We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, superlative and simply stupendous. Think I'm exagerating?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marmara, Bodrum
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bodrum City
Certificate of Excellence
Constant Traveller
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“Stunning, superlative and simply stupendous. Think I'm exagerating?”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I visited the Marmara Hotel in Bodrum in August 2011 after a week in Turkey on business. I normally don't stay at such plush digs, but a friend had recommended it and they were right. Boy, were they ever right. This simply may be one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited, ever. And that's a lot of hotels.

You start with a taxi or your car climbing a massive hill to a perch overlooking ancient Bodrum.... don't try to walk it unless you do triathalons. The harbor sprawls out in front of you, the low, dark building is cool and inviting, the gardens and green and lush. So far, so good, you figure.

Then you are greeted by the most awesome staff imaginable. Simply charming, friendly, smiling, and in many cases absolutely gorgeous. They give you cool towels to chill your brow. A room key materializes. Your bags vanish. Your worries evaporate.

Walking down long, open-air hallways you pass verdant gardens, rough stonework, elegant artwork and handsome candles illuminating your way.

The rooms are very nice, sufficiently large, well-furnished and most, I believe, equipped with balconies. The heck with the room, you think -- it's time for some wine and watch the harbor view.

Eventually you wander back inside to find the bathrooms adequately large, modern, superbly clean and with every amenity you could imagine.

The internet works flawlessly. The cable TV is fine. The bed is comfy. The only tiny little complaint in about the desk -- the chair is a stool, not a real chair, and if you need to do a few hours of computer work your back will ache. But this is a resort. Don't do computer work.

Eventually hunger and thirst catch up with you, so it's to the pool bar or the restaurant which are excellent. The food, while not perfect (hey, it's not Belgium) was very nice. They offer a good selection of wines. The sevrice is superior, although english was not a strong point among the staff, but they're so nice and friendly it doesn't seem important. Every now and then Nino, the service manager, steps on by to make sure everything is perfect. And it is.

Check out the harbor views. Irresistable.

The artwork around the hotel is entrancing. I'm not a shopper but the hotel shop picked my pocket for several hundred dollars -- the lady who runs it is terrific and really knows her stuff. The laundry service fast fast and reasonably priced. There simply are no complaints.

Best of all, the hotel has cats, including the famous Mr. Three Paws, see photos, below. These aren't strays -- they're fat, and clean, with name tags and collars. Nino and his staff sneak them a bit of salmon and chicken from time to time; I'm sure a few pieces fell from my plate as well. Any hotel that cares for sweet animals gets five stars in my book.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view. The extra few dollars is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    152
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
135
414
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My room was lovely, breakfast delicious with a great variety of food at choice.
The swimming pool has an amazing terrace overlooking the port and Bodrum town...
Even if we spent only 3 days there ( we rented a caique to sail around) we had a wonderful time and we are planning to come back next year for a longer stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehra
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great place to stay with a great breakfast. Walking distance to Bodrum Castle and all the restaurants and night life in Bodrum. Dinner at the hotel is also very good.
The Spa is great.
A bit pricey, but worth every cent!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view to enjoy a view of Bodrum Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Extremely Nice staff, very confortable modern Rooms, amazing view of Bodrum city, swiming pool area very friendly with super Lounge music, top quality breakfast and all this under the profesional supervision of the GM who is everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the Marmara Hotel in Bodrum, with it's beautiful views of the town, harbour and surrounding coast beckoning us. The experience was wonderful - the staff made every effort to make our stay as warm and as inviting as possible. Overall it was an excellent place to relax and unwind and would highly recommend having a glass of wine by the pool overlooking the old town at sunset to really set the tone for a great holiday.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here during a business trip and I think everything was up to par. Rooms are clean, spacy and comfortable. Some of them have a really nice view of Bodrum. The pool is somewhat small but quite charming, while it overlooks a really nice view of Bodrum from a hilltop. The cocktails they serve and the snacks they bring along with them are quite delicious (ask for the pickled okra and the kalamata olives!) The breakfast buffet and the food in general has a good variety and tastes really good. The staff is VERY hospitable and friendly. They are attentive and careful when tending to the needs of their guests. Did not go to the beach, however, they have a twice-daily shuttle to a private beach (at 11:00 and 13:00 according to the staff). The meeting facilities are very limited but good enough for small meetings. My colleagues who tried the spa were very content with the end result. I used the gym and, although somewhat small, has quite few options in terms of workout stations and dumbells (the gym also has a jakuzi). Locationwise, it is a bit away from the center but still it is walkable (yet requires some climbing) and accessible by taxi, as well. The amenities in the room are good quality (L'Occitane en Provence). Peculiar and hard to carry room keys, though. There is wireless ADSL practically all over the hotel, should you purchase it. Overall, no regrets and an excellent (but quite pricey) choice when visiting Bodrum.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of Bodrum of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csunata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A best situated hotel in Bodrum. Incredible views of the harbour and town. Wonderful friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenAllen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oislam, Rooms Division Manager at The Marmara, Bodrum, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and review about our property.

It is great to hear your satisfaction.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kindest Regards,

Onur Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
0.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 97 in Bodrum City
904 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#2 of 9 in Guvercinlik
297 reviews
10.9 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#12 of 97 in Bodrum City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Yazici Bodrum
Grand Yazici Bodrum
#13 of 97 in Bodrum City
443 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
Bodrum Holiday Resort & Spa
#11 of 97 in Bodrum City
2,407 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara, Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara, Bodrum

Property: The Marmara, Bodrum
Address: Suluhasan Cad, 18 | Yokusbasi Mah, Bodrum City 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bodrum City
#2 Spa Hotel in Bodrum City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 Family Hotel in Bodrum City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara, Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The medieval castle, built by The Knights of St John, guards Bodrum's dazzling blue bay at the confluence of the Aegean and Mediterranean seas. The city has a lively atmosphere that draws the socialites and, being the cultural centre of Turkish art, the connoisseurs, too. The Marmara Bodrum, stands high above the town from whose restaurant, Tuti, you can enjoy the panorama whilst savouring Mediterranean cuisine. The hotel's glamour blends with its natural surroundings whilst providing all the modern comforts and amenities of a world-class hotel with adult only concept. Each of its air-conditioned luxury bedrooms and suites are splendidly appointed. The fully equipped fitness centre includes a Jacuzzi, sauna and an authentic Turkish Bath. The new fully staffed spa, with a floatation tank, offers a Lastone therapy, herbal body wraps, aromatherapy and reflexology. There are also squash courts and a lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marmara, Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Bodrum Hotel Bodrum
Marmara Hotel Bodrum
The Marmara Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing