We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid !”
Review of Hotel Manastir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Manastir
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Udine, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Splendid !”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

When you have been touring Roam ruins or visiting Lycian tombs and all you want to do is relax somewhere, possibly avopiding even the crowds on the beach, this hotel is for you. From the moment you walk in you will be welcomed, assisted to your room which will be bright, will overlook the Agean sea with the Greek Island of Kos on the horizon. You will be half way up a hill overlooking St. Peter's Castle, Kumbahce Bay from your terrace surrounded by beautiful crimson bougainvilles. Walk down a level and you can relax by the pool and overlook Bodrum. If you are looking for nightlife Halikarnas Disco is 5 minutes from the hotel. If you are not looking for nightlife, this may be a small drawback.
Musn't forget the great breakfast. Definitely very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthtravellerUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    131
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
60
150
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Hotel Manastir looks good but the reality is that is pretty darn awful. On arrival we discovered that there were no lifts; no extra pillows and a couple of the lights didn't work. Then we discovered the plaster falling off the walls, the filthy shower - so bad we took photos of it; torn & frayed sheets. On the good side the room was a reasonable size and had a good view. The pool was bitterly cold. The evening meal was tourist fodder: Bland soup followed by a tasteless semi warm pasta frittata. The main was 2 tiny meatballs wrapped in aubergine on a plain potato mash - not too bad but no where near enough in terms of quantity. (Seconds were cold and inedible). Dessert was a fruit sald chock full of soft stale sliced apples. The meal the next night was more of the same. If we weren't on a group tour we would have gone elsewhere.
Then there is the location. It is downhill into town and a taxi ride back. (Cost 12 YTL). In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there is zilch, zip, nothing.
No internet either.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goatpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Having read CatMammas review it was with a little trepedation that we arrived at the Manastir. Initially we were allocated room 413, I guess this was CatMammas Room, and yes it does have its problems. We quickly transferred to another room and the rest of the holiday was great. Staff very attentive, Chamber Maid excellent as were Reception and Resaurant staff. Food was very good but choice tailed off in the last few days as the season drew to a close.
I would recommend this hotel providing that you avoid room 413!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Panoramic Views
  • Disliked — Short but steep walk back from town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

It is a pity what´s happening in this Hotel. Its view over the city of Bodrum is fantastic, the buildings (they say it was an ancient greek monastery) are very original, and the restaurant is still a very good one.
This said, why don´t they have a look at the sewage pipes ? Our room was on the lowest level - the pool level - and we had a whiff of sewer emanations everytime we reached the stairs. Sometimes they tried to cover it with spray, but no way, the smell was there.
Our room had a garden leaning up its external wall. Lovely, yes, but internally, the wall was almost black with humidity - a new impermeabilization would take care of the problem, and we had another smell to deal with, in addition to the sewer in the bathroom.
And yes, what other people say is true. Check carefully the bill when you leave. There were things we didn´t have in there.
Bodrum is a lovely place with other good new hotels. Choose one of them, I don´t recommend this one.

  • Liked — The view and the restaurant
  • Disliked — The soon-to-be-blocked sewage
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

It was the only hotel in the Frommers guide under 120Euro and availbale the same night in Bodrum... so I checked in. Ended up paying 80 TYL a night (about $60 USD) incl breakfast. I did have a room with a balcony, very nice. The bathroom was average, however the room was large, the balcony made it seem larger and the room had a king size bed. The hotel was a Monastery and has been converted. It sits on the hill but the view is well worth the walk...or taxi ride.

I noticed that everything at the hotel was in need of a serious deep cleaning... then I noticed the housekeeping staff was all male.... surpriseing as in Antalya and Istanbul they were the normal female housekeeping. Now usually I have no problem with men, and the gender specifics of housekeeping, however in a country where women are the only ones actually trained in the how too's of housekeeping one would suppose they would be the best "man" for the job. And Dear Manastir it would serve you well as well as your customes to hire some. At least a female housekeeping director!

The bathroom had seen better days and they never, not once in over 10 days - washed the drinking glasses or wiped the counters down. The mildew on the tile was in need of a simple bleach spray down (no scubbing required even) perhaps for a week straight and the stains would be gone. I bet the toilet had never seen scouring powder and the carpet behind and under the chairs had not seen a vaccum in years either. They did change the sheets and linen regularly.

That being said... as I drove the surrounding areas and became familiar with what else was out there.. I believe, outside of the resorts, this was the norm. So I must admit even my snobby butt would probably stay here again!

It is in direct line with Halikarnas night club and if you sleep with the door/window open... you may be dancing in your dreams if you can make it to sleep at all. However once the door's closed and the fan/ac on.. I could not hear a thing. And I bet if you were worried about it, you could request an inside courtyard room and not hear it at all.

Great pool, however cold... view impeccable. Taxi stand right out front hotel. An easy walk down onto the corniche (sea front promonade). The food was good... nothing that knocked my socks off... but I ate it!

The photos of the rooms online are not what the room looked like..... it was actually better.... with plain white bed linen

  • Liked — The other guests
  • Disliked — the dirt
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stappm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

The hotel is just perfect for us (a 40+ couple). The rooms were very nice, the beds a little harder than we were used to. The shower with bath is also perfect. A steady flow of water at a steady temperature. The airco was working perfectly. It was quiet and working 24/7. With outside temperatures of 45+ degrees centigrade, the inside temperature was at a comfortabe 25.

The dinner and breakfast were a treat! A very large choice of foods that tasted almost too good. Of the personnel only 3 or 4 spoke english, but they did everything to make our stay a comfortable one.

Although in high season, there were always free beds at the pool, and the water was very clean. From the pool and almost the entire hotel you have the most perfect view over Bodrum and Kos (Greece).

Two disadvantages:

The road to the city of Bodrum is steep. Take a taxi (5 lira) back to the hotel.

The largest open air disco of Bodrum is just down the road. Ask for a room not directly pointed to Halikarnas.

I will most certainly go back next year!!!

  • Liked — The view, food and the friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — steepness of the road
  • Tips/Secrets — Take daytrips!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

My cousin and I booked the Hotel Manastir via Lastminute.com, going by their picture of the pool and the magnificient views of St. Peter's Castle. I have to say we were disappointed with our twin room. It looked in need of a good lick of paint to brighten it up - but never mind it was clean and comfortable. Then we had to master the art of squeezing into the miniscule bathroom. It took us all week to get the hang of bending round the bathroom door without wedging ourselves between the bath/shower and the basin, but by that time we had no skin left on our toes !!
I should point out that not all the bathrooms in the hotel are as small as that.
I personally like the hotel. Our stay was made welcome by the staff who were all very pleasant and helpful. Neither did we have a problem with the food. You could help yourself to a 4 course meal in the evening if you chose to do so, and relax over a lazy, peaceful breakfast with a breathtaking view in the mornings.
I loved the traditional Turkish cushioned seating area between the pool and the restaurant, where you could flop with a good book - but be careful of the ants! They bite!!
If I had a problem with the hotel -it was its location. You have to be a mountain goat to go up and down that hill it's perched on - but worth the effort for the views.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ViksNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
0.7 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
914 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#15 of 97 in Bodrum City
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
Costa Sariyaz Hotel
#4 of 97 in Bodrum City
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#27 of 97 in Bodrum City
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dolce Bodrum Hotel and Beach club
1.2 mi away
Marina Vista Bodrum
Marina Vista Bodrum
#16 of 97 in Bodrum City
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manastir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manastir

Property: Hotel Manastir
Address: Kumbahce Mah. Mustafa Kemal Cad. No:37, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manastir 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manastir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manastir Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing