We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lemon Tree Apart-Hotel
Reviewed June 26, 2012

After a rocky start to our holiday turning up at the accommodation and facing the possibility of having no where to stay for 2 weeks, then finding out we had been moved hotels and had been sent an email but we couldn't find it and were shocked it was followed up by a letter, we eventually arrived at the Lemon Tree and I have to say it was 10 times better than the accommodation we had originally booked! The cleaners came into the apartment every day and bedding and towels were changed every 3 days. If you do need any extra toilet roll etc just ask the staff cant do enough for you.
I would recommend getting a safety deposit box (available for 5 lier a day) or locking all your valuables/money away in a suitcase etc because the owners are not liable for anything that goes missing. There is also air-con available for an extra cost but as we had been to turkey before we were expecting this.
The apartments themselves were a perfect size for us we travelled as 3 couples and had 3 single bedroom apartments. In the wardrobe we only had about 4 coat hangers so I would recommend taking extra if you need them.
Most of the time it seemed like we had the pool to ourselves it was lovely and relaxing and the bar played chilled music throughout the day. In other reviews I have read about the road being loud but I have to say I didn't notice the noise of the road once while we were out there and we were in apartment 11 which was right next to the road, there was a dog up the road that annoyed me once about 5 in the morning but I found the whole atmosphere of the hotel relaxed a home away from home.
The apartments are run but a family there is Ali and Janan the parents and Ali built the apartments himself as something to do in his retirement lol. There is Hande the daughter who is lovely and speaks very good English as she has spent some time in England and then there is Emre the son he is the chef makes lovely food and is very funny. They couldn't do enough for us wanting our holiday to be perfect. Ali took us out to a local bakery and the cakes was amazing he also took us to some old windmills on top of a hill and the views were amazing on one side you could see the whole of the Bodrum coast and on the other you could see the Gumbet coast.
We mainly ate in the Blanca restaurant in Bitez amazing food and the offered a free shuttle service if we wanted to go to the beach during the day they offered to pick us to the beach and then back the the hotel then back to the restaurant for our evening meal, even though it was offered to take us the the beach we only used the shuttle service for our evening meals they are very good aswell you could have your meal go the the shops of a walk around Bitez and then go back to the restaurant for a lift back to the apartments, the shuttle service is offered by most of the restaurants in Bitez.
I really didn't want to come home lovely area and the best accommodation and the most friendly staff I have ever stayed in or met in my 4 trips to Bitez.

Charlie - South Wales

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a 1 bedroomed apartment which was adequately furnished and equipped, including a hairdryer in the bathroom and a free TV, although only a few English speaking channels available. Maid service was excellent and the whole complex was kept very clean.
Plenty of sun beds...no "reservation towels" necessary!! You need to bring your own pool towels though, as none are provided.
The Lemon Tree is between Bitez and Gumbet and there are hills down to each...about 10-20 mins walk....OK going but get a dolmus or taxi back!
Easy to go into Bodrum town by dolmus for 3 TL each way. Bodrum is a much busier town with lots of shops and a throbbing market...remember to barter hard!
Restaurant in Lemon Tree with good choice of food. There was a BBQ on the Sunday.
In Gumbet (just down the hill) there are so many restaurants to choose from. Most will offer a free collection and return taxi from your hotel/apartment and some include a free bottle of wine. Great value.
the 4 we would recommend are:
The Columbia -fabulous steaks at very reasonable prices + free wine and taxis.
China Town - free wine and taxis, good menu choice
Shanghai - not opened long, but very well presented and good menu and free taxis
Mandarin - good menu and friendly waiters, free taxis.
We found the Turkish people all very friendly and helpful, especially the dolmus drivers!
We would have no hesitation in recommending both this area and the Lemon Tree.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UkTraveller1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Lemon Tree Apart- Hotel was a great get away friendly kind and most helpful, Ali and his family and staff where very helpful, rooms clean and tidy and excellent support and help from the staff, food good, with a small bar for drinks and music from the bar giving you the holiday feel, we have been to Turkey a number of time and the Lemon Tree is one of the best Hotels we have stayed in,would recommend to family and friends.
Very Good

Room Tip: All rooms Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was our first trip to Turkey and we chose the Lemon Tree from the reviews on trip advisor. Apartments were basic, but fine, ask for top floor as some of the lower ones look like they will be dark. Floors were probably swept clean, but not washed whilst we were there, you would get out of the shower and walk across the room and your feet would be filthy. Apartments have hairdryers and kettles. Take bottle/wine openers for that evening drink on the balcony.Sorry to say the weekly BBQ wasn't good at all, just got plate of meat (nothing special) with a few cold chips, no salad or rice as promised. Ali & his family & Sadar do everything they can to make you feel welcome. They exchange money too.The apartments are nearer Gumbet, but we preferred Bitez beach, about a 20 minute walk, there is a short cut, so ask directions for that. Bitez beach is lovely, make sure you eat at the Sultan, good hot food, great service. Don't book any trips through the reps they mark them up big time, we got a great boat trip, visit 5 bays including a great lunch from Alvin Travel in Bitez for £10 each. (rep wanted £25). Turgutreis market is exactly the same as Bodrum Market, not worth a trip really. All the restaurants in Bitez will come and collect you and take you home free of charge. We will return to Bitez, lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor - room 11 is good, it's away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Smithy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

After reading a lot of good reviews on tripadvisor I had high hopes about the lemon tree. Unfortunately I was disappointed. Whilst the building itself and the pool area were lovely, the hotel was let down by the poor level of cleaning within the apartments. I think the beds were only changed once in 8 nights whereas the hotel states sheets are changed every 3 days. Also we only ever got half a toilet roll, and for three days got none at all. We were in the room one day when the cleaner came so we asked her to come back in 30 mins. She didn't come back leaving our bathroom bin full of used toilet paper. She didn't come the next day either.

The hotel has a weekly bbq for 25 Turkish lira. We were asked on the Monday if we wanted to participate on the Wednesday night. We said yes, but next morning remembered that myself and my sister were going out on a hen night with friends who were staying in Bodrum. We told the owner straightway as we knew he was going out to buy the food. However later on that day he said he had bought our food anyway and that we could eat ours on the Thursday night. When Thursday came around, I had by then succumbed to traveller's tummy. My husband told the owner who basically replied saying that it was a waste of a piece of fish. My husband and sister had the bbq and said it was pretty poor.

The hotel advertises itself as having a restaurant, but infact it was just a bar by the pool with some tables, serving normal bar food. There was an extensive menu, but this is always a bad sign to me especially when it has food from many different cuisines. I had a chicken burger which was of the type you buy in Iceland 4 for a pound! On the bright side, the chips were nice.

The onsite supermarket is more of a hut, better described as a tuck shop.

My single sister who had her own apartment received a lot of unwanted attention from the barman. This is fairly normal from what I have seen in Turkey however I do feel he overstepped the mark when he rang her room at midnight and asked her to go down to have a drink with him.

Our flight home was at midnight on the Sunday night so we had booked until Monday so we could stay in the room. However upon checkout, the owner said we should have checked out by midday and that we owed him a day's room charge! After several minutes of arguing, I found the original booking confirmation and he backed down.

As for the location of the hotel, it is not far from the beach...10 mins walk perhaps, but the roads are very uneven, bumpy and have no pavements. There is also a very steep downhill section. The local bus is very good though, taxis are cheap too. Most restaurants nearby will come and pick you up and take you home if you call them.

All in all, it was an ok holiday but the lemon tree could be improved by better customer service, and by narrowing down the menu.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aureus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

2 Year old appartments, very well fitted out and away from the hustle and bustle of Bodrum & Gumbet. Run by Ali and his family plus mad barman Sadar who were all really friendly and welcoming. Will definately return

Room Tip: Try for upstairs room as others appeared a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarryRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was our first trip to Turkey and we chose the Lemon Tree on the recommendation of friends who were going back this year. Even though we did not arrive until 0200 am Ali and his family were waiting for us and had kept the bar open, a cold beer was a very welcome sight. Check in was easy and after a couple of drinks we got a good nights sleep in a very clean and tidy apartment which was basic but comfortable. Our only criticism of the room was that it is very close to the road and with the door / windows open for a cooling breeze it can be quite noisy until the traffic subsides. Next morning we got a proper look around and all was excellent, the pool is literally seconds away from the rooms and there were always sun loungers available,the bar is very relaxed and sells a good range of drinks, 6TL for a large beer ( just over £2 ).The restaurant caters for most tastes although we seldom eat there, a short taxi ride into Bitez or Gumbet ( about 11TL or £4 ) offers greater choice and beach front dining if you wish, 3 full english breakfasts, chicken & chips, 4 x fresh orange juices, 2 teas and 2 coffees came to 57TL, about £20!!! While on the subject of Bitez or Gumbet they are within walking distance but involve some very steep hills, I wouldn't do it in flip flops if I were you !!!
To sum up the Lemon Tree apartments I would gladly go back again, Ali, Emre, Sardac and the rest of the family really do make you feel welcome and they all came out to wave us off at departure time, you don't get that from some of the bigger places.Being able to watch the QPR v Newcastle match in shorts and barefoot in lovely surroundings on Monday night was so nice. If you want a relaxing, away from it all holiday with no hassle and superb weather then this is the place. If you want continuous disco music, drunken party games or the 18 - 30 type holiday then this is not the place. It's not the Ritz, but for the price it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JWC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodrum City hotels
1.4 mi away
Voyage Bodrum
Voyage Bodrum
#2 of 100 in Bodrum City
1,719 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
940 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Marmara, Bodrum
The Marmara, Bodrum
#5 of 100 in Bodrum City
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centro Bodrum
Hotel Centro Bodrum
#44 of 100 in Bodrum City
362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Azka Otel
Azka Otel
#18 of 100 in Bodrum City
751 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Apart-Hotel

Address: Gumbet Mah. Kavakli Sarnic Cad. No:69 Bodrum Merkez, Bodrum City, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bodrum City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Bodrum City
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Apart-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lemon Tree Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Apart Hotel Bodrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing