We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marmara, Bodrum
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a well thought out hotel with an attentive staff. The hotel is a down hill stroll into the heart of Bodrum -- we walked to the castle/archeological museum/shops/restaurants. We did cab back as it is a hike back up the hill. Cabs are readily available in town.

The top of the hill position of course is what provides the stunning view. You can soak it in from the pool (nice size and clean) or the dining area. The breakfast is amazing. I don't think I've ever had a better breakfast offered to me at a hotel. The options are staggering and no matter what you like, you can leave satiated.

The beach club is a 10 minute ride away. It's not a beach you'd seek out, but it's a nice perk. It's basically a slice of rocky beach with a pier and nice lounge amenities. The staff there was really nice and it is a lovely way to relax for an afternoon. As I missed the free shuttles to the club, I took a taxi there for about 20$ US.

I found the room itself to be a nice size. I had a basic room. There is a living area with a step down to delineate space. It also had a little garden patio outside area. Wifi was good - I was able to log on for work, which generally requires a pretty decent connection.

My only demerits are that the water in the shower wasn't consistent...I would get bouts of hot or cold water even after spending a long time trying to get a comfortable temperature. There was also a hair in my tub and, when I went for a dropped earring in the bathroom, I found a pill was one the floor that wasn't from my stay. Finally, I did a non-refundable rate and was charged up front the 325$ish/night, but there were additional charges on my bill associated with room cost. I pointed them out and they were removed.

As an FYI: The hotel offers transfers from the airport for 100€, but you can go bodrumtransfers.com and get a basic private transfer for 72 TL.

All in, I spent a couple pleasant vacation days here in Bodrum, and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about The Marmara Bodrum.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience; you have faced about the temperature of shower water and the cleaning of your room.

Please rest assured that all operational feedbacks which are much appreciated, had been brought into the attention of related department heads.

Once more thanks for your kind understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 834 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Situated high on the hill overlooking Bodrum, the views from the restaurant and pool areas are amazing. The food was excellent and the room large and chic. Staying high on the hill is definitely preferable since Bodrum harbor is not a great swimming venue. The hotel does have a beautiful private beach on the opposite side of the mountain. Great place!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank crosew802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stunning views, very clean, fab pool, outstanding staff. They go the extra mile to please you. we had bought fruits to take back to home and they packet it neatly in cartons for us. Special mention for the guest relations manager who gets a lot of character to the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shantanu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

There is very little I can fault with this Small Luxury Hotel of the World, perched high above Bodrum Harbour with truly spectacular views which are genuinely breathtaking both at sunrise and sunset.

The hotel is very smart indeed and the staff truly attentive - from the moment we checked in a week ago, there was nothing that was too much trouble for any of them.

We booked luxury sea view rooms, which we upgraded to Corner View Suites - which I would do again certainly. The hotel appears much larger than it is, partly I suspect because of both its grounds which are impressive and immaculate and the unusually spacious and comfortable public area spaces which are lovely, as indeed is the pool area overlooking the bay. Service here is not strained and is both considered and consistent even if some of the younger 'trainees' of which there were many, couldn't speak English, which is one criticism or observation I would draw to the attention of the management.

The accommodation is well appointed and boasts all the mod cons you would expect from a smart, well run, resort type hotel. Comfortable beds, great pillows, starched high thread count bed linen, good shower water pressure, in room safes and minibars all good. The wifi connection however was horrible with frequent drop offs and interrupted wifi service. Housekeeping didn't always replace my facecloths or tissues but did once I asked for both with a smile.

Breakfast, under the expert guidance of the wonderfully flamboyant Niño was a joy each morning as he greeted us with a broad and genuine smile and such genuine warm hospitality. Plenty of choice and 'panoramic' views as described by Niño. (Remember that English Breakfast tea, whilst available, is not commonplace in Turkey where Turkish Tea is an altogether different proposition.

We ate at Tutti, several times during our stay for lunch and on each occasion they delivered with smiley friendly and professional service. The food is also good, as you would expect given its attachment to the hotel.

As my first visit Bodrum I was very impressed by the hospitality we experienced here and will certainly be staying here again next year - as Resort / Destination hotels go, they don't get much better than this. It is as good at the Hotel du Cap Eden Roc which is some praise as anyone who has stayed there will confirm.

We stayed in ground floor rooms and perhaps next time may stay on a higher floor as the suites above us were occupied by guests who were particularly noisy, just bad luck on our part and in no way detracting from an otherwise wonderful stay.

Special thanks to Niño, Ibrahim, Cem, Aidan and Murat who all excelled and provided truly memorable service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about The Marmara Bodrum.

Please rest assured that all operational feedbacks which are much appreciated, had been brought into the attention of related department heads.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the minute we arrived staff attended to our every need. I went with my best friend to this place and we had a blast. We picked it because it was rated on small luxury hotels of the world (www.slh.com) and we weren't disappointed. The property was beautiful. The included breakfast buffet was fantastic. And the staff was incredibly helpful.

It is not on the beach but they have a beach club that is beautiful that is about 15 minutes by shuttle from the hotel. They don't have a beach because they are up in the mountains lending to a breathtaking view every day and night. I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff were. If you eat dinner there, do not miss the octopus and again, the breakfast buffet (which was included) was like no other.

The entire hotel was tastefully decorated and looked like an art museum, not just with pictures and paintings, but sculpture and furniture. The rooms were well kept, and unlike some of the other reviews I have seen on here, we never had a problem with housekeeping. Although I didn't see every room, I am almost positive that every room had an ocean view. In fact, the entire hotel was set up so that you can see the ocean, cut outs in the walls, benches facing the ocean, glass windows in the lobby looking out to the ocean, and the pool and restaurant overlooking the ocean.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Bodrum. It is pure luxury without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenLynnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about The Marmara Bodrum.

It is great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at The Marmara for three nights as our "splurge" at the end of travels thru Turkey, unfortunately this is NOT a luxury hotel making it quite a poor value.

the good - AMAZING views of Bodrum! the pool, grounds and common areas as well as the general style/aesthetic of the hotel.

the bad - strange shower water (turns cold), long walk to town, service, slow and generally not helpful. No one mentioned the breakfast, still no idea if it was included. I would guess not considering everything was an extra charge . . nuts at the bar, water with dinner.

Not to mention they ONLY provide TWO small bottles of water for your entire stay!!

Not luxury at all in my opinion for two people staying practically four days in a place where one is not suppose to drink the tap water. We were even denied extra bottles when calling the desk. We ended up buying water in town and carrying it back everyday as water from the hotel was 10 TL a bottle. Drinking water is something that is a MUST to provide to guests especially if you call yourself a luxury hotel.

The amazing views almost make the Marmara worth it but seems their priority is only making more money off your visit. sad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about The Marmara Bodrum.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience; you have faced about the temperature of shower water.

Please rest assured that all operational feedbacks which are much appreciated, had been brought into the attention of related department heads.

Once more thanks for your kind understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I really liked the cool lobby and public areas, although it felt a bit more Euro-trash than Turkish.

We booked an ocean view room, but you really had to crane your neck to see the ocean.

The best things:
1) The view of the city of Bodrum from the pool and restaurant
2) Amazing breakfast buffet
3) The area of the lobby where guests can write graffiti on the walls
4) The pools
5) The fitness area

So-so things:
1) The dinner restaurant was fine, but a bit expensive for the food quality. The view is great, though.
2) The room wasn't spectacular for the price, and as mentioned, not a great ocean view

The not good things
1) The pool was open until 8pm, but at about 6pm each night the staff would close up the umbrellas and start putting away all the pool furniture. What was that about? It made it very uncomfortable to hang out there.
2) The front desk staff were nice enough but not particularly helpful whenever we asked about something.
3) Our first night there, someone brought a plate with olives, bread and olive oil for dipping. How nice. Not so nice when the leftovers were still there 24 hours later after our room was supposedly cleaned.

A very nice place, but for the prices they could do better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Hotel Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about The Marmara Bodrum.

Your constructive feedbacks are much appreciated and been brought into the attention of department heads.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please rest assured the points that you have shown us will be improved asap.

With Warmest Regards,

Onur Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
0.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
932 reviews
10.9 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 97 in Bodrum City
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#14 of 97 in Bodrum City
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marina Vista Bodrum
Marina Vista Bodrum
#13 of 97 in Bodrum City
406 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Resort
Mandarin Resort
#31 of 97 in Bodrum City
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara, Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara, Bodrum

Address: Suluhasan Cad, 18 | Yokusbasi Mah, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range: $117 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara, Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The medieval castle, built by The Knights of St John, guards Bodrum's dazzling blue bay at the confluence of the Aegean and Mediterranean seas. The city has a lively atmosphere that draws the socialites and, being the cultural centre of Turkish art, the connoisseurs, too. The Marmara Bodrum, stands high above the town from whose restaurant, Tuti, you can enjoy the panorama whilst savouring Mediterranean cuisine. The hotel's glamour blends with its natural surroundings whilst providing all the modern comforts and amenities of a world-class hotel with adult only concept. Each of its air-conditioned luxury bedrooms and suites are splendidly appointed. The fully equipped fitness centre includes a Jacuzzi, sauna and an authentic Turkish Bath. The new fully staffed spa, with a floatation tank, offers a Lastone therapy, herbal body wraps, aromatherapy and reflexology. There are also squash courts and a lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Marmara, Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
Marmara Hotel Bodrum
The Marmara Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing