We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could've stayed for ever at the Sema.”
Review of Hotel Sema

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sema
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Patara
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We could've stayed for ever at the Sema.”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed here for two weeks in July and wish we could have stayed longer. The owners, Ali and Hanife, are genuinely friendly and very helpful. They both speak enough English to give expert advice on things to do in the area, and are happy to arrange any trips or activities for you.
The food is fresh, delicious and very generous. The service is also excellent. In particular, breakfast is available whenever you feel like waking up!
The hotel itself is nice, clean and well air-conditioned, and only a very short stroll from the centre of the village and 20 mins to the beach. Our room was large, airy and had a lovely private balcony. Seeing other small hotels in the area, we definitely feel like we chose the right place to stay.
The whole place has a feeling of relaxedness, but above all, it was all the little things and Ali and Hanife's attention to detail and hospitality that really made this holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Really cheap. Clean and large rooms with private bath and a balcony and a very nice common terrace under the grapevines: a perfect place to relax and have a drink or play card with friends.
Ali and his family are really kind and friendly.

  • Liked — The staff kindness
  • Disliked — Too much rakI!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chefchicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed at the Sema Hotel in 2007, it was very nice. As previous reviewer said, it is not luxury, though I don't think there is such a thing as luxury in Patara, so this is probably as good as it gets for the price here. If you are from the UK or Germany and want to surround yourself with your own country men/women then this is not the place for you. All nationalities stay here and mix nicely with each other and guests choose the Sema for this reason and also because they will also get a true impression of Turkish family life staying here. The family are lovely and will do everything to accomodate you during your stay. The village is only a few minutes away, 30 seconds downhill, although geting back up to the hotel can be quite exerting, a steep 60 step climb! Overall, an nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again if visiting Patara and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Friendliness of family.
  • Disliked — Saying goodbye!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank marshajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelzate, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We didn't stay in other places, so I'm not gonna compare, but our stay in Hotel Sema was a very nice experience.

Don't go here if you want luxuary, rooms are a bit basic, but so are the prices, staying here is really cheap.

The main reason why you should stay here are the owners! They are very friendly and you will feel a part of the family very quickly!
Ali and Hanife will do everything they can to make you feel comfortable.
Breakfast (and others meals if you want) are served in the same rooms were the owners and their children spend their time (if they are not working, the owners that is) so you will be indulged in Turkish family life!!

  • Liked — The real Turkish atmosphere, friendly owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 13, 2006

I’ve stayed at the Sema on my last three visits to Patara and it’s the ideal place for any traveller who wants the true Turkish experience. I’ve tried a few other places in Patara but find the Hotel Sema suits my needs exactly.

It can’t be beaten for location, hospitality, ambience and last but not always least, price. The hotel is nice and clean and has 12 rooms all with air-con. It’s family run and Ali and Hanifa, always make you feel very welcome. They specialise in traditional family cooking with most of the ingredients coming from their own garden.

Their breakfasts are great and you can have breakfast at any time. And, unlike the other hotels, there is no extra charge for things like air-con. It’s less than a minute to the centre of town and the Sema’s elevated position means there are fewer mosquitoes than in the low-lying accommodation in the village. Add to this the welcome cool sea breezes and the views from your balcony and it’s ideal.

Hotel Sema doesn't have it's own swimming pool although why would you want to sit round a pool when the best beach in the Mediterranean is only 20 mins walk or a 3 min bus ride away.

Ali and Hanifa can offer transfers to and from Dalaman airport, which usually takes 1 and 3/4 hours. This is brilliant, if you’re short on time and don’t want to hang about waiting for buses. I’ve just discovered that they now have a website which will show you photos of the hotel and Patara so you can judge for yourselves. I can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patara hotels
0.2 mi away
Akay Pension
Akay Pension
#2 of 15 in Patara
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Patara Delfin Hotel
Patara Delfin Hotel
#6 of 15 in Patara
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dardanos Hotel
Dardanos Hotel
#1 of 15 in Patara
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Lighthouse Hotel
Golden Lighthouse Hotel
#9 of 15 in Patara
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pataros
Hotel Pataros
#2 of 2 in Gelemis
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Hotel Pension
Flower Hotel Pension
#5 of 15 in Patara
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sema

Property: Hotel Sema
Address: Kokluk Mah. Gelemis Koyu | Kas / Antalya / Turkey, Patara AN61 537, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Patara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Patara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel overlooks the historical village of Patara and offers panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea. The beautiful 12 km long beach of Patara is just 2 km away. All rooms of Hotel Sema are equipped with air conditioning and mosquito nets to provide a comfortable accommodation. They all feature a balcony with garden or sea views. And swimming pool. Free Wi-Fi is also included. Meals are served at the terrace with extensive views of the surroundings. Guests can enjoy home-cooked Turkish dishes prepared with fresh vegetables and fruits from the hotel's garden, and products provided by nearby villages. The centre of the Patara Village is only a 2-minute walk from Sema Hotel. Guests can also witness the nesting of loggerhead sea turtles (caretta carettas) and baby turtles hatching out of their eggs at the Patara Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sema Hotel Patara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing