We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Trip of My Life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patara Golden Pension
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Patara
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I was recommended by a colleague to visit Patara Turkey and stay at the Golden Pension, and can I just say what a fantastic trip and pension it was!
I visited with my now fiance (he arranged for the pension to drive us up to the sand dunes at sunset with a bottle of wine overlooking the Mediterranean to propose) for two weeks. I had never been on holiday for so long, and was concerned it might be too lengthy of a stay in such a small, quiet village but I was so pleased we did stay for the two weeks as we were able to really wind down and explore the local area.
The pension is run by the most accomodating family. They really go out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Upon our first morning in Patara, the owner Arif pronounced to us that this is our "home" for the two weeks we stay and how we are to make our selves feel at ease.
The rooms are basic - what is to be expected for a pension but perfectly adequate. The air conditioning was a blessing and the mosquito nets over the bed weren't really needed, as the bugs weren't as bad as we had been told. Having the net was nice however and added a bit of a romantic feel to the room.
The rooms are tidied daily and new sheets/towels are added every few days or so.
The pension provides breakfast in the morning all fresh, organic food grown right in their greenhouse (eggs, cucumber, tomatoes, olives, honey, fresh bread.) At night should you stay at the pension for dinner, the food is amazing and set in such a great surrounding on their roof top terrace under the stars and grape vines. It's nice as you don't have to pay for your bill until you finish your stay (if you wish) so you continue to get a sense of being at someone's home.
The pension arranged tours for us and went out their way to provide other excursions not listed in their tour booklet. Again, they will do everything possible to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We took advantage of the suken city boat tour, the lazy day boat tour, the saklikent gorge and tlos ruins and another ancient city now left to ruins. Amazing tours at quite resonable prices, with several including lunch in the cost.
I guess if I had to mention any negatives it would be that within the village itself, food/drink costs at other restaurants were quite on par with what it would cost in London. For example, a cocktail in Patara costs 12 Lira which converts to about £6 - similar to here in the UK. A couple of our meals out with 1 drink each, a starter and main course cost about 55Lira about £25 or so. A 50cl beer costs usually 5 Lira. Also, upon our first week we discovered that all of a sudden there was a charge of 5Lira per person to go to the Beach and Ruins. On our first 2 trips to the beach there was no charge, however we were shocked to suddenly be told we had to pay a fee a few days in. This was discouraging because once you add up the 5 per person for entry, 4 for an umbrella (very needed on that exposed beach) 3 for a sun lounger and then 1.50 per person to return to Patara by bus - it can become a costly day - especially if you are travelling with a family. Also, the beach fee includes the ruins. If you don't want to go to the ruins you are paying for it anyway - EVERYTIME you go to the beach! Usually if someone does want to see the ruins you'd do it in one day, not several times over two weeks. Arif is concerned about these charges however there is little he can do as it is an issue handled by the federal gov't and not the local Patara council.
I have to admit our excursions to the beach became limited once we discovered the daily charge.
Fortunately Arif allowed us on occassion to go up to his brother's View Point Hotel where they graciously gave us access to their pool. If we didn't have access to this pool nor the beach on a daily basis, it would be too difficult to stay at the Golden without the ability to cool off somewhere, as the August temps can reach 40 degrees easily.
Overall it was a dream of a trip. I'm so sad to be home now. Oh yeah, the pension will also pick you up/drop off at the Dalaman airport (90 min by car from Patara) at any time day/night for £45 per person - definitely worth it.
I definitely recommend the Golden Pension and Patara for your next vacation if you are looking for a slow paced lifestyle, great fresh food, and amazing scenery and history.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CourtneyLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

Stayed 3 nights at the Golden Pension, which is owned by the current mayor of Patara. The hotel was apparently rennovated not too long ago and overally it's very clean and definitely adequate.

It's a pension, so it's not quite a hotel. The room is basic, but decent size, clean, and the bed is comfortable. Totally adequate in my opinion, and definitely above average for a pension and its price.

The bathroom contains the shower and the toilet without any barrier, so after you take a shower everything will be wet for a while in there. Plan ahead.

When we were there the weather was great, but on the last night it was a bit warmer and the mosquitos were going nuts. Rooms have mosquito net so that helps some. Make sure you bring repellent starting end of April / beginning of May.

Breakfast consists of a plate of tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, cheese, a few cold cuts, bread and honey/strawberry jam, plus coffee / tea. Not a huge selection but can't expect much for the price, plus you can load up on the bread.

Arif is very busy but he'll take care of you when you need something. Just let him know ahead of time, as he doesn't hang out at the hotel all the time (he IS the mayor). He's very nice and he's doing a lot of good work for the town.

To get to the hotel is a bit tricky, as the main bus doesn't go into centrum and it's too far to walk. People told us we could wait for the dolmus/small buses but we ran into Arif at the cafe on the main road so he gave us a ride to the hotel. He also had someone drop us off back to the main road at the end of our trip. So when you get off the bus at the main road, ask around and see if Arif is there or if anyone can give you a lift. They are all nice people.

Highly recommend both Patara as a town, and the Golden Pension.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank bonb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We arrived in Patara not expecting anything. We had been travelling for 3/4 weeks around Turkey and decided we needed a break from all the wonderful ruins. Patara (and Golden Penison) was in our Lonely Planet guide book, and the thought of an 18km long beach was just paradise!

We decided that we had definitly had the right choice to stay at Golden Pension. Not only were the bedrooms clean, tidy, comfortable - and had air conditioning, mosquito nets and a balcony; but the food was so incredibly delicious! Everything is home made.

When we first saw the beach we were in complete awe! Patara beach is in a league of its own. 18km of beautiful sand, warm sea, good waves and a yummy beach cafe.

Golden Pension is owned coincidently by the mayor of Patara, and on the side is a travel agent. They can take you on fantastic day trips, we went to Saalclakent Gorge which was amazing.

We definitly feel that when we visit Patara again, we will stay at Golden Pension.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank harriet_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Since 1992 I spend my summer holidays in turkey and I have visited a lot of differed big and small villages there but since 1996 I spend my holidays in Patara.
If you want to have party every evening a lot of trouble and sometimes disputes with outer people go to Marmaris, Alany, Bodrum……. But don`t come to Patara.
Here in Patara it is very relaxing – you can go to the very very nice beach.
In the tourist guides you can read that this beach is nearly 8 to 15 kilometres long, I think you find the truth between these two statements.
There is a small area where you can rent a sun lie and a sunumbrella, and the rest of the beach I only for you – great.
For sure it is possible to have an active holiday in Patara.

Canoeing
Horse riding
Daily trips to Fethiye, Kas, Kalkan, Simena….
Boat trips
Daily trips to the ruins of Patara.

In Patara you can find a lot of small bars restaurants and pensions.

We stay since 1996 in the “Golden Pension”.
In my opinion is the golden pension a very nice pension in the heart of Patara.
They have
•14 full air-conditioned rooms
•All rooms have a toilet and a shower inside (hot and cold water).
•All rooms have a small balcony.
•Good beds.
•All rooms are nice furnished.
•A small travel agency, where you can order some trips to the nice places around Patara.
•A marvellous terrace restaurant.(Turkish and international kitchen)
•If you want a beach or airport service.

It is very nice to stand up in the morning and enjoy your typical Turkish breakfast under the vines. Naturally you can come back in the evening and have a delicious meal, too. We for ourselves love to sit on the terrace and watch the people. Drink some bottles of EFES and/or RAKI and listen to the sound of silence…..
It´s no problem to come in contact with the family and the staff. Meanwhile we are good friends and we are a part of the “Patara-family”.

Last but not least: They are very friendly, the pension is very clean and the prices are really ok. And very important: English and German is spoken. French also.


  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MarcusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Golden Pension is a very relaxed and hospital pension run by the friendly Otlu family. Rooms are clean and airconditioned. The big balcony offers shade in the hot summer. Breakfast is served here. The pension has an a la carte menu and meals can be cooked for you all day long. Patara is the place to go to if you are tired and need a good rest. There is no mass tourism and there are no steamy bars and discos. After staying there 2 days the villagers all know you and invite you to drink Turkish tea or have a typical turkish pancake. The Patara beach is one of the nicest beaches of the world. There is one restaurant where you can have drinks and eat some snacks. The rest of the beach is quiet. The sunsets are breath-taking.
Patara the place to be to lose your stress!

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank nesrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

I am a Patara addict. Some people don’t like the basicality of the place, others feel immediately attracted to the informality, the pleasant familiar atmosphere and the friendliness of the people. Don’t go there if you want the mass tourism recreation facilities, do go there if you need your rest, if you want to read ‘War and Peace’, if want a quiet and yet exciting vacation.

Exciting? Yes. Because Patara is a good starting point for exploring the Xanthos valley. Beautiful and impressive remains of the Lycian, Hellenistic, Roman and Byzantine past are at an easy and comfortable distance, overlooked by the impressive Taurus mountains and in the middle of wonderful nature.

And then there is the beach! Twenty kilometres of white sand and Mediterranean sea. And a nature resort at that, so that it is not infested with hotels, private beaches, discos, bars and restaurants and the like. Actually, apart from the one selling point of drinks and food, there is nothing but you, the wind and the sea. And, of course, other people who appreciate the quietness of the place and who can find it.

I go there for more then ten years almost once every year. I stay at Golden Pension. For me it feels like a home coming. It’s basic, clean and friendly. The atmosphere is familiar. There is a wonderful balcony where one can enjoy breakfast and dinner under a canopy of vine leaves and, in October, bunches of grapes. And there is a good cook. I look forward going there again.

Stayed: October 2006
6  Thank Patarafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank İBRAHİM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patara hotels
0.5 mi away
Patara Delfin Hotel
Patara Delfin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Patara
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sema
Hotel Sema
#11 of 15 in Patara
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flower Hotel Pension
Flower Hotel Pension
#5 of 15 in Patara
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akay Pension
Akay Pension
#1 of 15 in Patara
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Lighthouse Hotel
Golden Lighthouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Patara
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pataros
Hotel Pataros
#2 of 2 in Gelemis
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patara Golden Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patara Golden Pension

Address: Gelemis Koyu, Patara, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Patara
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Patara
Price Range: $32 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1984 as the first pension in Patara the "Golden" continues to extend a warm welcome to everyone who stays there. Set in the heart of the village, this friendly family owned pension has 14 comfortable rooms and a delightful rooftop restaurant. Start your day with a traditional Turkish breakfast under the vines and return here for a delicious meal in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patara Golden Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Patara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing