We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amanperfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amanruya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanruya
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Amanperfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a really exceptional place to stay - the legendary Aman service at one of the most beautiful spots on the Turkish coast. The setting is exceptional, with the "cottages" arranged around a beautiful unspoilt bay in the manner of a historic Turkish village. The gardens of the cottages are really beautiful, with good sized dark marble pools and inviting day beds. I found the interiors of the cottages to be a bit less special, principally due to the noisy air conditioner directly above the bed and the over-complex blind and shutter system which required one to master 50 or so bolts and latches every morning. Best of all was the stunning beach club, with its fantastic protected sea swimming and excellent informal lunch restaurant. The trip that was arranged for us to Ephesus was also particularly memorable, helped by an excellent guide and the very able driver. The staff at the Amanruya are outstanding and the level of service that they provide matches anything that Aman can offer in its longer established resorts.

Room Tip: Some of the "sea view" rooms see rather little of the sea as they are some way back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived in the Amanruya a week ago at the Airport in Bodrum, It was an easy drive a long the sea to our beautiful property awayfrom all the hassle among lots of olive trees. 36 bungalows, we have Number 8 far away from the Main building but with a beautiful view and a little sea view. The bungalows are very large with large bathrooms, fruit every day and little presentsThe Hotel is not full. If you want to go to the beach Club that is quiet far away (but a nice ride along the sea), they pick you up immediately and drive you there with a little golf cart.No sand just stones and wooden decks and a tables among the trees to have lunch. Very charming. Exellent service.You can have simple salads and wraps, chicken and beef or fish, all very fresh and nicely prepared.My grand children use the paddle boards and the kayaks that are available for free. I also like the lounge chairs under the trees. After lunch we go back for a "siesta", There is a very very large pool near the Main Building (About 50 m) and a nice Spa with a Thai massage therapist that is excellent. Also a library, story hours for kids, films and DVDs for everybody and many interesting books. The Bar in the evening has Turkish Music. In the evening we mostly stay in the Hotel. You can choose Thai food, Turkish Food or just grilled fish or meat. Tonight they offered us a Barbercue for everybody ! We just love it !

Room Tip: I like our room because it is far away from everything, We have a bigger pool than my daughter and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a hotel that we will definitely try to return to. The region is more usually known for low-cost, all-inclusive party hotels... but Amanruya has successfully found a location at the opposite end of the market, well away from any possible disturbance.

The property is hidden away on the Bodrum peninsula, about 40 minutes walk along the coast from the relatively unspoilt harbour village of Torba. The property cannot be seen from the road (with only a discrete, easily missed, sign marking the entrance), and is almost invisible from the other side of the bay.

It appears that the guests in other hotels rarely venture outside their properties, which leaves the lesser-known archeological sites in this region almost empty for the more adventurous tourist. We very much enjoyed hiking up the hills behind the property to enjoy the fantastic views. On one day we had a car drop us at the gates of the ruined city of Pedasa, and walked the 6km downhill back to the hotel -- a memorable trip, with only archeologists to be seen! Another day, we hiked uphill to the ruins above Torba (variously described as either a Cistern or as a Lelegian Tomb), and then downhill through thick thorns into Torba itself (which was rather challenging in Summer, as the thorns are really thick!). The hotel staff provided excellent help in printing out maps from Google, and providing water and emergency phones for all eventualities.

We took the organised tour to Bodrum as well as the breakfast tour to Labranda. Both were excellent, but especially Labranda (a relatively unknown site) was stunning. Again, we were alone except for our driver/waiter and the archaeologists. On the way back we also stopped off at the ruined Becin Castle outside Milas -- well worth the short drive, for the amazing views.

If you decide not to venture outside the hotel, you will still not be disappointed. The villas are excellent, with a high level of privacy/screening, but nevertheless we had an excellent view of the bay. The build quality is very high (but remember that a marble floor can be a little slippery when wet!). The gardens are well matured, and thoughtfully designed -- in future, every time I smell Thyme, I will think of the Thyme beds near the main pool at Amanruya. (One night, it did look as if some local wild pigs had also "appreciated" the Thyme -- but the damage was quickly repaired. We did not see the perpetrators on the property, but did meet some of their relatives while out hiking!).

The restaurants were excellent. Simple, high-quality ingredients, perfectly prepared. Fine dining, but not overdone. We stayed for 7 days, and did not have to repeat our menu choices (though I confess I did have a second Tiramisu, as restaurants rarely achieve the quality that I experienced here!). Daily specials complemented a short but varied menu of Turkish, European and Thai dishes. Also memorable was the fresh peach/apricot juice served at breakfast one morning.

We played tennis early every morning when it was cooler, which appeared to surprise the hotel staff a little! However, they quickly adapted their procedures to ensure that there was cold drinking water available for us. The court is well away from the villas, so that there is no disturbance. On just one day we were bothered by wasps, getting stung twice -- however, that may have been my own fault as I was playing perhaps too aggressively that day!

The staff were excellent, even when the property became busier towards the end of the week. Only once were we asked for our room number -- otherwise, all staff were able to recognise us (they circulate copies of guest passport photos to assist this!). We were never asked to sign a check, but all charges were correctly billed to our room. Buggy drivers were able to drop us in the right place, without asking for names or room numbers. Housekeeping was mostly invisible (unless we surprised them by rushing back from breakfast!). Security was good -- even when we entered the property by an "unusual" route after one of our hikes, we were approached by a member of staff to check that we were indeed guests.

I think that the Aman group has made an excellent investment in this property. Obviously, some people may have concerns with the political situation in Turkey, which might keep guests away in the short term. However, we did not feel at all uneasy in this region. Even in the towns, there was no sign of trouble (which currently seems to be limited to parts of Istanbul). Our Bodrum guide said that he was having a "quiet year with several cancellations", but as far as we could see most people were enjoying "tourism as usual".

Overall it was an excellent experience. The husband & wife general managers (who moved from another Aman property last October) appear to have fixed many problems mentioned in earlier posts, and I am sure that this property will continue to improve under their guidance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
166 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A stunning property and villas are sublime in terms of size, decor, attention to detail etc. My first stay at an Aman property and it lived up to the uber-luxurious reputation. The villa garden and pool were also stunning and probably what we enjoyed most about our stay. While breakfast was amazing, we were a little disappointed with in-room dining dinner - small portions and food that didn't blow us away. Others have commented on prices and I won't repeat what is known. Overall though, it is not a place we would choose to stay at again. We were a couple in our late 30's and we just found the place too quiet and somewhat sterile for our tastes. If you're after complete silence and seclusion then perhaps this is the place for you but it wasn't quite our style. However, a great experience that we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I, with our adult daughter, stayed at Amanruya in late May to early June 2013. The property is fantastic, beautiful, and luxurious, and even a Type A personality like me could feel a sense of relaxation within minutes of arriving... Every little detail was thought through in the design, down to thyme and other herbs being planted between the flagstones, so that you could smell them as you walked from your room up to the restaurant pavilions. Our "room", which was really a bungalow with a private courtyard and swimming pool, was wonderful, too. The dining pavilions, with their beautiful views, were also spectacular.

The staff were uniformly great, and I feel a little guilty at singling just one out, but I have to mention Boris, whose job title we didn't catch, but who seemed to be the restaurant manager. Boris is charming and very knowledgeable, but if you can catch him late in the evening at a slow point, you're in for a real treat, because he's a great conversationalist.

As an example of the service here, we noted that part of the property is in a former olive grove, and 650 olive trees remain on the grounds. The hotel harvests the olives and makes its own olive oil for use in the kitchen. We asked Boris if we could buy a bottle as a souvenir, and he replied that the hotel didn't bottle it for sale; they don't have sufficient volume, which was certainly a logical explanation. On our last night, as we were finishing our dinner, Boris showed up at our dinner table with a bag, in which he'd placed a water bottle full of the hotel's olive oil, carefully wrapped in cellophane so that we could carry it in our checked bag! Thank you, Boris - the bottle made it back to America safely.

The hotel offers a number of excursions, and we took two. The first was a day trip to Ephesus, which was outstanding. The hotel arranged a car and driver, and a guide who met us in Ephesus. Our guide was wonderful, both very knowledgeable and charming, and spoke excellent English. Her name was Filiz Capraz (I hope I've spelled the last name right; I know Filiz is correct). Ask for Filiz if you go to Ephesus!

The second excursion was a half-day trip to Labranda, a former temple site dedicated to Zeus. Again, the hotel arranged a car and driver (this time the driver doubled as the guide) and packed us a picnic breakfast of fresh fruits and mineral water (our choice, there were other options). We left the hotel at 9:00 a.m., and ate our meal sitting in the ruins of the ancient site, 600 meters up in the mountains, with a spectacular view. And best of all, because we'd left early, there was not another tourist the whole time we there! What an experience...

Although we loved Amanruya, I have a couple of minor suggestions/comments. The restaurant food was very good, but the menu was a little limited. This was not a problem initially, and there were daily specials and freshly caught fish from the local bay to offer some variety, but by our fourth day the alternatives began to seem overly familiar. Perhaps a couple of additional specials each day would solve this... Second, if you've been to Asia and enjoy truly spicy food, it doesn't matter how often you say this, the Thai kitchen will ignore you and turn out very nicely prepared dishes at half the heat level you'd get in Thailand...

The above are minor quibbles, though. We loved our stay at Amanruya, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a slight additional fee, we were able to arrange a room with a sea view, and were glad we'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john_from_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at several Aman resorts so far and we are never disappointed. The architecture is amazing by itself in how it blends into the landscape. Due to the unrest in Turkey many people had canceled their reservations but even if it was full I doubt that you would notice. Many small dining rooms, rooms with private pools so you can be as private as you wish. We really enjoyed relaxing by our pool after 4 hectic days in Istanbul. The service is excellent and your every wish is granted. The staff is very helpful but unintrusive. The reason I only give it 4 stars is that, unlike every other Aman we have stayed in, this one only included breakfast not dinner. Unfortunately, eating dinner felt like constantly checking prices and maybe not having that cup of tea after dinner. 115 turkish lira for fish and risotta is ridiculous. Also, be aware if you take the boat for an afternoon, it only includes meals for two people while there were four of us on the boat. We didn't find this out until we received our bill. Too much nickel and dimeing. Would rather pay a little more for the room and not worry about prices

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebajane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is seriously an incredible place. Very private, calming, great location. Unbelievable for honeymoon or if you want to spend a romantic weekend with your loved one. Design was amazing, every detail taught and no money spared. However, it is way too expensive that it makes you kind of irritated at the end. One thing that really pissed me of is the service charge that they put on our tab for the chocolate they put in the MIINIBAR. This amount is negligible for the money we spent but I thought it was really tacky to do something like this. If you stay at this place, rent a car and go out for dinner at nite. Will be much cheaper and more interesting. Still highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same in this hotel so no tips necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodrum City
2.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
#2 of 16 in Golturkbuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.1 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 99 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kuum Hotel & Spa
Kuum Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Golturkbuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.1 mi away
Caresse a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
8.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
#2 of 5 in Yaliciftlik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanruya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanruya

Property: Amanruya
Address: Demir Mevkii, Bulent Ecevit Cad. | Golturkbuku, Bodrum City 48483, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Bodrum City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanruya 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanruya lies in a quiet valley on Turkey's Bodrum Peninsula facing the Aegean Sea and bordered by a forest reserve. The surrounding native pines, aged olive trees and ocean vista contribute to the tranquil setting of this all-season resort. Comprising terraced buildings interspersed with courtyards inspired by traditional local architecture, Amanruya's proximity to the seaport city of Bodrum and ancient cities make it an ideal base for exploring the region's historic treasures as well as enjoying its natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Amanruya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing