We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good night out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Plate

Golden Plate
Reserve with
Golden Plate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 432 Restaurants in Bodrum City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very good night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The tables on the beach, attentive service, good food, entertaintment - what is there not to like? Had a great night out and want to go again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    45
    23
    29
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant late night after midnight. We ordered a cheese salad and Mexican chicken. The salad was delicious was served with usual olive oil, vinegar and amazing pomegranate sauce. It was all freshly done and was very refreshing and a massive bowl full. The Mexican chicken was served with rice chips and salad. The service was a bit lazy considering only 2 tables were busy. They took 25 mins. Food was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alexpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rip off !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I whole heartedly agree with the other reviews ,we went there on the last night of our holiday.We had seen it before and thought it looked good.We sat down and the waiter or person who served us bombarded us with suggestions as soon as we got the menu.We were keen to have a turkish meal as lots of restaurants seem to cater for western tastes.

He suggested the special and gave us the impression that it was a complete meal starters etc.!!We agreed and had 2 drinks each (wine and beer) He asked if we wanted garlic bread and, thinking that it was part of the" special",we accepted.In fact it was extra.

The "special"consisted of a scoop of rice,a portion of chips and an earthenware pot which the waiter smashed with a hammer to reveal a stew.Great theatre!! but when we got the bill it was 150 TL.I nearly had a stroke and was so angry I had to leave the table and let my husband deal with it. Much shrugging from the waiter and asking what was wrong but no satistaction about our complaint .This meal was at least twice the price of other restaurants on that strip and nowhere near the quality.

We paid the bill and left but it was a real let down on our last night.I would advise you to give this restaurant a wide berth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check proces before ordering or you will pay Way top much!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dined here with friends. The waiter recommended the special for which no prices were shown on the menu. This resulted in a huge bill, which we didn't want to pay. We managed to talk it down to normal Bodrum prices, but left with a bad feeling nevertheless. A not so nice ending to our otherwise fine holiday. The food was'nt bad, but not great either. The waiters were typically Turkish, which is a little bit too "friendly" for my taste, but if you don't mind that it should be fine as long as the price is agreed upon beforehand.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An OK place to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was disappointed by my meal this year so I was not tempted to eat there again during my holiday. My partner and I had a table by the sea and had a lovely view of the bay by night and the flood lit castle. Sadly, the food was virtually cold although tasty enough.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fionalemmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Plate also viewed

 
Bodrum City, Bodrum
 

Been to Golden Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing