl and in the hotel they charge 3.50 tl).

overall - if i returned to Bodrum i would try somewhere else as this just wasnt up to scratch. the neighbouring hotels looked much more fun so it may be worth checking those out before booking this.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GkCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We were there during the off-season so the hotel was almost vacant but the staff and location were awesome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeff1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.4 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
889 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#15 of 99 in Bodrum City
2,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#21 of 99 in Bodrum City
485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vera Miramar Resort
Vera Miramar Resort
#9 of 99 in Bodrum City
993 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#14 of 99 in Bodrum City
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azka Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azka Otel

Property: Azka Otel
Address: Bardakci Bay | Bardakci Koyu, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Azka Otel 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azka Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azka Otel Bodrum
Azka Otel Hotel Bodrum
Azka Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing